We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Montego Bay is AWSOME!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Sandals Montego Bay is AWSOME!!!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2004

Before I decided to go to Sandals Montego Bay, I did alot of research. I am happy to report that you MUST ignore the bad reviews people gave this resort. To start, the property is beautiful. The standard of cleanliness is unsurpassed (literally). The rooms are much more than you would expect. The website does not do them justice. Ours overlooked the beach which I think was an upgrade because the one I booked was supposed to overlook the gardens. "NO PROBLEMS MON" The activities were plenty. The "playmakers" (people who get us lazy vacationers moving!) were so alive and upbeat. Gotta say hey to Sidiki!! Oh yeah....make sure felucci takes you out on the kayak ride!! And we can't forget the ever popular beach vollyball court....every man's dream! Most importantly, the food and drink were a 10 by far. I think the best part of our meals though had to be the curtious, friendly way we were always served. Be sure to stop at the main bar and get yourself a Dean special!! I can't wait to revisit this resort and I am so happy I picked it (trust me, I am very pickey too). We will be going there again.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,425
    1,154
    423
    224
    147
See reviews for
180
4,053
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2004

Just got back from a 7-day vacation/honeymoon at MoBay and can only say I wish we never left. When we arrived at the airport we were immediately greeted by a Sandals representative (after going through customs) who pre-checked us in at the airport. About 15 minutes later we were on a bus with a couple other poeple headed to the resort. We went for the concierge service which was worth it. It made the check-in very relaxed. We sat in an air-conditioned room sipping champagne while they prepared everything. We did arrive a little too late for the afternoon orientation so they gave us a breif run-down on everything.
We were upgraded to a penthouse room which was very nice with a great view of the ocean. A short time later we were changed and enjoying our first dinner at the resort. The food ranged from good to very good.
Only one time did my wife get something she didn't like. The evening entertainment was usually very enjoyable. They do a good job getting the audience involved in almost all of the shows. The only complaint is they have an art auction twice a week before the evening entertainment that seems to drag on at times. Activities during the day are fun - the Playmakers (their version of a cruises tour director) keep things fun and enjoyable. You can do as much as you want or as little as you want - it doesn't matter. We did a couple of off-resort activities including shopping, Dunns River Falls and the Boat Trip to Margaritaville.
Shopping is always an adventure - make sure if you take a taxi yourself to negotiate the price BEFORE you go. If you take one of the taxi-shopping trips listed at the resort it has a price listed already.
but if you go on your own trip the price is wide-open so you can barter a little. We both highly enjoyed the Dunns River Falls excursion - the 90 minute ride their is an adventure in itself! The falls are beautiful and the guides very helpful. You can take your own camera and they will take your picture at various points along the way - just be sure to tip them when done. If you do the full-day trip you get lunch and shopping at Ocho Rios. Again, shopping is always an adventure but you never feel threatened. Just be polite and say "No thank you" if your not interested - they usually leave you alone after that. Lastly, the boat trip to Margaritaville is also a lot of fun. They take you snorkeling first, followed by a stop at Margaritaville. I was a little dissapointed in Margariitaville - it's not much more than a glorified gift shop. You can get drinks and food there but you don't have much time. And why pay for a drink when you get them for free on the boat (and at the resort)? But overall it's a lot of fun - they have a water slide and trampolines floating in the ocean. Then the ladies get treated to a foot massage by the crew on the way home while the guys try to learn to dance. Late night at the resort you can either go to the disco which can be spotty at times - sometimes it's crowded others it's almost empty. Or the piano bar which usually has a good crowd always eager to sing along (sometimes too eager). I can't say enough about how nice everyone not only at the resort but even those you meet outside the resort. I don't htink I've met a nicer, more polite group of people than those in Jamaica. I wish some of the Americans I've seen at the resort treated their hosts with as much respect as they were treated. Overall the people staying there are very nice - you usually can meet a few other couples when you're there and "hang-out" together - if that's what you want to do. We were very sad to leave and can't wait to get back. While we were there we had the opportunity to visit Sandals Ocho Rios and Sandals Royal Carribean. While we were only at Ocho Rios for about an hour for lunch when we went to the falls we weren't very impressed. Their beach is very small. The only thing I would say is nicer is their landscaping but we didn't travel to Jamaica to look at trees all day. And we went to Royal Carribean on evening to eat the Royal Thai. While the restaurant was good it wasn't anything spectacular. I wouldn't worry about going their if you can't fit it into your plans. And as for the Royal Carribean resort - it was much different than Montego bay. Very quiet, not much going on. I guess if you're looking for somewhere to go that's secluded and not very exciting you can go their. Although you can go to MoBay and stay in/around your room and still be secluded. We were not impressed with Royal Carribean at all. I'm glad we didn't choose to go there. MoBay is the original and sometimes it's age shows a little compared to the others but it's defintely better. Service ranges from good to excellent at both the restaurants and the bars. We definitely recommend Montego Bay.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 3, 2004

We just returned from a 4 day stay at Sandals Montego Bay. The beaches are goregous, the food is plentiful and good, the drinks are endless and well made. The staff goes beyond the call of duty-- constantly saying hello and do you need anything. The only annoyance were the planes in the early am. They did not bother us at all except one that jetted off at 5:30 am! Also the nightly entertainment starts too late-- sometimes 11pm and by then I am in bed! Also be prepared to be harrased for constant tips at the airport for baggage helpers and bus drivers. All in all this was a fabulous vacation and I would most definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 1, 2004

I have got to say after reading some of the bad reviews it is like those people stayed at a different resort. My wife and I stayed there for our honeymoon and i was nothing short of fantastic. the service was great , the food was not five star but very good, who really expects five star at a resort unless your paying for it. The resort kept us entertained the whole time we were there. the drinks were flowing and yes there are those planes but after the first fifteen minutes you really do not notice them...i would recommend this spot for anyone who wants to have a great time for an affordable price..the grounds are beautiful, the tours we went on were great..dunns river and a plantation tour, the locals are aggressive but no different then going to the flee market on canal st in manhatten in the sumemer. there was no hint of theft when i was there but i am also not going to leave my stuff unattended why would anyone???..We leave on monday for our first return trip..i'll be sure to write an updated review when i return

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 30, 2004

What a disappointment - they should have indicated that you would at the end of the runway. Constant airplanes - bad service - not so friendly people - not an image that makes me want to return. If you could get in somewhere to eat within the hotel, it was a day in advance bookings. And you even hate to wait for a manager to complain to about the poor service.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 26, 2004

Spent 10 nights there October 15-25 2003. The resort grounds are beautiful, the food was good (make sure you make reservations your 1st day t here). We were married on the 18th and thought the wedding was wonderful and the coordinator very helpful (the pictures were very nice). Resort activities seem to be geared towards the young crowd that do a lot of drinking (beach games, newlywed game ect.). Room was very nice with a great view (had to have room for ants), in room bar and drinks were nice and would be stocked with anything we requested! We paid extra for concierge services which were non-existent. We were introduced to him the first day and never seen him again (the concierge desk wasn't much more helpful). Problems we encountered: when we got on the shuttle to the hotel from the airport we were asked by the bus driver if we want to buy marajuana, had to wait about 3 hours for our room (the travel agency said we would be upgraded and when we asked the had no upgrades available), NOT the safest place to be (make sure you read the local newspapers on the internet before you leave home), we found out there had been a riot and shooting in MO Bay the day we arrived. We took several excursions and one was to a plantation and our bus was held up for several hours with angry people and police surrounding us and we were lied to when we asked what was going on (very scary) we ended up with a police escort the whole way there and back (that was after the driver paid the police officer). We went to the Sandals Inn for dinner one night and decided since we were early to take a walk. We walked on block and back and was approached 4 times on the way to the corner asking to buy drugs and wares, on the way back a car pulled up very quickly and 2 guys jumped out and ran over to us, grabbed our arms and put bracelets on them demanding money and said it was for the childrens school fund (we gave them $2.00 which they were very unhappy about). We decided we wouldn't go on any more walks unsupervised away from the hotels. The departure was a day from HELL Again we were lied to, we had the pre check out with Air Jamaica and the representive wasn't there on time and we were told it was because of a bad auto accident blocking the roads (she was about 2 hours late).
Then we found out that we had to be taken by boat with our luggage to Margaritaville and then to the airport (again because of the auto accident). We found out before we left by boat that there had been more riots and shootings going on including over turned cars, fires, guns, rock throwing ect. and so that's why we couldn't get through on the roads to get the airport. It was raining and storming by the time our boat left Sandals (so we got soaked) and once we got to Margaritaville they didn't know how we were going to get to the airport so we stood around there for about an hour. We finally went by cab and made it safely to the airport (the staff that was on the boat with us (getting off work and going home) stuck around to make sure we saftely made it to a cab (at first we were told the police were going to take us). The weather was good (even though it rained for a short time every afternoon), the hotel was nice but not as nice as we expected, the service was o.k. but slow at the resturants and bar, watersports was good but was very disappointed about the saftely issue and the fact that we weren't told about anything going on outside of the hotel. We would have made different choices about tours and leaving hotel grounds had we know. Would we go back again? No. We also sent an email to the hotel, airlines, and travel agency when we returned and have never heard anything back from any of them. That was very disappointing. If you have any questions feel free to email us, we took several tours and ate at all of the Sandal resorts resturants. kjdenio2004@yahoo.com

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 25, 2004

My husband and I just returned from a four-day vacation at Sandals Mo Bay this week. This was our first trip to an all-inclusive resort, so we don't really have anything to compare it to. The resort was gorgeous, with very well-maintained grounds. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. Upon arrival, we were greeted with champagne and the news that we had been upgraded from a beahfront luxury room to the Water's Edge Penthouse, which was fantastic - we really enjoyed the whirlpool tub, canopy bed, walk-in closet, big balcony, and well-stocked bar. The room was very clean, as was the entire resort. The food was certainly good, but not fantastic. Don't drink too many of their tropical drinks - they are rather syrupy and likely to make your stomach hurt. There is no problem getting a shot of Jack if that's what you prefer. We enjoyed walking along the resort's long stretch of private beach. I don't care what people say about the vendors and stray cats - they are not a big problem. The watersports staff were very helpful, and there was no waiting for sailing, kayaking, etc. The ocean was crystal clear and is warmer than the Atlantic, but not quite as warm as the Pacific. We spent quite a bit of time just laying in the pool. We also enjoyed the lawn chess (actually on the beach) and the open-air pool hall. The entertainment was okay with the exception of the "beach party", which is held every Monday.
They close down almost all of the restaurants and set up a big buffet on the beach. The food was good, but the entertainment was seriously lacking. It started out okay, with a cute kid's marching band and a fire dancer, but then it ended up with an hour of the manager introducing himself and all of the other managers (bar manager, spa manager, front desk manager, etc.) - very boring! Definitely not as good as the luaus in Hawaii. Overall, we were very pleased with our experience, and will likely return someday when we just need to relax in a place that we know is nice. I don't, however, forsee us returning every six months for ten years, as one couple we met has done. One word of caution - make absolutely sure that you do not leave anything of value in your rooom when you check out. My husband left his wedding band in our bathroom the day we left. When he discovered that it was missing at the airport, the staff at the Sandals desk very quickly whisked us back to the resort in a private car to look for the ring. We were very impressed by their care and concern, and level of service.
Unfortunately, when we got back to the room (about an hour after we had checked out) we found the ring to be missing. What we did find, however, was that the minibar had been cleaned out of beer and four or five empty bottles were in the trash can. We didn't like the red stripe beer, so it wasn't us who emptied all of the bottles that were in the trash. We figure that whoever helped themselves to the minibar also probably helped themselves to my husband's ring. In defense of the resort, they did have their loss prevention manager investigating the incident when we left, and it was our own dumb fault for leaving the ring in the room. And you never know, since the ring was left on the vanity it may have just fallen down the drain. Whatever happened, we are not going to let it cloud the fact that we had a very enjoyable vacation, and would recommend the resort to anyone who just needs to get away from it all.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,335 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing