We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Montego bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Stephenville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sandals Montego bay”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Absolutely wonderful can't say anything negative at all
food terrific ,hospitality and friendliness expressed by Ashton grounds keeper , Shamara and Romaine our servers during dinner ,Boat cruise with Johnny welcoming by Big Al .
It made our trip especially as we had to be relocated from the Carlyle due to the amount of smoke. Special thanks to the manager of the Carlyle who assisted with the move as i have a smoke allergy .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patalex2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,425
    1,154
    423
    224
    147
See reviews for
180
4,053
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

There is nothing negative I can say about our trip other than it was too short. From our arrival to our departure we were pampered and spoiled to a degree we never new possible. We managed to be able to eat at all the restaurants on the resort and weren't disappointed a single time. Our room was clean and our in-room bar was fully stocked daily. We did several excursions - I got to swim with the dolphins in Ocho Rios and we climbed Dunns River Falls. We took the "party cruise" over to Margaritaville. We did the "Go Native" Negril trip. All were wonderful. We had a photo shoot on the resort on the Thursday of our trip and the only down side was a storm had blown through earlier that the day was slightly overcast, but the pics still came out beautifully. We spent a day shopping along the Hip Strip and had a lovely time. If I had to pick one "not so great" thing it'd be the fact that I wanted desperately to try a Marley shot and no one seemed to want to make one for me. Finally, they made one for me in Cricketer's and it was worth it. This was the first time my husband and I were able to take a trip like this and we did this to celebrate not only our 27th wedding anniversary, but also my husband's 50th birthday. Within a day of landing, I told my husband we were coming back. If all goes well, we fly out for our second week on July 4 this year. I don't handle heat well at all, so our AC was constantly on high in our room and I definitely roasted at times, but it was worth it. From the servers in the restaurants to the groundskeepers to the concierge, everyone was so wonderful and happy and pleasant. It made it very difficult to come back to the states where everyone seems so self-absorbed. Truly can't wait to go back!!! Oh and those that want to complain about the planes going overhead, all I can say is they're crazy!!! Yes, the planes go over and the first couple will make you jump. After that, you will find yourself waving to them with everyone else. There aren't that many going over and if you are going to let something like that ruin your time in paradise, you have some serious problems.

Room Tip: We had a concierge level room last year. We are going with a butler room this year. We just want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cometmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our 11th stay at Sandals Montego Bay. It was outstanding as always! Shout out to all the awesome staff! Butlers Andrea and Blanche! Can't forget Craig, Nasha, Shaniel, Michael, Glenroy, and Cordia! With an excellent crew of butlers, I will never be able to book a room that does not include them!!

Pros: 5 minute bus ride from the airport... nothing beats getting off a long flight and being at the resort practically instantly! The staff is awesome and really get to know you! The food is delicious! Every restaurant has their own theme and they are all excellent. The Cucina has the best steak for dinner. The drinks are delicious. It is tough coming back to the states after drinking the appletons mai tai's for a week. Shout out to the entertainment crew and the great volleyball games twice a day... special thanks to Shanna... always making sure the guests are having a good time.

Cons: none... No problem mon!

I like MoBay so much... I will see you guys again in less than 2 months!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SteakandFries4Lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted with Red Stripe beer...off to a good start..the grounds of the resort are well maintained, the staff were all very nice, the beach was perfect lots of space. the food and drinks were great!! never a bored moment plenty to do if you choose. Rooms were updated and clean We'll be back again ...compared to the other Sandals resorts in JA I recommend the one in Montego bay.Make sure to visit Royal and eat at the bamboo shack!! the jerk chicken is great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamRA45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic!

Well this probably doesn't happen to everyone,; but as we were getting married on the resort and then staying for two additional weeks, they upgraded us from a mid-level room to a condo with our own private beach (which, we didn't actually use... a bit too exclusive).

Pros:
Excellent staff -- Extremely accommodating and genuinely friendly!
Gorgeous beach
Amazing pools -- with swim-up bars
Strong drinks -- If you are brave, order a Steel Bottom (a local's drink). It's a shot of high octane, white rum mixed with a Red Stripe Lager.
The rooms -- Even though we were upgraded, I got ready for the wedding in one of my mate's rooms and it was still excellent.
FULLY stocked, free bar -- in the freakin' bedroom! Ours & the normal rooms!
TONS of activities -- Snorkeling, SCUBA, sailing, events every night... obviously just lounging on the beach!
Food -- Every restaurant on the resort was spectacular, and included in the price of your stay. One night, the wife and I decided to order two dinners (rack of lamb & roasted sea bass) each; and took the second dinner back to our room's refrigerator for a late night snack (very heavy snack)... but, we worked up the appetite (wink, wink), and ate al fresco on the balcony with a gorgeous view of the midnight ocean.

Cons:
The airport is really close to the resort -- not really sure this is a con because you get to and from the airport really quickly. But the planes fly right over the beach and are a bit loud. But the staff make a game out of it and wave at the airplanes. Soon enough you realize that you are not even paying attention to the planes and find that you are waving to them as well!
Careful of the late night crabs! -- they are everywhere and one of my new wife's girlfriends stepped on one after too many beverages and cut her toe open.
Locals on boats -- not really that bad, but they will do everything to persuade you to buy conch shells or beaded necklaces. If you're not interested, just don't make eye-contact.

Seriously, this was a great, relaxing trip and the resort, though older, is fantastic. The staff is really amazing, they go out of their way to make sure everything is just perfect and that there are 'No Worries, Mon!'

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just returned from a week at Sandals MB(April 22-29) and it certainly ranked as one of the best vacations we have had in some time.
Flight- flew with Air Canada Rouge and although the flight itself was good, the offerings and service left a lot to be desired. Other than water and or coffee, juice, you have to pay for everything and I mean everything. We usually fly with either Sunwing or Transat as they give you meals at n/c, complimentary champagne, blankets, headphones, ear plugs etc which all goes to make the flight more enjoyable. On both our flight down and return, the movie system was not working and they did not supply you with ear phones. Ridiculous, considering how much AC Vacations charged for this trip, you would think they would provide some value added services like this. We will avoid flying with them in the future if possible.
Check- in- This is where everything changed for the better! Transfer to the resort from airport was only 10 min so very quick. Immediately on arrival, we were given frozen cold towels and champagne to refresh and were then taken to concierge lounge for check-in as we had booked Honeymoon Ocean front room in Club Level. Check- in process was very quick and efficient.

Room- #119 in Almond building. Nice set-up with 4 poster king bed, ample dresser space, and walkout to patio with table and chairs. We were also steps away from large outdoor hot tub located right outside the room on a private deck overlooking the ocean. Nice!
A/C worked great and room was located at back end of the block so it was quiet for us. Room was a little on the small side though and a little dated as you could see that it's design reflected the age of the resort but certainly worked ok for us for the week. The resort is only 250 rooms so really not much of a walk to get to all areas which is nice.

Food/drinks - Outstanding! We hit Bayside(buffet) most days for breakfast and lunch and then the ala-cartes for dinner. Also had lunch a few times at beach grill which was great as well.
Did the French, Italian and Asian(Tokyo Joes) for dinners and all were great. Make sure that you book early as they do fill up quick if resort is busy as it was when were there. Overall quality of food was excellent with great selection on buffets and many items to choose from.
Drinks- Ya man! What can I say! Top shelf liquors, and bartenders very animated and would make you whatever you wanted. Try a "Jamaican Smile" or a "Bob Marley"!
Activities- With sandals, you get a lot of activities included such as Snorkeling, scuba diving, catamaran, water skiing, tube rides etc. We did the snorkeling which was great and also the tube ride which can accommodate up to five people. Hang on though as it is quite the ride!
Beach volleyball, pool volleyball every day and lots of other things, so you can go all day with activities if that's what you want. They also have a well-equipped A/C fitness room with top of the line Life Fitness equip and free weights.
In addition, as we had stayed at another Sandals previously, were eligible for extra perks through "Sandals Select Club". It was the annual Sandals reunion week so they put on a gala outdoor dinner first night we were there and we also got to go on an n/c excursion to "Good Hope" which is a large plantation that has various attractions- ATV, zip lining, historical tours, rum tasting etc. They also put on a really nice BBQ luncheon and pool party. We also rounded up everyone from the resort general manager through to all of the resort management team and tossed them into the pool! So much fun and a great time had by all!
A lot of great benefits to "Select Club" so if you have stayed at Sandals before, check it out when you are at the resort.
Shopping- on resort store is pretty good with many items available, but if you really want good deals, you have to go into Montego Bay to the vendor market. Cab from hotel is quite expensive at USD $40.00 there and back and driver will charge extra if you want to make any other stops as we did. Total for us was $60.00 and we only had driver make one extra brief stop for maybe 5 min, so we felt this was a bit of a rip off but there are no buses running so not much you can do about it.
Vendors in market were a lot of fun to negotiate with as they give you a price and you usually end up paying approx 25% of asking price.
They are a spirited bunch and it is always a great experience for us!

Beach- Small private beach, but no complaints and certainly as nice as some of the best that we have been too. No problems finding loungers although you do have to contend with the usual "lounger reservers" that will put their stuff on the chairs(that are shaded) at god knows what early hour in the am and then not show to use them until hrs later. Rude and inconsiderate but you seem to get this wherever you go. They also have really nice cabanas that you can rent for $250.00/day that comes with butler service, breakfast and lunch served to you. Not worth it to us but some people rented them.
Weddings- the resort hosts a lot of weddings as were down there to attend one and they really do an amazing job. The one that we attended had a reggae band at the reception and we danced and partied with them into the night and had so much fun.
Note- bring bug spray if you are going to be on the beach for any length of time as my wife got a bunch of sand flea bites and the groom also had a severe allergic reaction to bites that he got on his legs so make sure that you use spray.

Overall, we had an amazing time at Sandals and would not hesistate to go back again! Really the only fault for us was the noise from the jets taking off as hotel is literally located right behind end of the runway at MB airport. You will hear them many times throughout the day and into the early evening and it is very loud but we knew this going in. Price you pay for having only a 10 min transfer time from airport to hotel. Other reviewers said that you do get used it after a while, but I beg to differ as you don't get used to the noise level of over 100,000 lbs of thrust coming off of those engines during takeoff.
Everyone from the resort GM down through his management team and front line staff really work hard to provide you the best possible service and make you stay as memorable as possible. Yes, staying here was expensive for us, approx 5k for the trip alone, but Sandals is a high end luxury brand that does give you excellent service and quality and memories that will last a lifetime!
Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Rooms at far end of Almond block(#119 etc) are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel itself is a little bit older but well maintained. The grounds are very nice and the beach is unreal. The buildings are neat but a little older and not all are air conditioned. The beach bars are fun and the staff is fun to be around. The pool is small but the beach more than makes up for it. Drinks are good and the food is alright. Make reservations as soon as you arrive so you can get into the restaurants you want. Play volleyball and go water skiing it's all included and you will meet a great group of people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,332 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing