We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Port Loring, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“New Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

New Years
My wife & I have just returned from a fabulous vacation at Sandals Royal Caribbean.
We were fortunate enough to experience the New Years Eve Gala. It is one of the most memorable New Years Eve we have spent.
We can not say enough about the staff & wish to thank the following for making this vacation exceptional. Lou Grant (GM), Rick Burrows (HM), Leighton Joesph (GSM), Andrene (housekeeping),Michael (omelette chef), Aka ( beach bar), Vera (pool bar), Albert (piano bar), Devon (Regency Rest.) & Tomeka (Soon Come Back).
Thanks again John & Karen

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatcat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,400
    1,037
    345
    190
    133
See reviews for
162
4,045
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodrich, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Our honeymoon could not have been better at Sandals Royal Caribbean. The staff, resort and activities were great! The food was second to none as well. I would highly recommend this resort. We will be going back to Sandals for sure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stskopek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glens Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

not a single complaint ... i researched all of the sandals resorts b/c i heard so many good things about them and settled on jamaica and then on royal caribbean ... no regrets and i highly recommend them - we got married on the resort and everything from the couples massage in the morning to the candlelight dinner was PERFECT :) i promised myself i'd give the brides some input so here it goes ... don't hesitate to get your hair and makeup done there, i can honestly say, i never looked so beautiful (this coming from a modest, not a model type girl :)) ... the photographer and videographer were top notch! absolutely gorgeous pictures and video ... we got married on a day with "bad weather" which in jamaica means wind - hah! whatever, it didn't matter, i couldn't stop smiling the whole time :) it was gorgeous! we got married at 3pm in the afternoon and we took pictures/video until 6pm and caught the gorgeous gorgeous sunset :) before you leave, they have a sitting for you to view all of the photos - there were over 300 and they bring you in a nice little room with a big comfy couch, bring you drinks and you take your time picking our your favorites on a big, flat screen TV ... it was great ... and we got to preview the video too - and you go home with your CD of pictures and video DVD too so no worries about waiting for it to get mailed to you - oh, and the minister was great too - very relaxed and joking with us to make us laugh - they bring out huge speakers to play your music on the way down the aisle and at the reception - they have a lot of music already but to be sure they have your song, just burn it and bring the CD, they'll play that at the wedding and use it for the video too ... AWESOME experience, SO glad i did it - and i promise you won't regret it either :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msjoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband and I traveled to SRC for a Christmas vacation. We received a private Mercedes Benz transport from the hotel to the resort that we didn't have to pay for. They treat returning Sandals guests like royalty. We were immediately upgraded from a deluxe room to the Romeo and Juliet Honeymoon Penthouse with a private stairway to a lagoon pool. It was a HUGE and amazing upgrade. If you pay for this suite, it comes with butler service but we didn't receive the butler service since it was just an upgrade. Still- it was amazing!

The activities were fun, and we played a lot of beach volleyball. Santa water skiied in on Christmas Day, and you could have your picture made with him. He also gave you a bottle of rum.

Pros-
*Returning guests are treated like royalty
*Close to the airport
*Beautiful water
*Beautiful grounds
*Beautiful rooms
*Food was great
*Awesome and friendly staff

Cons-
*So close to the airport that the airplanes were so loud.
*Beach wasn't very big
*Pool wasn't very big

This was a very relaxing vacation, and it was a great price. If my husband and I didn't get car sick, I think we would try to go to Negril or Whitehouse next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLSG6807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Just come back from New Year at SRC. Had a wonderful time, the people are lovely, entertainment is brilliant, food fab. OK dress code is a bit wishy washy, some people would dress up and others in cargo pants & tee shirts etc which is a bit annoying when you've made an effort. Dress code should be dress code.

Sun beds are great around pools not so good on the beaches and not enough sun parasols but you could always find some shade. The beach has a lot of coral and not quite as sandy in places as shown in the brochure and not very deep so if you want deeper water for snorkling,etc then you have to go on the organised boat trips. I think you could probably walk across to the island at low tide; but what the heck the waters lovely and warm, it's very blue and clear.

Obviously being so close to the airport there was aircraft noise but as it's only 1/4 hour from the airport the fun starts sooner and you can think yourself lucky that you're still enjoying yourself whilst those poor people on the plane are on their way home. Ahh give them a wave as they fly overhead and you're enjoying your rum punch and jerk chicken.

The staff are brilliant, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I don't know where the girls and guys get their energy from. We had a wonderful culture show, dancing, singing, steel drums etc. If you don't like reggae or soul then this isn't the place for you, for me it was reggae heaven and Jamaica is pure reggae. The cocktails are great, just say what flavour you fancy and they'll whip you up a smasher! Hic!! Champagne, smoked salmon and fresh fruit for breakfast, heaven! Met some lovely Canadian people, just wish we'd had longer, a week was not enough.

Would definately go back. Don't hesitate just book it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taffy024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

I will start my review which i hope gives a true and fair reflection on the hotel by saying we are both extremely well traveled both on holiday and on business and can differentiate between 5 Star UK, USA AND Europe and 5 star holiday accommodation.

Sandals trade on their name of top quality but top price to match but if it dose match then things are in my opinion just fine however Sandals Royal Caribbean dose fall short in some areas.
Our check in went smoothly and we were shown to room 10 the room was small (but very clean) but the wardrobe had no doors on it and the bathroom was leaking in we arrived in torrential rain.
We requested a room change and were given room 7 this room was also very clean and had a much larger bathroom so all seemed well.
our first 3 nights sleep were interrupted by a loud vibrating noise which i thought was the outside air con compressors it turned out to be our fridge compressor !!! so every night it was unplugged problem solved. The room had a fan which was great but when the air conditioning was turned on it was very loud and there is no way you could sleep with it on so we relied on the fan.
The grounds of the hotel are kept in very good order and the ground staff must be congratulated on a first class job.
The main pool area was spotless and Nevil the pool guy has to be awarded top marks for his efforts which went well above the norm he went way out of his way to make every guest happy he took keeping the pool clean personal and it showed the pool and area were spotless WELL DONE Nevil a first class job.
The public areas were always kept spotless and not one member of Staff in our opinion could be faulted Garry , Melisa and Melisia all deserve a special mention for their total commitment to the cause well done and thank you all.
The private island was also very nice but the water very shallow about 5 feet deep at its deepest.
The food in our opinion in the main buffet restaurant was below what one would expect very limited choice and not very hot in fact the food overall was at best just warm !!
Christmas Eve buffet on the beach was a real let down not what we expected in fact it was so poor we ate in the Cricketers pub !! not what we expected on Christmas eve Steak and fries .
The norm at this level of hotel in our experience is the main dining room with a very extensive buffet and tables laid out as in a restaurant back home, not a beach eat out !!
The evening entertainment at best was poor for this standard of hotel and most nights were were back in our room for 10.30 pm please improve your entertainment guys.
The speciality restaurants were good but food not hot again
So to round up excellent staff well kept grounds , pool and public areas but buffet food poor and food only warm.
would we go again NO we can get more bang for our pounds elsewhere but we have tried Sandals and consider they are trading on their name and reputation.

Goldstar
Manchester UK

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLDSTAR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Wonderful place to stay! People were so helpful and friendly! Even entertained us on the one cloudy day!! Always something to do and eat and drink!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanbillf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,163 reviews
7.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing