We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and reasonable rates” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ridgeway Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ridgeway Guest House
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and reasonable rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

The owner is friendly and goes out of his way to accomodate guests. We(four adults)stayed for four nights in January 2012. Colin picked us up at the airport, answered many of our questions that we had about the area, explained how to use the local transportation and took us to the local bus station(a main hub to catch buses going to and from tourist destinations around the island). Since our expectations are not based on a 5 star resort scale, we were completely satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrilla1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
22
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

i went to montego bay to do business, the guest house i normally stay was book solid because of the jazz and blue concert, every were i call was full when i call Mr Collin at Ridgeway Guet house he told me he has one room left i was so glad when i get there he was on the out side waiting for me he help me to my room he was so warm and friendly he took me to get some thing to eat because i was tired of driving he make sure i was comfortable he alway check to see if am ok. Ridgewaw Guest house is my new spot for staying when every time am in montego bay

Room Tip: i stay in a room were it has a nother room with two small bed in it good for family with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed last week for one night with Colin at the Ridgeway Guest House. As others have said, it's clean, simple, low cost, and directly across from the airport. I can think of two things to add to the comments I've seen. First is that if you get in late at night or have an early morning departure, this is a perfect spot. You'll save a bucket of money over another night at your resort or higher end location that you wouldn't fully have enjoyed anyway because of the late night arrival or very early departure. The second thing though is that Colin will hook you up with the car rental business that is based on his property. It wasn't a big name like Hertz, but they were honest and the car worked fine, and the price was $100/week less than what the big named car rentals were telling us. All told, I'd say Collin and Ridgeway saved us about $200, which bought a lot of jerk chicken and rum drinks for the week. Thanks Calin and Ridgeway!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dsheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Not a bad option if you are on a budget. It is just round the corner from the airport. Colin will pick you up from the airport when you arrive. He understands that a bit of effort with the little things like that goes a long way with guests. He gave me a ride to the supermarket when he went and took me back to the airport when I left, which certainly was appreciated.

The room I stayed in was rather basic and so I'd say it would make a good base for people who want to explore the country by car rather than hanging around within the accommodation. Next to the guest house is a car hire company.

The room I stayed in had some cooking facilities, ensute shower and WC and a small TV with some cable channels. AC was available. It was clean enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HennersCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

I've stayed there with my boyfriend one night at our arrival in Jamaica. Colin, the owner, is very friendly and came to pick us up at the airport. The rooms was spacious and have all the commodities we needed to spend a very good night. I would definitely book again everytime i need a hotel in Montego Bay. Thanks Colin!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onelovejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

After reading the nice reviews on this property, my boyfriend and I decided to stay there for the first half of our trip (Aug. 24 - 27). The owner, Colin, was very kind and picked us up from the Sangster Airport. The hotel is very close to the airport (a 10 -15 min drive). Colin is very friendly, helpful and provided top service. I stayed in room #11. The room was clean, had a kitchen and a connecting room with two twin beds. The main room had A/C while the connecting room had a ceiling fan. My only compliant about the room is the queen bed mattress needs to be updated. Other than that, It was fine. The shower had hot water and good pressure. The Ridgeway is next to The University of West Indies which has a small cafe. Delicious food and very inexpensive. My boyfriend and I ate there almost every day for lunch. It is very easy to catch a taxi from the property. The area is safe.

The Guest House is a great spot for couples or families. It's quiet and relaxing. If you are single and looking to get your party on...this is NOT the place for you. We had a lovely time. I really liked the personal service that Colin provided. He even dropped us off at the airport. Thank you, Colin!

Ursula Woods

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbuffursi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Guest house. The rooms are clean and spacious. Colin the owner makes you feel very welcome. The Ridgeway allows you to appreciate the real Jamaica and not be trapped at an all inclusive hotel. Colin, I am looking forward to returning to your Guest House. Please can you consider including a sports channel such as Fox sports to your cable programmes. Many Thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoolRunnings2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 37 in Montego Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mynt Retreat
Mynt Retreat
#3 of 37 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Verney's Tropical Resort
Verney's Tropical Resort
#44 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeway Guest House

Property: Ridgeway Guest House
Address: 34 Queens Dr | W.I., Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ridgeway Guest House Hotel Montego Bay
Ridgeway Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing