We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FABULOUS VACATION!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Sandals Montego Bay resort from Feb 5th – Feb 12th. It was an AMAZING trip from start to finish. From the moment we arrived at the airport and were directed to the Sandals waiting area, where we had our first Red Stripes, until the moment we left. This resort is very clean with a beautiful stretch of white sandy beach. All of the staff went above and beyond to make this a vacation to enjoy and remember. We for sure want to mention our favorites – Hartlan from the events staff and the two Andrews at the Cricketer’s Pub and pool bar. We spent a lot of time with them. It was fun getting to know them and learning about the Jamaican culture. Prince, from the Sandals Whitehouse resort, filled in at the Montego Bay resort one day. He was also incredibly friendly and made it seem like we were hanging out with a long-time friend. All of the events staff did an great job with the entertainment & you could tell they truly enjoy making sure each person has a fabulous time. We always got a laugh out of Michael’s, “yeah baby” comments. The food was tasty and the drinks were great – they are very generous with the drinks!! The planes flying overhead did not bother our party of 4 at all. It was fun to see them take off every so often. We were there for my 40th birthday and my dad’s 65th birthday. They provided a bottle of champagne and breakfast in bed for us and our spouses for our birthdays. They also made it a point to tell us happy birthday when they seen us. There were also a lot of activities included from the beach and shows every eventing. We do not usually return to the same areas for vacation, as there are so many places we want to go, but this is definitely a place that we will be returning too!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oleander area & loved it! The Almond area also looked very nice. There were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adams6438020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

We're so happy to read that you had such a wonderful birthday trip with us at Sandals Montego Bay. We're honored to have had the chance to share it with you and your family. We strive to create romantic and memorable experiences for our guests and I'm so glad we were able to achieve that goal during your stay.

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon for another stay to remember!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,344 - 2,350 of 5,532 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

This past week was our 6th stay at a Sandals and 3rd at Mo-Bay. Although it is a smaller resort and very close to the airport we keep coming back because it is a smaller resort and close to the airport. We wanted to land and be at the beach by 10 in the morning, just as the beach bar opens! We were royally treated by Alford who always make us feel like we're coming home.
We were upgraded to the cottages which were delightful, just steps away from the gorgeous ocean. The foyer stretches right into the beach and cool scented towels and rum drinks were in our hands before we even took our first few steps off our airport transfer. Being so close to the airport means more time on the resort coming and going.
The meals were all 4-star with impeccable service. Kudos go to Robert, Kirk, Winsome, Shaunna, and others. But the four of us were immensely impressed with Dalton. He embodies hard work, a strict work ethic, grace and style. He is the second longest employee and his dedication shows. Playmakers Ruthann, Kemar, Migel and Hartlen also went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Patricia in housekeeping should be commended for her diligent staff who made out rooms clean, welcoming twice a day. Really enjoyed the evening replenishing of fresh towels and turn down service!
We keep coming back because of all the incentives such as the managers dinner which includes the smooth guitar sounds of the performer whose name escapes me but held us as captive with his talent.
Overall it is a four star resort with a seven star service rating. The staff here are so friendly, warm and welcoming. They take all your requests and turn them into reality. This was not the case with staff at the Royal Bahamian. We were sorely disappointed there despite the gorgeous setting. It's the service of the staff at Montego Bay that makes the vacation memorable. I would highly recommend the Sandals Mo-Bay experience!

Room Tip: Cottages are quiet with close proximity to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. We're so happy that you had another wonderful experience at Sandals Montego Bay. Our staff works very hard to ensure that the expectations of our guests are met and exceeded. They will be so glad to see that this was the case during your stay. We can't wait to have you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My nephew booked their destination wedding at the Sandals Montego Bay Resort. Being someone who checks out every aspect of my vacations, I was concerned with the proximity of the resort to the airport. It actually became part of the experience as you and the resort staff wave goodbye to the departing planes and knowing they will be doing the same for you. When we arrived at the airport we were directed to the Sandals Check-in area where you were greeted by Resort Staff and offered a drink while you await the free shuttle. You arrive to a gated resort where there are nothing but smiles. The check-in process was also quite relaxing and by the time it is over your bags are in your room. From that point on you are waited on hand and foot. The drinks were flowing and the food offerings were excellent. We did not have one meal we did not enjoy. But there was a point where we asked they cut back on the amount of alcohol they put in the drinks so we could last the entire day and night. While we had a lower end room, the amenities were great and the bed was perfect. This resort is the Flagship of Sandals in Jamaica, of which there are seven. And you can tell they are proud of it in the way it is maintained. Staying here also give you free transportation and access to two other Sandals Resorts, but we did not take the time to do so. Whether you were there to just relax or venture out to the many excursions they offer, you never had concerns. The food was great and we got to try many different items and enjoyed each one. Because we were a group of 16, they offered to set us up at the various restaurants each night, but if this is not an option we suggest you research ahead of time where you may want to eat and make reservations after you get settled the first day. There are only two restaurants where reservations are required and only one where men had to wear pants/shoes and women needed slacks or sundress. AND DO NOT OVERPACK. We wore about half of what we packed. Most of the time you are in swimwear and shorts the rest of the time. The days were sunny and mid 80's and nights mid to high 70's. Sunscreen is a must. We wanted to give a special thanks to Big Al, Playmaker Mickel , Bartenders Whitiker, Romaine, Wadsworth, Cammille and a special mention for Andre at Stew Fish. We will definitely be a return guest. This was by far one of the best vacations we have ever been on!

Room Tip: We had a ocean view room and expect this was why we did not really hear the airport activity but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your great review of Sandals Montego Bay. We're so happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you all and we look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed at this resort March 8 - March 15 2014 and cannot wait to go back. Just read the previous negative review and they must have stayed at a different place because our stay was amazing. The staff treated us like friends the whole time. Took them two days and they called us by name and a couple times had my favorite drink already being made when they saw me walking to the bar. Kemar and Mickel went beyond what they had to do to make sure everyone had a good time. I can't say enough about Javed and Jethro at the pub. Watching them balance food orders with a constant stream of people wanting drinks was amazing. And while keeping everyone eating and drinking Jethro was playing Jenga with my sister. Best bartender ever. If you are looking for a resort you will never forget, this is it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

We're so happy that you enjoyed your wonderful vacation at Sandals Montego Bay. We always strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and it seems our team was able to make your stay an exceptional one. Thank you so much for your review. We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I were extremely impressed with the resort as a whole -- so much so that we booked a return trip for next February 2015. I read reviews before our recent arrival where people complained about the plane noise. By the end of the first day we were used to it and didn't give it another thought. That said, I certainly wouldn't let the planes detour you from staying here.

The Entertainment staff is top notch - their talent, activities and dedication was amazing. A special shout-out to Kemar, Michael, Shellene, Hartland, Miguel and Shawna Kay for going above and beyond to make our stay memorable. In addition to entertainment staff, the various service/bar staff members worked very hard to accommodate our every request and speedy service (i.e. Judian and Natashia).

We wanted to be able to compare other Sandals resorts in Jamaica to the Montego Bay location so we visited Negril, Royal, and Carlyle. I'm happy to report we felt as though we made the right selection with Montego Bay. The beach is wider and cleaner, there are more watersports to select from and the MB staff was friendlier and more engaging than we saw elsewhere. The weather in February was a sunny 80-85 degrees every day which is exactly what I was hoping for.

I would like to offer the resort a couple of minor (but guest rewarding) suggestions -- 1. provide a large quantity of water rafts for guests to use in the pools and ones for the ocean (similar to your Negril location). 2. Nightly entertainment with special guests should be completely different and not overlap within a 7-8 day stay (i.e. the display of fire eating was more than enough to see on one night rather than the two we saw). We had a fabulous vacation and will be returning next year with a much larger group as a result of our recommendations to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bristadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It sounds like you truly had an amazing stay at Sandals Montego Bay. You enjoyed every minute of your vacation spent with us and we couldn't be happier to hear it. We look forward to your return for another awesome visit in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Went to this resort 3 years ago, the services make you feel like your at home , can't wait to go back one day...food was excellent !!!! My mom got married the wedding was intimate just me , my husband and the newlyweds it was perfect !!!! And we where there for our delayed honeymoon at the same times , we where spoiled !!!!! We will be back home soon :)))

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chiffon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

We're so happy to read that you had such a wonderful wedding with us at Sandals Montego Bay. I know that this was a very special occasion in your lives and we're honored to have had the chance to share it with you. We strive to create romantic and memorable experiences for our guests and I'm so glad we were able to achieve that goal during your stay.

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon for another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is my first review. I decided to just state the facts and let you decide whether Sandals MoBay is the place for you. This was our first Sandals vacation. Let's start with check in. The check in was a little slow and un-organized. While they did provide us with cocktails they didn't do a great job of communicating how long the process would take. The room was nice and clean. It wasn't the nicest room but we didn't spend a lot of time there anyways. It truly is all inclusive. The food was very good and they had a large selection of liquors. Red stripe is the only beer they serve but they do have the regular and light versions. I thought the food was excellent. The breakfast and lunch buffets were incredible. We loved the jerk chicken and the pizzas as well. The pools are pretty small and the swim up bar pool is virtually impossible to get a seat around. Towels were sometimes hard to find as well. The beach was nice but it was sometimes hard to find a chair there as well. It seemed people would get up early to stake out chairs, even if they weren't planning on sitting there as most staked out chairs remained empty. Not the biggest beach but still nice. There was minimal wait for the bars and restaurants although you definitely want to make reservations as soon as you arrive. The beach bar probably had the slowest service but it still wasn't bad. The resort is right next to the airport so most of the day planes took off and flew over every 20 minutes or so. While it didn't ruin the trip it took some getting used to. The water sports and snorkeling were included as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful for the most part. The grounds were beautiful. The WiFi (42 bucks for a week) was surprisingly good. The signal was excellent throughout the grounds, even on the beach. Ironically, the only place we couldn't get a signal was in our room. We could get it on our patio though so it wasn't a huge deal.

All in all we had a very nice time and while we most likely will not go back to MoBay Sandals (too many other places to visit) I would definitely do a Sandals property again. Hope it helps.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thanks so much for your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We're happy to see you had a wonderful vacation with us. Seems like you enjoyed your time spent with us. We can't wait to offer you another great stay in the future at any of our stellar resorts!

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,618 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $537 - $1,688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, TravelUp, Booking.com, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing