We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Jerk!”

Jerky's Bar & Grill
Ranked #30 of 130 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Jerk!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stopped here on the suggestion of my taxi driver while on the way to Montego Airport from Negril. He said they had really good jerk chicken and he was absolutely right.
You order your food at the register and pay and then pick it up to the right of the register where all the food is called out and placed. There are other things besides chicken, including pork, goat and some Jamaican sides such as festival. They also have beer and alcoholic drinks for purchase.
I was extremely pleased with the chicken, which was tender and moist and some of the most authentic that I've had on the island. You can also put jerk sauce on it to your liking - I like a lot of sauce, so it was a plus for me to be able to put on as much as I liked.
If you have time to kill on the way to the airport or if you want to eat there, there is a sitting area to enjoy your food.

One thing to keep in mind, if you pay with U.S. currency, you will get back Jamaican currency if there is change left from your order.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

If you are ever in Montego Bay Jamaica, make sure you visit this place!! Great food is very tasty. It is a good taste of real Jerked food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VJHaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Real Jerk, No Frills!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I would never know what real jerk tasted like had it not been for this place. I would have left Jamaica with the taste of resort version jerk.
It's a no frills kind of place but they do their food right!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pixstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solelissa, Manager at Jerky's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Jerky's Bar & Grill express sincere gratitude to our first time customer and feel pleased that we were able to satisfy your expectation. We look forward to seeing you again when next you visit Jamaica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flint,michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“exploring”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

kind of crowded , make sure your order was placed if you do not get it about 5 minutes. they do not seem to have an order for preparing orders, but the food is very , the price is very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sushinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Jerk Chicken!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The best jerk chicken in Montego Bay! When I'm in town and feel for jerk chicken, this is the place to go because I know I'll never be disappointed. Enough said!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Number222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerky's Bar & Grill also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jerky's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing