We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Bravo" Sandals Montego Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Bravo" Sandals Montego Bay!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We vacationed at Sandals Montego Bay from 6/14/13-6/20/13. We had a ball! This was our fifth time at this Sandals; we feel like it's a home away from home. We always stay in the Water's Edge Suites (room 216 and Penthouse 315-318 are grrrreat!) The views of the Carribean are amazing, which makes for wonderful evenings on the balcony. The concierge level Almonds Block is the best! The food was super good at Bayside, especially breakfast and lunch. Sitting at the bar tables, just relaxing, is...well, ...RELAXING! The private beach is spacious; there are plenty of chairs. Snorkeling is mind-blowing! The water sparkles blue! We have been on several other vacations and Jamaica is certainly a laid back favorite. As for the planes that fly over...just look up from the beach and wave! We ordered several "dirty bananas" and enjoyed yet another trip.

Room Tip: The Almonds Block is convenient and the Water's Edge rooms offer wonderful views, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRay6730183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We're so thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. You enjoyed our beautiful property, well-appointed rooms and our high standard of luxury.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing experience in the near future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,371
    1,131
    412
    221
    147
See reviews for
173
3,974
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Okay so my wife and I just came from from Sandals Montego Bay, Jamaica. We stayed 06/26 - 06/30. We took an early flight from Charlotte and arrived at 9:30AM local time. When we arrived, we had a feeling our room wasn't ready but checked anyways (and it wasn't). So we hit the beach to have some R&R. The chairs are terribly uncomfortable on the beach, actually you will be in more pain after sitting in them. Finally we were allowed to check in at 3:30PM on Wednesday. Our room had a great view, however very much outdated. The most frustrating aspect was the cable was out the first two days, and on top of that they are working on a new alarm system for our building. They started working at 7am every morning with sawing and drilling (you can imagine how pissed I got). The service at the restaurants was sub-par, not what I have come to expect from Sandals (in fact, our server on Thursday night at Bayside was down right rude). Tokyo Joe's was awesome, it's recommended. What I don't like was the depiction from the pictures online compared to the reality at this location. Not to forget about the location to the airport, your building literally shakes from 7AM - 9PM all day from the flights...it's annoying. I have stayed at the Sandals in the Royal Bahamian in Bahamas and would much rather stay there then this location.....very disappointing Sandals Montego Bay.

Room Tip: If you really want to have peace of mind, pony up the cash and get a butler suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just returned from Sandals Montego Bay where we celebrated our anniversary. We were fortunate to have two excellent butlers, Renay was a wonder, setting up our reservations, accompanying us to various appointments and making sure that our cooler at the cabana was stocked with our favorites. She is amazing because she makes you feel like you are her only priority! Our room opened onto the beach, was beautifully appointed and cleaned daily by our friendly and gracious room attendant. The food was amazing, the water beautiful and the staff attentive and friendly. We plan to make the same trip every year for our anniversary.

Some people complain that the resort is too close to the airport. Well, it is directly across the street. However, you really don't notice the planes landing and taking off after the first couple. There are no arrivals before 8:00 am and no traffic after 8:00 pm.

We travel internationally several times each year and stay in $$$ hotels in Europe, Asia and So. America. We were actually a little surprised that Sandals Montego Bay is so nice because it is very affordable.

We paid for butler service, a private dinner on the pier, 100 professional photos, a Bay Routes tour (highly recommended) and numerous spa services. Everything was very high value for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room right next to the swim up bar and piano bar. When we entered our room we were ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith_Lancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from Sandals Montego bay and as usual all was excellent. We have visited many places in the Caribbean but there is something special about Sandals.

This was our third visit to Sandals MB & have also been to Whitehouse (again excellent). The staff our so friendly & always greet you with a smile. The food is very good & the lady cooking the eggs at breakfast remembers how you like your eggs. Rooms are nothing special but very clean and comfortable with outstanding views of the ocean.

At the return guests dinner the management team mingle with everyone which is a very nice gesture.

The pools although small are cool & adequate and the beach is lovely.

We also visited Carlye which is very small and has a very small public beach but it was fun watching the local children enjoying themselves. The Royal Caribbean is also very nice especially on the little island. We took a taxi to the Grand Riviera as will be staying there later in the year. This was amazing it is so big with so many pools & restaurants plus a lovely beach.

Use the local taxi cabs outside the hotel they are reasonable and can tell you everything about the island on you journey

My only niggle is that there is no free Wi-Fi and I think $15 per day is a bit excessive.

All in all Sandals is the place to go.

Room Tip: Palms block 3rd floor wonderful view of ocean, but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed at every Sandals in Jamaica. Montego Bay was average. We always stay in the concierge level rooms. The concierge at this resort was a waste of money. They didn't give the "personal" touch feeling as the others do. They weren't very helpful and basically non-existent. The food is excellent as always. They have great water sports and the water sports employees were exceptional. The rooms were average, dated and small. We paid extra for the "penthouse" which was no different than our friends traveling with us who paid much less, although the view from the balcony was incredible. The late night staff at the Cricketers were rude. We heard this from many people we talked to. They did not want you in there late at night even though it was the only place for food at that time. The resort is convenient and only a 5 minute drive which is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joeley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I just returned from Sandals in Montego Bay Jamaica. I have stayed at Sandals/Beaches resorts previously, and this Sandals was very good. Lots of activities, restaurant choices, and nightlife. This was a "girls trip", so different from most Sandals couples trips. We did upgrade to a butler suite, which I highly suggest, if you can afford it. Omar and Andrea were amazing! they would do anything for us. From running to the gift shop to pick up items, having our cooler on the beach each morning and chairs set up for us, to making all dinner reservations, they were just awesome!
I did find the food adequate, but not great. The beach cookout night was a bit disappointing, as not many choices in food. We did not have dinner at RC, but heard the Thai food there was very good from others traveling.
The playmakers at this resort are alot of fun, and many activities throughout the day, and evening hours. The cricketeers pub is open until 5am for dancing and pub food.

The dive shop at Montego Bay was NOT friendly. Diving is included in the price, as are all watersports. I was treated rudely by the staff there on several occasions, and heard other guests treated the same. I wanted to do a night dive, the last night there, and was told that although I had over the required 18 hours between diving and flying, that "Sandals has adopted their own policy since people drink here." I told them that I had not been drinking and wanted to dive that night, as was just told "NO" I do not believe this policy is in place, they just didnt want to go.There were some from dive shop that were very friendly, including Rodlin, Big D, and captain Winston.
That was the only bad thing I can say about Sandals MB. Most of the dive team that works the booking hut needs to be retrained as far as guest relations, but all the dive members on the boats were very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: choose a butler suite if you can afford this option....it truly is a benefit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sprough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 6 days here in our honeymoon. The staff was amazing by the end of our week we felt like part of the sandals family. Our room was excellent, very clean, hot water, great water pressure, and perfect location. We left personal belongings by poolside and beachside each day during dining with no problems. Our concierge Reyon made our trip outstanding with his hospitality and upbeat personality. All staff remembered who you where and what you liked. We are already planning our next visit back due to the outstanding service I would highly recommend you visit this resort. My favorite was every morning for breakfast at Bayside grill where Dionne would make you the best omelette and I wish I could remember her name but the sweetest young lady who would refill your drinks. I hope this review will help you make your decision on where to stay in Montego Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akmckinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.9 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing