We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to perfection.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Close to perfection.”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We have been to two Sandals resorts on St Lucia and thoroughly enjoyed both of them. So to mark our 25th Wedding Anniversary we decided it had to be a Sandals resort again. We had an open mind as to which island to go to, so we looked through the Sandals brochure and on the Internet to study them in detail. We eventually decided on the Sandals Royal Caribbean in Jamaica. We were particualry tempted by the fact that there was a private island just offshore with a Thai restuarant on it. All our enquiries prior to leaving received an immediate e-mail reply from Leighton Josephs, the customer relations manager, which filled us with confidence that we had made the right decision. This was borne out during our two week stay. We were fortunate enough to stay in a consiege room which was beautifully decorated, with a comfortable 4 poster bed and a stylish jacuzzi bathroom. There are also amazing river suites, plus Oceanfront rooms and nicely positioned further accommodation - so there is a great variety of choice for people who wish to stay. We can honestly say that no-one could wish for a more perfect resort, though some might find aircraft noise intrusive. About 12 flights a day took the planes over the hotel, but we soon got used to it. It was over in seconds and didn't disturb the general feeling of peace a quiet. A hotel lives and dies by the quality of service, and by that yardstick the Royal Caribbean could not be bettered. We found all the staff to be exceptional, courteous and friendly. Iain, the General Manager was very involved and hands on and how often does a Manager see off his quests, personally, at the end of their stay? Leighton Josephs was charming and helpful and over the two weeks became more like a friend. With such leadership it is no wonder that all the staff, without exception, always greeted you in a friendly way. The location of the hotel was perfect, with the choice of four different beach areas, which were being constantly raked. Of all the All Inclusive holidays that we have ever taken we have never had such high quality food. There was a French, Jamaican and Thai restaurant, all A la Carte and a Main Restaurant Buffet-style, plus the Cricketers Pub, which was great fun. On top of that, a five minuet shuttle-bus ride to the Sandals Montego Bay resort took you to a lovely beach and in the evenings to two more fantastic restuarants - an Italian and a Japanese - again of the highest standard and a friendly and welcoming staff. There was entertainment every night with a variety of acts all supported by entertainment staff. One, named "New York" even covered herself in chocolate for the chocolate buffet. But the highlight for us was the private island. The Thai restaurant was beautiful. You could look at it all lit up at night across the water and when you were there you could look back at the bright lights of the main resort - quite magical. The surprise was the rest of the island. A dragon boat went backwards and forwards all day and all night. The island was wooded and there were two beach areas with loungers that never got crowded, which suited us as we both love snorkelling. There was a bar and a small swimming pool that were busier but amongst the treees was a buffet lunch where you could sit in seclusion. It really was a delightful little island both day and night. Our favourite trip was when we went to Dunns River falls. It was a unique experience to climb them and quite exhilerating. If we sound enthusiastic - then we are! It is great when a holiday exceeds your expectations and we hope that one day we will return.

Chris and Sue Branson. Norwich, Norfolk, England.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chrisue66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,442
    1,049
    349
    193
    133
See reviews for
164
4,101
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

My husband and I had a fantastic honeymoon. We stayed in a swim-up suite - INCREDIBLE. Our butlers were so kind and funny- Khalil and Deroney. The butler service is absolutely worth it. You are given a cell phone and can call to ask for information or roomservice or whatever you may need (7am-10pm). Changed the whole experience of the trip.

The hotel itself was clean and beautiful. All of the restuarants were delicious.

My only complaints are that there are no movies and that about once an hour it's very noisy from the planes taking off as the airport is only about 15 mintues away.
Then there is the general sandals "soon come back" program - but you can avoid that. It's just not something I've ever seen before - a resort pushing the sales for a next trip.

The ocean swimming was limited - but safely roped off and warmly refreshing. The water was calm so no playing in the waves.

We did our advanced scuba diving course and the instructors were very professional and the dives were all great!!

As expected with a sandals, it was very couples oriented, but that was nice once we got used to it. The grounds were well maintained and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Wide variety of restaurants - all very delicious.
Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaitlinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I was really excited to stay for my first time in a Sandal...and then....my God..what a poor service.
The hotel is nice (even if the location is not the best just off the take off path of the airport)...but the service.
Sandals pretend to be a 5 star hotel but they have no idea of what srevice means.
Dress code for dinner...and they do not care and people dress as "homeless" seated next to you...and if you talk about that with the concierge she also complains that this is not true. unbelievable

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukediver66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed at Sandals Royal Caribbean for part of our vacation this year. The service was amazing, and being in a river suite was luxury at it's best. We were only there a couple of nights so couldn't experience the entire resort, but we did get to dine at La Jardiniere and Regency Suite and Deck - both were outstanding dining experiences. The staff was very attentive and always acknowledged the guests any time they came in casual contact. I think this is so important at a resort. Evening entertainment was also very good - from a nightclub singer to a cultural show. Very enjoyable. Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLoweOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My wife and I went here for our honeymoon, and after reading countless reviews we were more than excited to finnaly arrive. The food and drinks were great, accomodations were unbelieveable! But what made this trip for us was our Butler's Phillips and Travis! They were excellent at there job and just great guys in general! If you have or are thinking of bookiing a butler leve suite, do yourself a favour and request these two!! We are sad to be back in Canada now but look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OilCity99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My stay in Jamaica was amazing. Theres no way to really describe how friendly and accomadating the staff really was at this hotel. I have never in my life seen a cleanup like the one that happened the second day I was there. There was a severe storm off the coast on our first night there. When we woke up the next morning there was driftwood covering the entire beach, swimming area, and water between the hotel and private island. This looked as if it was going to be like this for the entire vacation. The entire hotel staff from the General Manager down was on the beach and in the water removing thousands of pounds wood. Within 12 hours the beach was not only free of debris, but was cleaner that when we first got there! Finally, the best part of the trip was the entertainment provided by the hotel. Every night there was a different show put on my the entertainment staff. This group of talented individuals started the party off each time displaying a new set of skills each night. The vacation would not have been what it was without the amazing entertainers. A special thanks to Ginger, New York, Carla, Zoey, John, Jolon, "Beat Box", and Ernesto for always starting the party and making this trip truly one to remember! We have already booked a return trip to Sandals!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JShaw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford herts uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Just returned from 11 fun filled days at this hotel. A repeat visit for us and we were welcomed like family! All the staff at this resort made our holiday very special. So many smiley faces every day kept us smiling too! The food was fab and lots of choice. Entertainment crew are great and try to involve everyone of all ages and abilities. Weather was a little mixed but no one can control that! Even on rainy days they smile and just try to put on as much activity as possible. We will definately be going back and have already booked up again! Well done Sandals staff.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank boxchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
5,222 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
2,003 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
6,173 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing