We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”
Review of El Greco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Greco Resort
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Statesboro, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice El Greco was. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, the rooms were clean and safe, breakfast (free) was excellent, and the location was perfect. Jermaine at the front desk (and every other employee, for that matter) bent over backwards to make us feel comfortable. If I ever go back to Jamaica, I will definitely stay there again instead of paying ridiculously too much for an all inclusive resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawna31558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    206
    129
    51
    32
See reviews for
104
163
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Had an overnight stay here. Very easy check in with friendly staff always ready to help. Room was very clean and free internet is great. You are treated to a wonderful views of the beach from the Sea View Restaurant. Short walk to Doctor's Cave Beach which is a private stretch of patrolled beach. Entry is free for el Greco guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calypso501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This would be a great place to stay for a week! We only stayed for a few days so we didn't really make use of all the extras this place provides - like a full kitchen, fridge and stove, living room area. The location was perfect and it was only a quick five minute walk to the Doctors Cave Beach and to the famous Hip Strip, where there are all kinds of restaurants, bars and shops. We enjoyed several restaurants and we also enjoyed the exciting night life on the strip while we were there. A FREE breakfast was served every morning at the resort and it was delicious! Also, another bonus is that you are given FREE passes to the beach - and beach/pool towels are always available! The staff were extremely friendly and extremely helpful and always very professional. The rooms and the entire resort was very clean and the resort felt very safe and secure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKAT2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This hotel has a great location with easy access to "the strip" where you'll find bars and restaurants and shops; free passes to the lovely Doctor's Cave Beach, delicious free breakfast (Jamaican or American styles); big suite rooms with a stove and oven, a small fridge plus a TV and a balcony.
This would be a nice place to stay for a while but we only stayed here one night- the last night of our time in Montego Bay. We have family members who love the place and stay there often.

And here's the thing: we had a horrible night's sleep. The pillows were like -rocks- and we had to use blankets stuffed in the cases. I suppose we could have called Front Desk for new pillows but it was late when we got in and didn't think about it.

Overall, it's a really nice hotel- secure and clean with easy access to all the fun in Montego Bay.

Room Tip: D-Block is one of the blocks away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanJamHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were so happy to have found this Resort. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. It had everything we needed. Wonderful FREE breakfast everyday. The pool was very nice. It fit our needs perfectly. We stayed there with our 15 year old daughter so it was nice to have the kitchen for simple needs like our own coffee and snacks in the fridge. The staff was great, always asking if we were having a good time and if we had what we needed. Abagial (front desk gal) was just super, very kind!!! Thank you El Greco for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The location, service, rooms and ammentities are excellent at El Greco. Quick access to the Hip Strip provides guests with the ability to walk to local restaurants, Doctors Cave Beach, shops, bar and clubs. The service at El Greco is great! The people in the main office were always friendly, helpful and efficient. Whenever we had an issue, such as the cable being out in our room, a quick call the the front desk had somone over within minutes to fix the problem. Also, the staff in the restaurant for the morning breakfast was always friendly and helpful. We loved our one bedroom suite. Although basic, it was spacious and had a nice balcony. We used the kitchen, especially the full sized fridge, alot. One thing to note is that the room does not have a clothes iron or pots and pans in it, but if requested at time of check in they will be sent over right away for the duration of the stay. The included breakfast and passes to Doctors Cave Beach (including beach towels) greatly add to the value of the hotel. Both the Jamaican and American breakfasts were delicious and generous as they include juice, coffee or tea, and fruit along with the main meal. With the Doctor's Cave Beach passes included it is a quick 5 minute walk across the street to great snorkeling, beach side restaurants and a nice sandy beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy_YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel needs to buck up a bit. We were put as far away from the main area as possible. No pots, no pictures on the wall, TV worked sometimes, wireless not strong. Didn't feel secure. Close to airport and Doctors Cove Beach. Two spoons. Not even free coffee which is usually the minimum. One soap only. Why do I have to give you a deposit? You have my visa number. Could be painted. Small bathroom. Stayed two nights. Not too far from Jimmy Buffet's place. Restaurant sketchy.

Room Tip: C Block is far away from the office, across a big parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#37 of 63 in Montego Bay
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco Resort

Property: El Greco Resort
Address: 11 Queens Drive, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Greco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your El Greco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Hotel Montego Bay
El Greco Montego Bay
Montego Bay El Greco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing