We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday in a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great holiday in a great place”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We've just returned from 2 great weeks in Sandals montego bay. There is soooo much I could write but it appears most people have said it all. I'll sum it up as quick as I can and give you some hints and tips on who looks after you.We travelled for 10 hours from the Uk. tired when we got there, but welcomed with big smiles, made to feel at home straight away. Shown to our room, in Seagrapes block. Well equipped- great tv, ideal for after a tough day sunbathing and just wanting to relax for 30 mins. lots of channels for all nationalities. Shower- not bril, but ok, always produced hotwater, thats a bonus!
Food was great, both here, and at Royal carib, where we spent several nights sampling their restaurants. special mentions here for Corey on the bar, (always trying hard to impress with his new drinks- great energy), Dominic- new and learning fast. Andre in the Thai, fab service- great smile 6star service, also at the Thai, Lilley- fab welcome, very professional, made us feel wanted.
At the Montego bay- entertainment team were good fun- special mention for "the man" Keymar. great guy- big smiles, welcoming nature and really made the effort to look after guests, Never seered away from saying hello, even when hes busy- thats what hosting is all about. Andrew in the cricketers-hillarious! what a barman- ask fora rainbow! You wouldnt believe what it is- amazing- I taught him a deaparado too- he'll be offering that as part of his service by now!
Management- all seemed nice polite, and kept pretty much out of the way until called for, which is what we want.
Entertainment fab on the whole- 1 particular singer was one of the best we have ever seen, and should be there weekly, but she isnt unfortunately.
The foods- top notch. simple as that. If you stick to the Jerk hut every lunch you miss out on the buffet, try that occasionally, its wonderful. Tokyo joes restaurant= ok. Not such a choice here, but the theatre of watching your main course being made in front of you makes it. we found this the weakest of the restaurants- but still good. Cucina Romano Italian- good, and in a great setting again. Oleander- very nice, little stuffy and formal for us, but it was supposed to be. Our favourite though was the Bayside- no bookings, casual wear- relaxed, but efficient. Great ribs, Steak, Tilapia- the list goes on.
Just a quick line about the water sports guys- always trying to get you to upgrade your choice by paying for things like wet suits, scuba courses etc, but its there job, you can always say no, on the whole good bunch, use their facilities, it helps to make the holiday.
Island routes trips are owned by Sandals- we tried 1 excursion(go native) and didnt really enjoy it. We found it to be overpriced for what you got, it missed the whole idea of what we wanted and seemed like it was all about comission for the company.but Dalton the guide was great,so knowledgable and the driver was great too.
I could keep writing all night, but enough to say- Sandles isnt the cheapest- but once you have paid your money you are there. Its dearer for a reason, they do seem to go the extra mile.
Its worth your while to just try once- you may be hooked!
We have joined the Sandals club and will be returning- just maybe not or the excursions.

Room Tip: They are all good, it doesnt matter where you go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,371
    1,131
    412
    221
    147
See reviews for
173
3,974
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were able to get away to Sandals Montego Bay for an unexpected quick trip. It is so close to the airport that not a lot of time is wasted on a bus transfer - however as stated in many reviews you do hear and see the planes taking off. It didn't bother us but I could see that it would bother some. We arrived around 6.30 pm and we were greeted and bags tagged and told bus will be here in 20 minutes. Then we sat alone in the Sandals lounge and had a couple of Red Stripes. Then we were taken out to the bus and transferred to the hotel. There was nobody to greet us - and our driver went inside looking for someone and eventually got the gate attendant to call someone as he had to leave and go back to the airport. Eventually someone showed up and showed us to the concierge lounge to complete check in, - he got us a drink and told us we had been upgraded to a beach front room - how exciting. It was dark when we arrived and upon arrival to our room all we could see when we looked out was the restaurants, beach bar, pool tables and basketball court........... hmm, we thought - ok we will wait and see what the morning brings. This room was in the Palms building on the bottom floor and it was the very first room (turns out it was next to where the staff get their supplies - sheets etc) and very noisy. The room and bathroom turned out to be quite small but the bed was very comfortable. The shower was hot, the fridge cold. Turns out this is a concierge room but seeing as we did not book concierge they had removed all the alcohol and the robes from the room. This was our 7th trip to a Sandals resort - honestly, how hard would it have been to leave the robes and to supply a couple of beers a day!!! oh well, as I said we were across from the beach bar so had access to any drinks we wanted!!! It was just a short upexpected gettaway and we both decided we could not be bothered to try and change rooms. Turns out it was very handy for going for a walk along the beach first thing in the morning and finding out where we wanted to sit. It was very handy for using the washroom during the day instead of going to the public washrooms. It was always clean and well supplied. We even had a bottle of sparkling wine and an invitation for "breakfast in bed" for our birthdays. We did order it on one of the days and sat on our "beachfront" patio while most of the rest of the resort passed by and wished us a good morning on their way to breakfast!!! we found it all very funny!!! There was no sitting outside to have a quiet moment - there was always someone passing - didn't bother us but once again I could see how it could bother some. I was just surprised once again that seeing that this was our 7th trip to a Sandals resort that we had not been upgraded to a better room. We talked to many people during our stay and they had been upgraded to far better rooms after only one stay. One couple we talked to had even been upgraded to a villa!!!!
However, having said all that we had a wonderful time. The resort is absolutely lovely. The staff are all friendly and helpful. We ate at Oleander and Stewfish and a couple of times at the Bayside for dinner. We did remember that if you want to dine at one of the restaurants that has no reservations such as the Oleander that you need to go early to be able to get a seat. We arrived at 6 pm (it opened at 6) and by the time they had sat everyone before us we got the last seat available. Quite a few of the tables were reserved for Butler guests. We had Robert serve us and he was excellent. Very attentive and charming. We had a lovely relaxed meal. Food came in perfect timing - not too slow and not too fast. I was facing the entrance and noticed that pretty much everyone was turned away if they arrived after 7 pm. A few were told to return around 8 or 8.30. I did notice one couple come in and after they were told there was no room he got on his phone straight away. A few minutes later in comes a butler - she stood around looking to see what tables looked like they might be getting close to finishing and then she started helping clear - ours was one of those - but then the table next to us was done first so she cleared that, set it up and the couple sat down almost immediately. The butler service sort of bugs us - I say just sort of because as my husband says if we had paid for it we would want it too!! It is after all personal choice. We much preferred dinner at the Bayside - sitting outside - after all it is Jamaica and we like the casual atmosphere better.
We particularly like the bar service on the beach. The staff were around all the time. If we had got a drink whenever asked we would have not been able to walk off the beach!!! Latisha at the beach bar was particularly good and made the best drinks!! At night we would walk to the piano bar - only heard the piano on one occasion but the service was excellent there from Enjay (apologies for spelling). The beach and ground were so pleasant to walk around even at night.
Or flight home was in the evening and check out is 11.00 am. I woke up with a very sore and swollen throat the morning of our departure and felt horrible. We went to the front desk to see if we could get a late check out. We were told that unfortunately our room was booked but we were welcome to use the departure lounge. We checked it out and it looked fine - it is behind the resort store - cool, couple of showers, couple of sofas. Then when we walked back into the hotel we were approached by Shereka (manager in training) - who told us we could have the use of a room in the main building - guests were just checking out and they had to clean it and then we could use it for a few hours. This was such a lovely gesture - and made a big difference. I was able to rest for a couple of hours before the flight - still felt pretty ill but not half as bad as it could have been. Thanks so much Shereka!!!
We did visit the Royal Caribbean twice - once for lunch on the island and to see what it was like. They have a jerk chicken/jerk sausage buffet, bar, small swimming pool. Shuttle service was great and efficient. We went back another lunchtime to try out the buffet at the Regency which was absolutely delicious - a bit more varied than the lunch buffet at the SMB but we both decided we preferred SMB resort. The beach is far bigger and nicer and as I said earlier in this very lengthy review - we are beach people. We both decided we will definately go back to this resort again and had a great time!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank StoneyCreekCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day stay at Sandals Montego Bay. This was our first Sandals experience and we had a wonderful holiday.
Perhaps our expectations were too high, but we found the food to be good....not great. The setting for the restaurants, however, is spectacular. The view from Cucina Romana in particular is absolutely fabulous and compliments any meal. We also visited the French and Thai restaurants at the neighbouring property and enjoyed this very much. The "exchange" program is great!
The issue of the proximity to the airport is certainly twofold. While it is great to be so close after many hours of travelling, we did find the noise of the planes to be a distraction. While it did not ruin our vacation by any means, we could certainly have done without the frequent planes flying so low and directly overhead. Conversation would have to stop until the plane passed. This, for us, became more annoying as time went on.
The beach is beautiful, and if you are so inclined, there is endless opportunity for water sports included in the price. The entertainment could be better, and was a bit too loud for our taste. This, however was solved be staying at the far end of the beach where it was quieter during the day and avoiding the sundome (entertainment centre) in the evening. My husband in particular enjoyed Cricketers pub for its hearty pub food and drinks. Great atmosphere there as well!
The biggest negative for us was the unavailability of shade on the beach during the day. There are plenty of loungers available, but if you want one in the shade, you are out of luck unless you have your own butler or perhaps concierge who will reserve it for you. It was so disappointing to see shaded loungers reserved for people by their butlers or concierge(whether by signs or towels) who did not use them for hours on end , if at all, while others were not able to find a place in the shade at all. This needs to be addressed!
Overall, we had a wonderful holiday. Would we come back? Probably not. We would try somewhere new since there are so many places to see and visit. Ya mon!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank NLCollinsClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've been there from March 16th to 23th. We were returning guests.
All the staff is great !
My awards for this year are :the new manager, Mr. Philipp. We had the opportunity to talk to him at the returning guest dinner. He is very near his employees. He takes his lunch with some guests. He even talked to us in French at our departure and put our luggage himself in the shuttle bus to the airport :)))
Damar, the waiter at the beach. He would be something like a first round draft pick in sports. Natural potential. Very strong in PR; everyone at the beach highly appreciated him. He would be able to do other jobs in public relations like showing the resorts to new comers etc.
Anna-Kay at the concierge lounge. She took the time to go to the shopping store to meet my wife.
Junior at Stewfish restaurant. Young . Lot of talents.
Our very young maid.
Marc at Tokyo Jo's
Hartlon at the entertainment (a lot of change in the team, but not all of them have a natural smile).
Some improvement : new Flat screen large TVs; powerful A/C in our room (513); music not as loud as it was years before.
Best restaurant in Montego Bay Sandals: Stewfish (try the bouillabaise)
Very best restaurant : Le Jardinier (try the shrimps) at the Royal Caribbean.
Tips : if you go at the Stewfish, book at 18 h to be able to see the sunset (the same applies to Tokyo Jo's).
If you go to the Jardinier, try the shopping store at The Royal Caribbean; it's larger and better than the one at Montego Bay Sandals.
For the towels : take them after the late show for the next morning.
Want to clean your feet? Go to the Jacuzzi behind the Palm building (they have outside showers).
Get some small bills (5 $) to tip the shuttle airport driver and the staff at the airport.
The MOBAY lounge at the airport worth it!

Very small Improvement to do : wider variety of cheese at the Buffet.
Scoop : a new Café de Paris will be built next May.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeauDommage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from another two week holiday in paradise. How the resort manages to maintain this level of service year after year is truly amazing. The food is outstanding, the bars are beyond belief, the gardens and beach are kept spotless, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are unbelievably friendly.The waiters and bar staff work so hard and are always smiling, polite and are never too busy to help.

Special thanks in alphabetical order to:
Andrew (Cricketers)
Beecher
Dalton
Delroy (Beverages)
Everton (have a great birthday party)
Keylon (The lime man)
Latisha (Blondie)
Robert
Shannay-Nay
Shinton
Termi

It is these and the other members of staff from maids to Mr M, Dawn, Phillipe and Mr Zelner that are the main reason we return each year.

Room Tip: Palms is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sti300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Best vacation!!!!! Let me start by saying that i read a lot of reviews to try and decide which Sandals to take my fiancé to for his first sandals experience. I had been to beaches in Negril myself for a wedding 10 yrs ago and loved it there. I'm happy to say we made the right decision selecting Montego Bay. We traveled the 3rd week of Mach 2013. It never rained but was very windy in the afternoon, so get an early start with any water sports. Theres plenty of included water activities.The staff is top notch. Our very first day we connected with a young gal named Kadian in the bayside cafe for lunch. She was so sweet and always went out of her way to take care of us. The food was awesome.oh a helpful hint...make sure you make your reservations the first night you get there or they could get booked up. We didn't care for the oleanders it took us 2 hours to finish. The staff didn't seem to happy to be there that night. Our favorite was the French restaurant at the royal Caribbean oh and the tai food there was good too and Andre was an excellent server. If you could tip,he would of been given a big one. Excursions ... We went on the reggae cruise if you want a little party time it's good I cold of passed. The age group is 30's 40's and 50's A great mix. The only negative thing I could say about the resort is the availability of chairs at the pool and on the beach. Even if you get up early to reserve a chair, its still not a guarantee that you will get them.There are 2 pools and they are not that big. The beach is nice, if your looking for the best beach Negril hands down. The best thing about the travel was the staff. They were always very friendly and courteous. We loved how there was always something to entertain us. Daily activities as well as nightly entertainment.
Another helpful hint in regards to the rooms. We stayed in the Sea Grapes building on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view. When you upgrade pay attention to the level floors that's what your paying extra for is no obstruction. The best building in my opinion is the Palms. It's located right on the beach and centrally located to everything. The first floor you literally can walk right to the sand on the beach. The waterfront edge is also located close to the restaurants and main lobby.
We loved Sandals and will be returning but probably to the Ocho Rios resort just to try another Sandals or St Lucia. FYI the planes are loud but you get use to it and it makes up for the short 10 min ride from the airport. When we checked out we paid extra for the mobay express checkout worth every penny.

Room Tip: Palms rooms are beach front location and have room service with included wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blujessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I just returned from seven days at Sandals Montego Bay. This was our first Sandals experience. The staff was outstanding; they treated us like family. Hartley, Kemar, Shanay-nay and the other staff members called us by name and made sure we were comfortable and having a great time. All of the staff members were warm and friendly; we hated to leave. The food was good, and we never had trouble making reservations for dinner. We enjoyed the option of being able to go to the other two Sandals properties. The Royal Thai at the Royal Caribbean is on a romantic island..it is a must. Do not pay for a taxi to go downtown. Take the free shuttle to Sandals Carlyle, and walk down the street two blocks. My husband and I found this out after spending $52.00 to go downtown and to see a hotel in the hills. We are looking forward to going back next year.

Sandals Montego Bay is home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 518-DivaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.9 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing