We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Inn”
Review of Richmond Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richmond Hill Inn
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the Inn”
Reviewed April 30, 2006

I have just returned from attending a wedding at Richmond Hill Inn, Montego Bay. The state of property in some cases understandably reflects its age - approx. 200 years- but any concerns in that regard are more than compensated for by the outstanding service offered by the staff (particularly Miss Gracie, Carmen, Joan, Colin, Sammy and other housekeeping staff), who were not only efficient, by also very gracious in their efficiency, and did all they could to ensure that our stay was pleasant. As to the location, the breathtakingly beautiful panoramic views of the bay, from any vantage point are worth the trip. We stayed in the penthouse suite and the view at night over the bay resembled a million jewels waiting to be strung into one beautiful necklace. Needless to say, I hope to return one day in the not-too-distant future. Thanks to all the good folks at Richmond Hill Inn for a very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leonora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
29
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

we stayed in the penthouse which was fantastic. There is a fabulous terrace with comfortable furniture. There are 3 connecting bedrooms, one of which is really a very large studio with a sitting area and full kitchen. This set of rooms was $250 and would sleep 10. The view and swimming pool were wonderful. We spent our first night here before going on to Negril and it was a wonderful welcome to Jamaica.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 26, 2006

I accidentally visited the Richmond Hill a few weeks ago. I shan't get into too much detail, but I work for a certain cruiseline and ended up hanging out at the pool bar. As expected, there was a wedding in progress, but it wasn't annoying, ie; drunken fools running amok, etc.

I've been reading the prior reviews of this place, and I suspect they've been written exclusively by low-budget American tourists who haven't been outside the confines of the Lower 48 before..

The Inn is LOVELY, and the aforementioned 'weird' owner is quite gracious and charming. If you check their website, (just Google it for God's sake -- I'm not posting a hyperlink) a double room is $90 (US) off-season and $115 during the winter. From what I experienced there, I'd be glad to pay it. Even in the middle of the day it's idyllic up on the hill -- the breeze, the pool, the RED STRIPES, etc.. Yes, it's slightly funky, but so is the rest of the island. If you're gonna go to Jamaica, don't expect to be pampered -- just be cool and everything'll be fine (hopefully)..

Montego Bay is an absolutely gorgeous place, but it's corrupt beyond belief. It doesn't have one of those "hide the women and children" vibes, but it's pretty intense. Yes.., everybody's hustling, but on the other hand everybody's pretty much starving. Extreme poverty is always around the next corner..

Regardless of whether or not you stay within the loosely defined tourist areas, you WILL be panhandled, offered every drug imaginable, and given grief for "not supporting the locals" if you don't care to purchase overpriced trinkets. However, I have never felt threatened in Montego Bay and I wouldn't consider this a problem -- just a fact of life.

If you stay at the Inn (which I intend to do SOON), hook up with a licensed Juta Tours cab driver. Don't mess around with the shady cats in the white Toyotas, as you'll end up negotiating (read: paying whatever they ask so you can exit the vehicle with all limbs intact).

Be smart and enjoy.., Mo Bay rules!

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2005

I stayed at Richmond Hill Inn on October 15th-19th, 2005. This property is small and is in much need of repair. The room furnshings are outdated and the drainage from the bathtub was very slow. One would appreciate this property for dinner overlooking the city, mountains and or Caribbean Sea. If and when I do travel back to Montego Bay, I will stay at another all inclusive property most likely in Negril.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2005

What can I possibly say about Richmond Hill Inn that will completely describe what I felt staying at this hotel. There is a such thing as loving a property but feeling or at peace with a hotel is nothing short of a miracle. The hotel is very small and intimate so you don't feel like a tourist, but a travellor. If you are willing to go off the beaten path this is the hotel to be at. The staff was amazing, by the end of the first day you will be on first name basis with everyone there including the chef, and the guy that cleans out the fish tank. Richmond Hill Inn is so full of art and history you will find something new to look at or find out an interesting piece of history. You can walk around the grounds and feel like this is your own private house on the island. You can stand anywhere on the premises and see the caribbean sea, the famous mountains of Jamaica, sugar fields, and the city. The food was amazing because it is so simple. The chef does not try to impress you overly decorated plates, the food speaks for itself.

The staff was so accommodating. They make it feel like it is your home.

By the way the pool is gorgeous, and it seems that everything is open air

You will love this hotel please please please go.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2005

Richmond Hill inn is at the top of a high mountain (hill) with a spectacular view of MO_BAY. It haspne of the prettiest restaurant locations with a top quality menu that you will find anywhere in MO-BAY. The restaurant has an adjacent swimming pool and guest area which also overlooks MO-BAY. The owners have been inthe food and hospitality business and owned this facility for many years. We (a family) have been delighted in dining there for years (30+). We have met the owners but have no formal friendship with them. This facility has a not to be missed dining experience. The condition of the actual guest bedrooms of the inn are beginning to become strained and tired. Areas of the grounds could use some improvement also. The overall experience is not to be missed, especially dining at night while experiencing overlooking MO-BAY. I will always dine there once or twice when in the area. They cater to weddings sometimes at night so plan sufficiently ahead with a reservation. ENJOY...

Stayed January 2004
Helpful?
2 Thank imaginehd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2005

Stayed 2 nights 3 days with my mother and 2 sisters in Feb 27- March 1st 2003. The place has an incredible view - really mesmorizing with cruise ships passing by and all. You could tell it was quite the place 30 years ago before the all inclusive mamoths invaded. It still could be excellent if not for the owner - a very STRANGE woman. She is from origionally from Europe but married the past owner who then passed away. She was rather rude to us... wierd. She was of Jehovah Witness belief and made a point to let you know over and over! She did not seem well (in her 60's?) when we were there and I wonder if she is still around. They messed up our reservation and we were so hot and parched and she was not nice about the whole thing. Winston was our waiter and all around helper. He was fantastic! He arranged anything we needed. The Lobster and pumpkin soup were very good by any means. I wish someone would buy this place and put some love and care into it because it really could be magical.

  • Stayed March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diannepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 63 in Montego Bay
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 43 in Montego Bay
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Inn

Property: Richmond Hill Inn
Address: Union St, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing