We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suites with Kitchenette in Fab Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Greco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Greco Resort
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Portland, OR USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Suites with Kitchenette in Fab Location”
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Each room is a 2 room suite + kitchenette and balcony. The staff were very friendly. The hotel is located on a ridge above hip strip. It is easily accessible via a short walk and elevator ride.

attached are some photos from the walkway linking the hotel to the elevator in the adjoining condo.

There are security personnel 24X7.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PDX_get_out_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    203
    125
    49
    31
See reviews for
103
160
56
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

We stayed here on a B&B basis - the room and breakfast were excellent, but the best thing was that it is a short elevator ride to the hip strip but high enough up the cliff to be away from the noise & general hubub. You also get a free pass to Doctor's Cave beach which you absolutely must see -even if you hate beaches.
The staff are helpful without being over friendly.
It is definitely more of a hotel than resort though - we didn't try the restaurant because it was always empty (we were only here for two nights in February though).
It is very close to the air-port but you don't get aeroplane noise.
The view from the bridge over the road is superb.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna-Gambetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

If you are looking for a well painted, no wear and tear room, this isn't it. If you are looking for a spacious room, not too expensive place (though not too cheap also), very good room service, good Jamaican breakfast (included), near to the Hip Strip - then this is the place. Their staff are very friendly and the place is very nice. The security at each building is always there and makes things safer. We liked it and would easily recommend it to anyone going to MoBay.

The elevator ride to the Hip Strip isn't a big deal at all since it's 24 hours available.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and good room service
  • Disliked — Outdated room paint, wear and tear in bathroom tiles and overall room wear and tear.
  • Tips/Secrets — When in Jamaica, get out and see the country, not just the beach. Don't get intimidated by the people, they are friendly. Jamaica is safe.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank millets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASHINGTON
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

36 Y/O WM with wife,no kids...vacation/1st time in JA...3 nights at El Greco, not all-inclusive. Stayed early NOV 2006

decaying splendor...might have been the place, 30 years ago

GOOD PARTS:
*kitchenette w/ fridge & stove & utensils
*proximity to beach & strip( TALL ELEVATOR,RIGHT TO DRS CAVE) w/ free daily passes to Doctor's Cave beach
*excellent bacon & JA brkfst
*nice waiters and bellman & taxi stand man(Mr. Legend)
*nice pool w/ ocean view, all to ourselves b/c of off season
*grocery store in adjacent building where the elevator is with a very friendly staff

BAD PARTS:
*had to move rooms..we were placed above a staff side kitchen (?) and workshop so we had lots of noise and smell and no privacy on the balcony.
*very protective of their frying pans & pots.
*A/C only in bedrooms
*no ocean view rooms, regardless of what you read-views are only from restaurant & pool
*front desk reception was lukewarm at best
*tiny ants by the score streming out of power outlet

Doctor's Cave Hotel was a little better..See my other reviews and contact me with any questions

  • Liked — proximity to Dr's Cave beach
  • Disliked — mislead to "ocean-view"
  • Tips/Secrets — stay at coyaba or dr's cave
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank MOMMYDONNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

Lake Norman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

My husband and I were at the El Greco from August 19-August 22, 2006. This hotel is only a few minutes from the airport. Although we had to wait a few minutes until our room was ready, we were served delicious rum punch - never a wrong idea.
We were in a large 1-bedroom suite. Always very clean. Some reviews we read earlier complained about poor quality of towels, but just remember, this is not a 5-star hotel. Our towels were changed daily and always clean - what more do you want. We had a garden view of flowering shrubs, trees and a beautiful blue sky. The one restaurant and bar was just fine. Breakfast is included in room price, so no problems there. The view from the restaurant onto the beach area is beautiful. To get to the beach, we did have to go down an elevator, but we never had to wait more than a few minutes. Then we simply crossed the street to get to Doctor's Cave Beach. El Greco furnishes day passes. Here, you can rent chairs, umbrellas, etc. There are a couple of restaurants/bars right on the beach. Check out the Groovy Grouper and Docks. Docks would even bring iced buckets of Red Strip to our chairs. Our bellman, Sebascon, was great. Be sure to see him if you have any questions about Montego Bay. The best restaurant in Montego Bay is undoubtedly the Pork Pit. We had jerk pork, jerk chicken and ribs. For the money and the very short distance from the airport, the El Greco is a great value for your dollar.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
15 Thank Sunny DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

The two bedroom suite is a two story townhouse complete with two bedrooms, two baths upstairs and livingroom, kitchen, dining area, balcony downstairs. We saw some tiny ants on the stairs near the door, that was it. Very secure... 24 hour guards everywhere... sitting between the condos, on the walkways. Rooms were clean, with plenty of towels. The airconditioner worked. You have to put a $68 hold to get the TV and airconditioner remotes.

Management and staff were polite and efficient.

The beach is down the hill and across the street requiring that you walk thru a enclosed bridge/hallway to another hotel, take an elevator down 15 floors, and cross the street to a private beach. (Doc's beach) It's a 5 minute walk. Guards are in the bridge and at the elevator.

The free breakfast is American or Jamaican... no mixing and matching. Breakfast is served in a veranda type room over looking the sea...nice view.

Yes, the locals will approach you to "sell" services or souveniers but just say "no thanks" and they'll leave you alone. As you leave restaurants or bars, you'll walk thru about 4 or 5 taxi cab drives who'll call to you... not a big deal. It's impossible to shop alone in the souvenier shops because the owners will follow you about calling out the prices of everything you lay your eyes on... this can be a bit annoying.

Dont' miss out on Dunn's fall (Ocho Rios). The fall has an entire infrastructure of changing rooms, cafes', shops, guides, railings and stairs around it that don't show in the pics online. The first half of "climbing" the falls consists of wading waste deep and climbing over rocks. If you wish to continue up the falls, people will reach out their hands to help you. At any point, you can exit out of the river thru railings on the sides.

Loved the Great House tour also.

Jamaica was humid as heck during Aug/Sept. The airport was a little chaotic (for departures).

Had taxi cab driver for three days... we paid about $250 for three days of driving (hundreds of miles).

Overall... a great experience.

  • Liked — Large townhouse
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Traveling_Lady_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

I don't ask for much but I hate lies. El Greco Resort is NOT a Resort! They tell you they are one block away from the beach, which is true, but what they don't tell you is that they are 14 stories up! Yes, you have to take an elevator that belongs to another building to go down to the beach. Then they open the beach at 8:30 and close it at 5pm, which is terrible when you are on vacation and you are told how long to stay at the beach as if you were 5 years old. This was my biggest problem. Then comes the rest: the rooms are outdated, you only have a very loud AC in the bedroom and nothing on the other side, if they give you a room facing the street it is really loud. The place is clean but could be better. The towels are like 20 years old and the bathroom, well, what can I tell you!
If you go in the rainy season, the entrance to the resort is completely flooded and it gets knee high, which is not good for your car.
The restaurant is horrible and the food so-so. Better to eat some place else.
The view, very good, but only from the restaurant.
Don't go to this place. Simple as that.

  • Liked — nothing positive.
  • Disliked — the water in the front entrance, the elevator, the tag in my wrist that told everybody I was a turist!
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Checha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 61 in Montego Bay
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 61 in Montego Bay
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#36 of 61 in Montego Bay
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 61 in Montego Bay
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montego Bay Club Resort
Montego Bay Club Resort
#33 of 61 in Montego Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco Resort

Property: El Greco Resort
Address: 11 Queens Dr, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Greco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Greco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Hotel Montego Bay
El Greco Montego Bay
Montego Bay El Greco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing