We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Gorgeous!!!!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2004

We were just at Sandals Mo Bay from Feb.5-10 for our wedding. We had a group of 14 people with us and EVERYONE loved it there. The grounds are beautiful, the people are wonderful and the rooms in the Almond Block are amazing! Yes, the planes can be loud but we barely noticed them and if you don't like something, just ask to have it fixed and t will happen. The stray cats are adorible and they don't bother you unless you call them and everything was VERY clean. The men in the kayaks can be a little annoying but just tell them "no" and walk away. Actually if you talk to them sme, they are very interesting people. On the day of our wedding my husband gave one of them a piece of our wedding cake and he gave me a beautiful ankle bracelet. Our wedding was everthing that I imagined it would be- a couple of glithces, but what wedding doesn't have those? I will say that we did run into some problems with A FEW select people at the resort (our original wedding coordinator and some of the people on the concierge staff), but all in all it was an amazing trip for everyone involved. We were extremely sad to leave and we definetly plan on going back. To the people that write all of these horrible reviews I don't think we were at the same resort. If you are planning a wedding at Mo Bay just send me an e-mail and I will give you some pointers that you don't know about until it is all over, but they wil save you some money. IGNORE ALL OF THE BAD REVIEWS- they will just make you nervous for no reason at all!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,324
    1,124
    408
    221
    146
See reviews for
170
3,923
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 11, 2004

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon last December and experienced her camera being stolen out of her bag by a member of the bar staff. A police investigation proved this, but we've yet to get the hotel to compensate us. This has taken over three months, and now the hotel G.M. won't even return my calls. This happened on the third night we were there, and pretty much soured us on this hotel. We will NOT return to this hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 5, 2004

We stayed at Mo Bay Jan 22-28. Incredible! The weather was perfect and the resort was everything we had hoped for. We were upgraded to an incredible room right on the water... STEPS from the water! We are in our 30's and we were very impressed. The staff was friendly and it was not the fall down get drunk atmostphere that some make it to be. It turned into a very romantic trip. OK Corral and Toyko Joes were our favorite restaurants. Piano bar was a lot of fun although the party doesn' t really start until 11, which after a full day, is way to late for us old people! We only made it 1 night! We took the resort scuba course and went on a dive. What an experience. The airplane noise is not bad at all. Actually quite funny. Just wave and kiss your spouse!
We traveled to Negril for a day and over to SRC one evening and heard several planes at both places. The booze cruise was fun. Make sure you go down the slide at Margaritaville. We stopped at Rick's cafe in Negril. The view is amazing and jumping off the cliffs is a blast.
Overall, it was a great trip. We will go back! Please don't let bad reviews scare you. A trip is what you make of it. Anything that doesn't go just so just does not matter because you are on a beautiful beach with clear water and clear skies! No Problem, mon!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2004

Things we Liked: The buffets were good and very well presented. We had withdrawals from the jerk chicken after we left. Definetely loved the pool bar, the night shows, and the beach--lots of extra chairs. THe snorkeling trip (free) was the most amazing thing I have ever seen. The water was about 50 feet deep and you could see straight to the bottom.
Saw lots of fish and coral. The stray cats were not a problem, and we had fun feeding them scraps. Overall great all-inclusive destination

What We Did NOT like: We left the resort to go shopping downtown. I have been out in foreign countries but I have never been so terrified for my safety. People are yelling at you from across the street. We were warned not to take certain taxis and we were the only americans in sight. I don't know if all caribbean countries are so delapidated and crime ridden--But DO NOT leave your resort in jamaica

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 27, 2004

This is a great resort for those who want to do nothing more than lay out by the water, play in the pools, and drink, drink, drink! This is one resort that does not water down their alcohol!! We got so much rest and relaxation, and really felt we got our money's worth. The breakfast and lunches are all buffet style, which I was not a big fan of. And the dinners are okay, but the waiters are extremely rude and slow. Best restaurant: Tokyo Joes- You can make your own stir-fry. Very tasty!
Watch out for the guys who pull up to the beaches and gazebos to sell carved drift wood...they reek of pot. Also, the day & night activities are a lot of fun. Watch for the newlyweds game...that was hysterical!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 26, 2004

What can I say. I stayed at Sandals Montego Bay from January 16th to the 23rd and I could barely make myself leave. It was like living in paradise. The reviews on this page are scarey, but I honestly don't know what kind of people are writing bad things. I can't imagine the most spoiled person not finding the resort nothing but amazing. I will say that the planes were really loud and I never did really get used to them, but they do stop at night so I was never woken up by one until around 8 or 9AM. Trust me, the planes are nothing compared how amazing the resort looks and how serine life is there. Please email me with any questions. I really want everyone to understand that many of the reviews below are unfair. This was the best vacation of my life. My boyfriend and I never felt more in love or more alive. I can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 23, 2004

My wife and i were there Jan.11-15. We loved it as much as the first time we went. Instead of going on the "booze cruise" this time,we snorkeled with the Sandals resort crew then,took the shuttle bus to Sandals Inn. We walked to Jimmy Buffet's place to have lunch and returned on the shuttle bus. The Almonds Block was beatifully remoldeled. I only wish i had more time. The worst part of the trip was back at the airport in Houston. Whoever hires for the different Government agencies involved hires the rudest most dissrespectfull people in the U.S..Maybe they will realize that the taxpayers and air travelers pay their salaries! Luckily,the hospitality of the Jamaican people overshadowed the negatives of the trip. Dunn's River Falls washed our cares away. We can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
6,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
2,003 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.9 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing