We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,954)
Filter reviews
5,954 results
Traveler rating
3,835
1,251
465
242
161
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,835
1,251
465
242
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms buildingour honeymoonoleander roomalmonds buildingcucina romanatokyo joesstew fishbutler servicepiano barbayside restaurantsea grapesroyal caribbeancafe de parisclose to the airportmain barwater skiingwater sports
Filter
Updating list...
2,881 - 2,886 of 5,954 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Lack of big entertaining pool but amazing beachfront!
They definitely take care of returning guests more so than first timers. Our room location was horrible when the others in our group who had been there before was much better. I was completely unhappy with the customer service mgr who had my request for a move of rooms. She was very rude. With that said everything else was outstanding!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your review about your stay and your feedback on our resort and service. We're glad that you had a wonderful stay overall but your comments indicate room for improvement. I will be sure to forward your review to our management team for evaluation and action as needed.

We hope to welcome you back for a much better stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just returned from a fantastic 1 week stay at Sandal's Montego Bay and are already planning our return! From start to finish, our experience was incredible. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the resort and beach area are stunning, and the activities and dining were fantastic. The water sports were a particular highlight, with sailing, snorkeling, and paddle boarding adding some fun and excitement to our trip. We had planned to take a day-trip, but found the activities at the resort kept us more than busy and entertained! The food options at the resort were also amazing. Different styles and settings to suit every mood, fantastic service, and excellent food quality. We were particularly impressed, as a member of our party has celic disease, and typically finds dining out to be a challenge. The buffet always had guten-free options and, when asked, staff at each restaurant were able to identify every celic-friendly dish without hesitation, and had gluten-free bread prepared for her. Exceptional service in this regard. We would recommend this resort without hesitation to future guests - hope to see you there!

Room Tip: The Seagrapes building is slightly removed from the beach, but still has a beautiful ocean view from the third floor and is quieter, away from the hustle-and-bustle of the main beach area.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShantiDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

There's no such thing as having way too much fun! We're just so happy that your stay couldn't have been any better. It's great to see that we were able to cater to everyone in your party and provide an amazing stay for everyone. We strive to create that experience for our guests daily. Thank you so much for your review.

We hope to see you all back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just returned from our honeymoon in Jamaica during which we spent 4 nights at this resort. We had heard all the Sandals hype and how people return year after year from most people we encountered at the resort but overall we didn't get why. This resort is literally next to the main airport run way so you are buzzed by all the departing planes all day long.

We will say food was very good (with exception of fruit which was lacking from the bar and just not great at meals). The rest was nothing spectacular given the cost. We jumped through the hoops to register our honeymoon then needed to ask for the perks we were suppose to get ourselves.

Service felt forced at best, everyone said the right things in terms of asking if all was good but seemed bothered if you actually asked for anything, bar service was slow and drinks were consistently not mixed well and lacked any fruit for at least 2 of the days we were there. I mean we ordered gin and tonics that were bad which is pretty hard to mess up. For activities there were no tennis balls available and they treated us like we were completely unreasonable to ask they turned on the lights on the courts.

Spa was pricey as expected but they were way too aggressive with the product sales, they were just going to add items to our room automatically without out agreeing to the purchases which I didn't appreciate. We had planned on splitting out time between two resorts anyway and we are so glad we did because the second location was definitely an upgrade for really the same money. We will return to Iberostar for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurleyha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I'm writing this review just to advise future guests of the restaurants and the bar. My wife and I stayed at another Sandals over Christmas and new Year 2013/14 but we travelled to Sandals Montego Bay to eat on occasions.
The Oleanda Restaurant
******************************
A beautiful restaurant where your meals are cooked individually so be prepared to wait a little while. It's worth the wait.
An outstanding waiter here is 'Robert' he is a true professional who has learnt the fine art of how to serve guests at a good restaurant. You must ask for him if you're going to eat there - you will see why when you're there.***** 5 stars for this one.

Tokyo Joes
**************
Very tasty stir fry meals cooked in front of you by chef and some very nice Japanese bottled beer to go with it. Nicely situated in the open and overlooking the ocean.**** 4 stars for this one.

La Cucina - Italian restaurant
**********************************
My wife and I dined here twice and on both occasions I had to send one of the courses back as they were warm/cold. Also, the staff are very slow in bringing drinks to your table and this can be very frustrating when your food has just been served. Some 'grip' needed here on those 2 issues I think.

The bar
**********
Nicely situated in the centre of the restaurants area. Good service and wide variety of drinks to suite all.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here, just dined so cannot assist with this one.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We loved our room and the overall stay was fabulous! Food was VERY GOOD! I think the care when we first arrived at the airport could have been handled much better, but it was ok. We had no clue what to expect and we were not directed well on what to do. First impressions are important, so the crew at the airport, get on the ball. All else went well. Dameon, at the at the office, was amazing! Very nice and helpful! Thank you for a memorable time!

Room Tip: The honeymoon rooms upper floor, fabulous.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DL b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews