We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel,”
Review of El Greco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Greco Resort
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed August 8, 2012

El Greco is located right by the hip strip and the famous Doctor's Cave Beach and Margaritaville. The staff checked us in quickly, and attended to all our needs speedily. Jermaine went out of his way to make sure had a good trip and Solomon our driver was great. I will definitely stay here next time I come to Jamaica.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaniqueP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 528 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

I came as a single traveller in June, not the busiest tourist month. Recommended by an acquaintance. The hotel is a convenient short distance from the airport. It is comprised of a series of 3-storey buildings in lush tropical gardens that are well-kept by an industrious staff. Check-in was easy and informative. The suite was large and quite comfortable. The kitchen was not equipped with cooking utensils, but these were avaiable at the office if needed. All staff I encountered were friendly and courteous. The small canteen on-site was available for delicious patties (but not on Sundays!) as well as Red Stripe at the cheapest price I paid anywhere!
The hotel is conveniently located on a steep hill just above the Hip Strip. As I have orthopaedic challenges, it was great that one could walk out of the hotel restaurant and along a short corrridor to then take an elevator to the shops and restos of the strip. In that sense, I thought the location perfect - away from some of the noise, but very accessible to the "action".

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VancouverAmazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We needed a hotel for one night before we made our way to Negril the following morning. Flight arrived from the US around 7:30pm and we cleared customs in 30 minutes and then jumped into a taxi for the 5 minute drive to the hotel (cost $20 including tip). Check in is very easy and the hotel is quiet. Room was good, not fancy but certainly fine for the evening. Easy to descend to the street below for restaurants and nightlife. Appeared to be much quieter at El Greco than some of the hotels on the Strip. Saw a couple of those hotels and I am glad we chose El Greco. Breakfast (included with the price of the room) on the patio was very good and the views were terrific. Overall a very nice place for a stay in conjunction with needing to get to the airport. Not fancy, but nice people working there and the property has a nice feel to it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camelback50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located minutes from the airport and a hop skip and jump from the famous "Hip Strip" in Mobay. It also boasts complimentary access to Doctor's Cave Beach, a nice place to hang out and relax and a great place to take some nice pictures. The buildings that make up this hotel and the property itself look nicer in life than they do in the pictures on the website, so we were pleasantly surprised. The amenities are average, but clean and comfortable. Bedroom pillows could use updating/upgrading.

My one hang up was that there are no electrical outlets in the bathroom or by the mirrored vanity, which makes blow drying or styling your hair inconvenient. The breakfast, which is included with your stay, is hearty and comes with a choice of traditional Jamaican breakfast or continental breakfast. Hotel staff are courteous and friendly.

This hotel offers one and two bedroom suites which makes it ideal for families with children, multiple couples or groups of friends. If traveling with children, you may wish to request a lower floor since the buildings are walk ups and do not have elevators.

Overall, this hotel provides good value for money and a great location for those who wish to travel on a budget or who wish to travel around while on the island, staying a few days in various locations and/or who don't mind preparing a meal or two or light snack while away on vacation. If planning on preparing your own light meals, invest in some disposable plates, cups and cutlery. The kitchen is equipped with a microwave and there are two small grocery stories on site. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liber8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The resort is old and could use updating But It is a great Value . The two bedroom suit was huge . The room was clean. The check in and out process was very fast. They staff were very helpful . And Margaritaville is like a five minute walk . Beach about the same.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 14dec27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The basic accomodation and location is good, and the service friendly. There are no frills, but the view from the restaurant terrace is great. The compound was somewhat sleepy and quiet during my visit and I felt safe. While the level of maintence of the room was acceptable, the grounds need a little more work. There was easy access to the famous Doctors Cave Beach and to a tourist strip with the usual bars, restaurants and souvenir shops. Internet was free, but I could only access it from my porch.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank RAJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

On the hill above Doctors Cave Beach. Free entrance to Docotors Cave beach included. We had a one bedroom. Double bed with bad pillows. Living room area not air conditioned. Nice balcony off living room. Full kitchen with pots, pans and dishes available. Elevator down to street level and just across the street from a fabulous beach. Market available plus lots of good restaurants in short walking distance. Great place near near airport and easy walk to hip strip. I definitely recommend El Greco if you are looking for something convenient in moderate budget. Super hospitable staff and good free breakfast with wonderful views.

Room Tip: Air condition in bedroom only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savvywomentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#40 of 63 in Montego Bay
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#30 of 63 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco Resort

Address: 11 Queens Drive, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $92 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Greco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your El Greco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Hotel Montego Bay
El Greco Montego Bay
Montego Bay El Greco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing