We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Home Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Back Home Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I must start by saying that this trip to SMB was our 26th trip to a Sandals Resort and our 19th at Sandals Montego Bay. There is no vacation that will be perfect but this comes close. Yes the property is showing its age but they are always cleaning, repairing and painting some part of the resort. This property is not big on pools but the beach is long, wide and awesome. The planes, yeah you are at the end of the airport but the noise only last a few seconds. For us the best part of this resort is the staff. From top mgmt. to groundskeepers and everyone in between they do everything they can to make sure you are enjoying your stay. For our entire 8 night stay there was someone asking could they do something for us or get us something. All with a big smile. We have already booked our next trip in November.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,329
    1,124
    408
    221
    146
See reviews for
170
3,928
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at SMB April 12-18. From the moment we arrived until the sad moment when we left we had the time of our lives.
Arrival:
We used Club Mobay. When we got off the plane a young lady was waiting with a sign with our names on it. She checked our immigration form (we received the form on the plane), then took us through customs. Thank goodness we used Club Mobay. The line was all the way up the ramp to the second floor of the airport. I would have taken at least an hour if not more but only took us about 15 minutes. Once we cleared customs we picked up our bags and headed to the Sandals Lounge. Before going in we stepped outside for a cigarette. By the time we got back in our bag were loaded by the red cap porter and they were looking for us to leave on the bus. We didn’t even have a chance to grab a drink. A nice gentleman offered to go in and grab us one. My husband tipped him $2.00 for getting them for us. The once we reached the bus we tipped the red cap $1.00 for each bag.
The people in airport are very aggressive about either trying to sell you something or do something to get a tip. When getting on the bus to go to Sandals one of the red caps was having an argument about him not giving a tip. Luckily we weren’t in the airport long enough for it to be troublesome. In addition have read plenty of reviews I knew what to expect and had the tips ready.
Then we took a five minute trip which was basically a huge U-turn to the resort. Out luggage was unloaded and taken to the Concierge Lounge. From there we were checked in. Our debit cards are accepted at the resort however they do not place a hold on the card. If you made any purchases from the gift shop, excursions, pictures, etc., it could not be charged to your room. We were offered a drink while we waited for someone to take us to our room.
The whole evolution from airport to room took all of 30 minutes. Once in our room it took maybe another 30 to get our bags.
The Room:
We stayed on the third floor of the Almonds Building. The room had an awesome view from an oversized balcony. The bed was extremely comfortable. We have an in room bar, a walk in closet, a whirlpool tub, and double vanities. We also had free room service.

The resort:
I would break every little thing down but it would end up being a short novel. I just give the gist of it.
We booked a cabana on our first day just to try it out. Honestly it was very nice to be pampered but I think we are more do it yourself kind of people. We appreciate the service Regan provided but we felt bad asking him to do stuff for us. The perk was you did get a fully stocked cooler with an oversized beach bed to lounge around in from 8-5

The beach was amazing. We never had a problem finding a chair regardless of the time we made it to the beach. Chairs are reserved by the early birds but those are usually the ones with shade. There are plenty of chairs left even with chairs being reserved. The water was clear, blue and warm. Employees walked the beach taking food and drink orders. If you wanted to get it yourself you could do that too. On the beach is the Mariner Beach Grill, Dino’s Pizza and a beach bar. Then even had self-serve nachos and ice cream.
There were a few pools on the resort. My husband fell in love with the swim up pool bar the first night. We would lay by the beach by day then hit up the swim up bar at night. Andrews is the bartender at the pool bar. He was ABSOLUTELY awesome. He was always singing and joking around. He always had a smile on his face. He was definitely part of the appeal of the pool bar. A great bartender can make or break a place and he definitely made the place.
We ate at the Oleander, Tokyo Joes, The Cricketers, and Bayside. The Bayside was our go to place for breakfast buffet. Oleander is formal white gloved service. Robert is an excellent server and the food was good. Tokyo Joe’s is like a hibachi. Normally I like that sort of thing but I didn’t like the meal we had there. The best thing about SMB is if you don’t like it you can just go to another restaurant which we did. The Cricketers was probably our favorite by far. Javid was our server and he was awesome, always a smiling face and conversation. He was half the reason we kept going back.
Oh and yes there is plane noise! You are right by the airport. What do you expect!? The busiest days are Saturday and Sunday. The planes take off every 15 minutes or so. If you know what you’re getting into before you go then it isn’t bothersome at all. The sound only lasts for about 30 seconds.
Overall the trip was the best ever. I would do it again in a heartbeat. In fact we are going again next year.

Room Tip: Almonds building is away from the action. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, Nancy!

We are delighted that you had a fantastic time exploring all that Sandals Montego Bay has to offer and that your expectations were exceeded. We appreciate you sharing your wonderful experience with us and we look forward to making many more!
See you next year! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous for a honeymoon.
Relaxing, beautiful resort, everything has been thought of.
Had a upgrade to a bungalow on the beach for part of our stay which was amazing, pure indulgence.
Loved the choice of bars and great cocktail menus.
Food was delicious and everything is spotless.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Funnfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hello Emma,

We're so happy to read that you had a great holiday at Sandals Montego Bay. We love to hear our guests boast about our luxurious accommodations, delectable dining options, beautiful property and the wonderful personality and hospitality of our staff. Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure creating such a memorable experience for you.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was our first trip to a Sandals resort and it will not be our last. We had a very romantic honeymoon and look forward to returning for our anniversary. The service was excellent. I miss getting spoiled.

Room Tip: Ocean view with balcony and jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Danielle,

We love providing the perfect romantic atmosphere for our wonderful newlyweds and we are delighted that our resort provided the perfect backdrop for such a special occasion! Thank you for sharing the highlights of your honeymoon stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your Anniversary for another amazing experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to a Sandals resort and our first time at Sandals Montego Bay. We had a great time because we were with a group this year.

Food was excellent as usual for Sandals. All of the restaurants were very good but Oleander and Tokyo Joe's were our favorites.
Also, this property had the best nightly entertainment I have seen so far. The steel drum band and dancers from Trinidad were amazing. I also loved the guitarist who played at the returning guests dinner.

The room we booked was a beachfront walkout on ground level of the Palms Building. It was an average hotel room with very convenient access straight onto the beach. We also chose club level to get the room service but found this disappointing because it ends at 10pm. Breakfast took a long time to arrive at your room. The one night we really wanted room service it was past 10pm so we had to walk to the pub and wait in the crowd there for some food. Not fun!

We are beach lovers but found this beach to be disappointing. Once you walk out to chest-deep water you reach crab grass growing in the sand. It isn't pleasant to walk in, and a few people from our group stepped on sea urchins there.

We are very active people and very much enjoyed our time at Whitehouse last year. We were looking forward to certain things that were available at Whitehouse last year but we were sad to discover the Montego Bay property is not the same. No aquasize in the pool, no yoga, no aerobics studio, no open tennis lessons were posted (but you could schedule lessons on your own with the tennis pro).
We found the gym to be inadequate for what we need and really loved using the extra space in the aerobics studio at Whitehouse last year.

Although Montego Bay wasn't quite the right fit for us, you cant go wrong with the food and service at Sandals. We will likely try a different Sandals property next year.

Room Tip: Palms building has the best rooms. Choose an upper level room for best view or walkout room for most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnrbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review.

We’re glad that you enjoyed the cuisine and lively entertainment during your stay at Sandals Montego Bay. Still, we did note that there were a few aspects that you were not entirely pleased with and we appreciate you taking the time to bring these to our attention. As a returning Sandals guests, you are familiar with our high standards and your input plays an important role in ensuring that we are providing the exceptional services for which we are known. Therefore, your concerns and suggestions have been brought to the attention of our Management Team for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We do hope that you give us a chance to redeem ourselves during a future stay at one of our lovely properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about this place! It was romantic, beautiful, had great restaurants ... Our room had an amazing view of the was so close we popped a champagne bottle from the patio into the water ... Had the treat of a real steel band one night right outside our room and one more thing; perfect staff service that treated us like royalty - especially Michana! We are going back and already booked next year!

Room Tip: Ground level, ocean view walkout was so amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is our 5th visit at Sandals. Stayed Mobay in March 2013 n now our second stay April 2014. Returned with my children n their spouses. Everyone had a great time thanks to Hotel Manger Ms Smith seeing that they got to experience Royal Caribbean private island restaurant. Our stay was only 4 days which was to shot. But now the our traveling kids want a to return for longer stay. I m so hooked on Sandals that I have already booked Whitehouse. ride from airport is 90 min but first stay there in December 2013 found this resort well worth the ride. Enjoy this large resort n all the entertainment . Love the 4th floor rooms n elevators in building.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.9 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing