We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reva, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Honeymoon”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Montego Bay !This Place is a awesome couples resort . The Playmakers make the resort fun for each and everyone of the couple that stays on this resort !!!! The airport is literally right next to the resort so planes can get noisy at times but you get use to it ! We only had a couples flaws with 2 of the bartenders annoying us with " You can Tip Us " and a maid that was rude about coming in and doing her job. The Beach was pretty and so many chairs to sit at but they did have a lot reserved for the butler service which made you options shorter. The Food was awesome but out of all the 6 restaurants you had to make reservation ahead of time with 3 of them. The other restaurants was walk up and one of them was FINE Dining walk up. But we would totally come back to the resort it was fun and their was activities going on every day & night ! Like I said before the PLAYMAKERS are the best people on the resort !

Room Tip: Standard Room only has Fridge and the bed was a little older and made a noise evertime you rolled ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Sandals Montego Bay is an awesome place that combines fun and romance for all of our couples! We regret to hear that you had any difficulty whiles staying with us but as you can see that the vast majority of staff members are wonderful and expect nothing in return! We appreciate you feedback and will send your comments for follow-up to our resort managers. We look forward to making many more happy memories with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,448
    1,161
    424
    225
    148
See reviews for
182
4,082
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First time at a Sandals and an all adult resort. Was nice not to have
kids jumping and splashing around. Resort was very clean, food was
quite good. Water sports excellent. Rooms a bit small...pretty high price
for stay, but worth it if you want to be away from big crowds, children and enjoy water sports. The entertainment was lame, so don't expect much there. Airplane runway is
right beside resort so be aware of very loud take off engines at 7:30am.
You do eventually get used to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your first Sandals experience! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sandals Montego Bay. We do try to frequently change our activities and entertainment choices for our guests. We respect your opinions and will be forwarding your remarks to our entertainment staff. We appreciate your feedback, as our goal is to continue providing the best services to our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ok so all the good things people said I agree with, but there were some downfalls. First yes it is close to the airport and so you do hear planes. I did count them the first day just cuz it was funny but after that I could care less. We would just wave to them and the noise lasts about 10 secs. You do not hear them at night. The wait to check into your room a lil long could def be a smoother process seeing as people are flying all day and just want to eat and relax. However the staff is great I mean amazing. They smile all the time, say good morning to you, you get to know them and they get to know you. The cleaning staff is great always there to make the bed, empty trash, refill fridge with waters, turn down the bed at night, give you fresh towels, clean up your mess, etc. We had a basic sort of room and we had a balcony it was great. I would not have paid for anything more cuz we were never in the room. The beach is beautiful and there are plenty of chairs or beds, whatever you prefer. There are always huts with fresh towels. The pools were great...one large one with another one at the piano room that has a swim up bar. there are also a few hot tubs around. One is more private near the workout rooms. There are also showers everywhere for rinsing sand off your feet. The workout area was perfect had just enough stuff to fit in a workout. On to the tipping thing: the cab driver who drives you and the guys who help with your bags ask for tips. If you go on excursions like zipline they ask. However the staff do not ask for tips, they are not allowed to take tips as they will get fired and told us this. We did sneak in a a few tips to people who provided us with some extra care. The food; the breakfast was good because I could get an omelet with egg whites and veggies and some fresh fruit. I am a healthy eater so the food was my major problem, except for breakfast lol. The lady who makes the omelets just made my day every morning. She is so sweet and friendly and remembered us after a few days of ordering the same thing. The lunch was ok, not many healthy options and had the same stuff everyday. I do not eat bad on vacation so this was a challenge. Grilled chicken sandwich or pizza. The buffet did not interest me at lunchtimes. The dinners again it was hard due to portion sizes being so small and not many healthy options. Make sure you order two of everything as everything is so small. We ended up going off the island to eat a few times and even had our protein shakes and bars with us to hold us over. Was just hoping for salmon, cod, haddock, scallops, more seafood as we were on an island. I think for the reason of food I would not do an all inclusive. I am not a big drinker either. The staff for activities were great. Shauna, Hartland, Romero, they made are trip fun. We laughed, danced, played beach volleyball till we were sore and loved every second. There are pool tables, ping pong, pool volleyball, basketball, shuffle board as well as, water activities. Also the bartender in the piano room was amazing, sweet, friendly, just went the extra mile. He also gave my BF some dance lessons lol. The piano guy was also great..funny..flirty..
Overall we had a great time. We met some great people from all over the globe and enjoyed every moment. I took back a great tan and a great appreciation for what I have in life. Sad to see so many poor people in this beautiful country. (Also we went shopping at Rose Hall and be prepared to barter. Cab driver also took us to an area where there are local Jamaican women selling some wood items.) I hope I got everything and I hope this review helps. Again it was a great time, but my only pitfall was the food options and that the soft serve ice cream machine was not open all night lol.

Room Tip: I do not think you need to pay extra for any other service. Remember there are photogs taking your p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We are so happy that so many laughs were had and bonds made with our wonderful staff members at Sandals Montego Bay! We do provide as many dining options as possible to cater to every one of our guests. It can be challenging but we welcome the chance to prove ourselves! Our culinary staff will appreciate the feedback so they can better accommodate all dietary needs!
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Montego Bay. Staff was great, resort was beautiful, food was unreal (stew fish!!), and anything else. We really enjoyed Kenneth, and the two trainees Demar and Shevard. Thought those two trainees worked their you know what off to be sure every person on beach was satisfied. See you again Sandals!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shs175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first Sandals vacation. This is a wonderful resort where we were able to jump to the Royal Carribean and Carliyle resorts. The rooms and service are spectacular! Jules helped us with our reservations and ensured our stay was wonderful throughout. Great activities for the families and couples. I was a little disappointed there wasn't a 24 hour buffet for soups, salads, and sandwiches because sometimes you are having so much fun, you forget to make reservations. Between playing sand volleyball, pool volleyball, snorkeling, waterskiing, kayaking, and simply relaxing, you burn up an appetite. I was also disappointed there was no Grey Goose, but instead, learned to love the Jamaican rum drinks! The catamaran cruise was the best!! The only downside was it was close to the airport and you hear and see every plane that lands and takes off.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wondeful and clean. But I would choose the ground floor rooms to avoid walking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for a great review of your first Sandals experience! It is awesome that in your very first stay you were able to THREE Sandals properties and have full access as a guest at each! We encourage our guests to utilize the resort exchange benefit! It's a unique advantage and gives our guests so many options! At Sandals Montego Bay there is so much to do and see! We hope to see you "soon come back" so we can make your vacation experience even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

ROOM: We booked Waters Edge Concierge Room for 8-10 through 8-16. Our specific room was #115. It was a nice room, nice ocean view. No problems. We had kind of hoped we would get an upgrade, as the last 3 times we have stayed at a Sandals property we DID NOT get one, but this time was no different. No Upgrade, even though the resort was only 50% booked. Also, this was our 5th Sandals Vacation and part of the perks of being a Select member is at this point you get edible treats in your room. Nope. Didn't get anything. We asked for the Sangsters Rum Cream to be stocked in our room and the first night we didn't have any kind of rum cream. Period. 2nd nights we were given Baileys, which is fine, but we can get that at home. 3rd night we got an off brand of rum cream. Finally, we just went to gift shop and bought our own. Not sure why this was such a big deal, as this is plentiful in Jamaica. We put the "do not disturb" sign out each day and just asked for towels, etc. as needed, as we didn't want to to have to get up early for housekeeping. They came around approximately 9 a.m. or so, and this worked out well for us. Therefore we can't really comment on housekeeping. Our lady was very nice. :)

TOURS: We booked one trip for the week. It was the sunset cruise. We booked on Sunday for the Wed. night cruise. Were told we wouldn't know for sure if it was booked or not til Tues. afternoon because they needed x amount of people to book. In the past, the # of people never mattered, but okay. The only reason this was an issue is because if we don't know for sure if we are going or not, we can't book anything else either. In the end, the cruise went as planned, but I don't recommend it. We went to Margarittaville, docked for ONE HOUR then back to resort. While docked a guy in snorkeling gear swam up close to boat and tried to get our attention. My husband finally walked back to see what he wanted and the photographer on the boat yelled at him to get back to the main area of boat. This was uncalled for! He said "this area is closely monitored." My husband said he wasn't doing anything wrong, was just trying to get the guy to leave us alone. The guy was trying to sell us some bracelets. The photographer was very rude. Needless to say, this ruined the whole experience. Plus, there was a girl on there that apparently was practicing to become a stripper. She was lude, crewd, & nasty!! The girl was repulsive acting and noone said anything to her about it. She DID manage to get the photographers attention because he kept taking her picture while she was doing all of her crude actions.

FOOD: We only made Reservations for Tokyo Joe's. It was on our last night at the Resort. My dinner was very good, my husband's not so much. He ordered his stir fry with beef and it was tough and not very tasty. Most of our dinners were just at the Bayside buffet and all were good. Especially the breakfasts!!! That was the best food experience for us. We were introduced to Calaloo and it was awesome!! One night we attended the returning guest dinner and it was also very enjoyable. The night of the cruise we went to Cricketeer's for a quick burger and hubby ordered the calamari as well. He was up most of the night with food poisoning, I guess from the calamari because that is the only thing he ate that I didn't.

As far as the resort itself, it is beautiful. They were doing upgrades and repairs daily. The beach is awesome and the people who work there are great! We especially want to give a shout out to Dean and Lawrence from the bar. They were really nice and good to us while we were there. And Anna Marie from Concierge. She not only remembered our names, but our room # from day one. She came by to tell us goodbye. Also have to say, if you don't have a travel agent, book with TripGuy. Our agent was Mitch and we special requested Dr. Pepper for our stay because on past visits we were unable to get it anywhere in Jamaica and is something Sandals doesn't normally stock. He came through for us and it was waiting in our fridge everyday of our stay. Thanks Mitch!

All in all we had a good and relaxing vacation, but it seems like there have been alot of changes for Sandals, and some of the changes did not feel like it was in the best interest of the guests. In the past, the resort did all things requested and there was never a "we will have to wait and see" attitude. Now it seems like if you request something, it just depends on how convenient it is whether you will get it. Quite honestly, that is the attitude of pretty much all other resorts, so not sure if we will be returning anytime soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jobe239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We regret to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations on this most recent trip to Sandals Montego Bay. We certainly never want any of our guests to feel uncomfortable at any time and encourage that whiles on property to bring these issues to the attention of management so we can resolve them quickly.
As a returning guest, we know you are accustomed to receiving the highest quality of service from Sandals and if this was not provided, we sincerely apologize.
We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to showcase the best that Sandals really has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Sandals Montego Bay. The hardest part was leaving, and we can not wait to return. The service was spectacular! I would recommend making dinner reservations. The restaurants were amazing! We spent three nights with Josh at the Piano Bar: so much fun, small crowd, great entertainer! Be sure to check him out. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Enjoyed staying in the concierge suite, and checking out the small happy hour type events that they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,388 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
31.0 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing