We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,954)
Filter reviews
5,954 results
Traveler rating
3,835
1,251
465
242
161
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,835
1,251
465
242
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms buildingour honeymoonoleander roomalmonds buildingcucina romanatokyo joesstew fishbutler servicepiano barbayside restaurantsea grapesroyal caribbeancafe de parisclose to the airportmain barwater skiingwater sports
Filter
Updating list...
2,896 - 2,901 of 5,954 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I for sure recommend sandals montego bay. It was unbelievably romantic, beautiful, clean, entertaining and fun. Food and drinks were amazing and definitely gourmet. We had a butler suite which I highly recommend. It made the experience that much more worth it. They planned everything for us, surprised us with snacks and drinks and beautiful flower decorated on the bed, towels, and bath tub filled with bubbles. Greeted with drinks right away and the champagne in our room. Along with the full bar. Also had our own covered spot on beach. You get what your paying for and then some. HIGHLY recommend :-D.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustJules86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was recently at the sandals Montego Bay from Dec 21-28th for me and my wifes anniversary vacation. We are returning guest to the sandals resorts. I must say I was upset and shocked at the way the employees acted. And will probably never go back to Montego Bay from being harrased and solicited at the airport,the sandals bus driver telling me go ahead sit there let the suit cases fall on you and sue like all amerians do, to the planes flying so low you think your about to die keeping you awake all night. literally my 2nd day i was wanting to go home most of the employees were rude, the service was not so good, and the watersports workers at montego bay are lazy and will close down for 2 hours during the main part of the day for a break but at the royal its open all the time and the workeres are much more friendlier caution there is security that do not do anything but watch you get harrased and solicited drugs and crap seashells over and over anytime you walk by the water for a nice stroll with your loved one.

We stayed most of our time at the Royal which is the essence of the Sandals brand. And had no issues there. The water is clearer and the people are friendlier.

But I do wanna give respect and thanks to these few people that made our anniversary vacation wonderful as it could be at Sandals Montego Bay .

Christopher-concierge service
Marc -Tokyo joes and bayside
Everton-Tokyo joes and bayside
Andrew-cricketers
Davion-cricketers
Junior- oleanders

If Christopher in concierge shows you to your room you gotta ask him to sing for you!

You gotta hang with Marc and Everton. Ask about the 3 wiseman and the 4 horseman!

Get Andrew and davion to make you rainbow shots and show there bar tricks

Junior at oleanders was great!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrettcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We went from 12/16-12/21/23 with another couple. Quick ride from the airport to paradise. We checked in with the concierge team and were presented with fruity drinks on arrival. Our room was ok...not as nice as in the photos online but when are they ever? After noticing some housekeeping issues such as many hair clumps from previous stays all over the area rug and over abundance of dust I called to have the room thoroughly cleaned the next day. They were happy to oblige any requests that you make.

It was just about impossible to make a dinner reservation as on the first day we tried to make them they told us everything was booked. We were only able to enjoy the restaurants because the other couple we went with had a butler who was able to make all our reservations for us no problem. This made us quite angry as all the restaurants sat more than half empty each night. However if you get a chance to meet Marc who worked a Tokyo Joes at night and Bayside in the morning... He was wonderful and so accommodating to us.

The excursions are a must. We did the reggae cruise which was the best time we had on the trip however it was only offered on Tuesdays. We also did the dunns river falls and dolphin cove which was great however takes up a whole day. The tour guide Taneka was nice and knowledgeable. However it was extremely unprofessional that they stopped for gas right after picking us up and on the way home they made a stop to get a number off of a car for sale. A little aggravating when you spend almost $300 for a tour.

Don't waste your money on the spa. The couple we went with got pedicures which began chipping immediately and her nails were also substandard and they spent an arm and a leg.

The workout facility was one of the best hotel gyms I have ever been too and was clean and well maintained

The hotel is DIRECTLY behind the airport runway so you do hear planes taking off frequently but it didn't bother us.

Overall we have a wonderful trip minus a few hiccups and would definitely return to this resort The staff was overall great, friendly and accommodating. If you remember go see Chris Wayne at the beach bar...he was awesome

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hc5021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I traveled here for a week in December 2013. This was our second Sandals, but first time at THIS resort. We both had an absolutely fabulous time! Here are some of the (mostly) pros and cons:

PROS:
Beautiful grounds and beach area

Beautiful and DELICIOUS restaurants

We loved sitting at the fire pit by the beach which didn't even get crowded!

The staff go above and beyond. Everyone is super friendly and accommodating. Michael from the Playmakers led a really fun Jamaican dance class every day on the beach. So fun!

Only 5 minutes from the nearby Sandals Royal Caribbean. Definitely go there and try the Thai restaurant on the private island. The grounds there are gorgeous. We met people who went to the beach there, but it seemed a little dead and we loved staying at our resort.

Had a pretty young and fun crowd, but you could also keep to yourself and relax if that's what you want.

CONS:
I normally eat vegan but it is IMPOSSIBLE here. Even being a vegetarian is difficult as most restaurants only had one or two dishes. The Japanese restaurant can give you tofu if you specifically ask.

RIGHT by the airport, so you do hear a lot of planes overhead. However, this didn't bother either of us. (Sidenote: being by the airport was nice in terms of travel time to and from the resort)

Our original room was right above where the shows are and was VERY loud. The first night we couldn't get to sleep until everything was over. They moved us the next day though to a very nice room in a separate building.

We had a couples' massage, which was great but OVERPRICED. 50 minutes for $270. I definitely wouldn't do it again. Also, the spa people were EXTREMELY pushy to come back and buy products. It was awkward and uncomfortable.

OVERALL:
Great time, definitely stay here!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main building (400s)
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natter1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Flight from Gatwick was delayed a few hours so when we arrived at Sangster it took us 3 hours to get out of the terminal - just a word of warning - the wait to pass through immigration was horrendous. Maybe this was a one-off - I don't know.

However, the Sandals experience made up for it.

Our beach front room was amazing, very clean, fantastic location and to be able to lie in bed, or sit in the bath and look out over the sea is a wonderful experience. Housekeeping was perfect, and when we needed additional toiletries, they arrived. Bar was always well stocked with premium brands.

We went to sandals for our wedding and the team there (thanks Chantelle and Orville) made the day so enjoyable and stress free. The sun shone, the beach was white and the sea blue - photos are great.

We tried every restaurant and never had any trouble when we had to book. They could always fit us in. Breakfast is plentiful and the Bayside always has a good selection of local and international dishes.

We hired a Cabana on our last day (27th December) and our waiter for the day, Regan, was an excellent host - and he can sing. This was the only day out of 7 that it rained - warm rain.

Did a trip to the Dunns River falls which was good fun but be warned - you do get wet - totally submerged at some stages - and it is quite physical as you are walking up a waterfall. Good experience though.

Back to Sandals though and I cannot say how much I and my (new) wife enjoyed our wedding and honeymoon. Each member of staff was pleasant and attentive and were always trying to make sure that you were having a good time. You don't need to do a thing.

Regarding cash - apart from the shop - it is all inclusive. Spirits, beer (red stripe), cocktails, champagne, pizzas, lunch, breakfast, dinner, champagne, ice cream, everything - all in with the price.

They also made it a bit special with it being Xmas, having Santa and his playmakers cruising around in a boat.

We are already planning next Xmas.

Thanks Sandals - appreciate it.

One more thing - make sure you bring mosquito repellent, the bites itch like crazy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews