We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Day Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Day Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I went to this hotel almost every day of our honeymoon. We did not stay here so I cannot comment on the rooms or the price but we took a shuttle here and enjoyed the restaurants, bars, entertainment, and water sports. Before I review any further I have to compliment Courtney, one of the bar trainee's while we were there. I was in a horrible mood as I had just lost my wedding ring playing beach volleyball (it was sized too big and I had just applied sunscreen so I guess my hand was slick) so naturally I went to the swim up pool bar for a little liquid solace. It wasn't very busy at this particular time and Courtney must have talked to my wife and I for almost 20 minutes reassuring me that as long as I had her a ring didn't matter. Our drinks were great and he told us about the program where he basically "tries out" for 6 weeks and if he does well he is hired on full-time. If we return to Jamaica we will probably stay here as this resort has delicious food, watersports, and a less crowded beach than Montego Bay. Courtney better get that full-time job he deserves it! He remembered me and we talked for a couple of minutes every time we came back to the Royal throughout the week. Get reservations at the Royal Thai as it fills up fast and was the best place we ate. There's a clothing optional part of the private island if you're into that sort of thing and you can reach it from a boat that departs about every 10 minutes. You will assuredly see and hear peacocks as they live near the resort. Even if you decide to stay at Sandals Montego Bay or Sandals Carlyle (as we did) be sure to take advantage of the free shuttle service and checkout SRC!

Room Tip: We did not have a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
We're so happy to read that you had great time at Sandals Royal Caribbean during your honeymoon in Jamaica. We love to hear our guests boast about our luxurious accommodations, delectable dining options, beautiful property and the wonderful personality and hospitality of our staff. Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us and we can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,403
    1,038
    345
    190
    133
See reviews for
162
4,049
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I visited this hotel for my friend's wedding. Nigel the Wedding Captain was the greatest. He was extremely attentive and very pleasant. He didn't miss any detail. He also made sure that all the guests and everyone in the wedding party had a great time. If your thinking about having a wedding here, make sure that Nigel the Wedding Captain is part of your wedding. You will not regret it. He is a great representation of what Sandals has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We recently had another outstanding vacation at Sandals Royal Caribbean from April 26th thru May 9th. All of our trips to SRC have been wonderful and this year our best experience yet.
When we stepped off the bus from the airport we were met by Alrick, the Captain, who as always greeted us with a warm smile and a cool towel recognizing us from our previous visits. He welcomed us home, got us checked in and showed us to our wonderful room. Also at the entrance was Bigby from the security group who remembered us and warmly greeted us home.
Once settled in we made our way to the beach grill to have our first jerk chicken, patties, Sandals Joys and play dominoes!!! The staff there are so good. Odane, Leeserey, Francina, Minto, …., truly made us feel as though we were returning home. The beach grill staff provides great service in a hectic environment with current guests as well as welcoming new guests who are often waiting for their rooms. They quickly knew our likes and our drinks appeared quickly without our having to order!!
Breakfast at Regency is always a treat. Jodian made wonderful omelets. The food was excellent and Delroy was always willing to find us papaya on the mornings there wasn’t any out. Sitting on the deck in the early morning was delightful.
Dinner--- we ate at all the restaurants and found them all great. Many thanks to Shawya at the reservation desk. She is a joy. We love Eleanor’s being outside or in the tea room, due to rain. It is a special and wonderful experience. Le Jardinière has excellent food, wine, a great staff and a charming setting. Regency is a wonderful setting for dinner on the deck and the Wednesday Italian night was a great treat. Leon, Garfield, Andrei, Sheldon are excellent professional waitstaff who took care of us as well as many more. Teneisha at The Thai restaurant was wonderful as always. She helped celebrate a birthday for one of our travel group. Anecia, Matthew, Claudiana, Janis and Garfield all did a wonderful job overseeing the restaurants. We missed our dear friend Shameisha and wish her and her new baby all the best!!
The bartenders are great. Andre and Jevaun, always a friendly face and a great members of your team. The staff at Cricketer’s were great as always. Owen at the piano bar was delightful. Micah and Courtney at the beach grill bar.
We truly miss our mornings out on the island. Captain Simone would ferry us across. Simone is such a wonderful young lady! Jevaun at the island bar was super!! along with Sashalee. They all made the island such fun. The food at the beach shack for lunch is so good.
We also need to recognize Levoy the photographer. Excellent job! Also Lonia and Colleen from the Spa. Oh such good massages!!! And thank you to Sudion and all the gardeners and grounds keepers for taking such pride in the resort.
We truly love our vacations at SRC!!! We look forward to this trip all year. The atmosphere of the entire resort makes us feel welcome and appreciated. The welcoming of us as family feels sincere and not like a marketing trick. Sheldon James, Oakley Cunningham, Tashawn McCarthy, Horace Fairweather and all of the management staff lead a team of outstanding individuals. It is truly the staff – the people of Royal – that make the resort so very very special. The easy smiles and the warm hugs. The job they do in caring for the resort and the guests is remarkable.
We count down the days until we come back home to SRC.

Room Tip: Always book the room you would be happy in. The resort often upgrades - but only if it is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hello Peter,

Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We are thrilled that you had another amazing stay with us and enjoyed your vacation from beginning to end! It is a privilege to have you be a part of our Sandals extended family and our staff will truly appreciate all of your kind remarks. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Recently returned from The Royal Caribbean resort and spa with yet another wonderful memory. We have stayed over one hundred nights at various Sandals across the Caribbean and enjoyed the Royal very much. We booked a butler room at east end of property overlooking very nice pool and hot tub, not a long walk to anywhere due to layout and intimate setting. Our butlers Hughill & Ellis were a joy to be with, attended to all our request and made sure our stay was memorable.
The beach is very well protected by off shore reef and quite beautiful.
Off shore island small but, has bar, pool and showers. secluded area for suits optional. Buffet lunch served. Dinning is up to par with Sandals quality through out the brand. Several out doors under the stars. Beach bar and grill hopping place for lunch. Breakfast on deck overlooking bay was truly relaxing. Blue mountain coffee a must have. Have stayed at six different Sandals over last few years and find each Sandals unique. The Royal has the same great staff that I have become accustomed to. From grounds to front management all are wonderful people making sure you have a great time with no problems mon.
I love the scuba offered by Sandals and had the best of time with the SRC dive team. Well kept dive boat and gear. Friendly and professional dive instructors not only led dives but, also were very watchful.
Overall the Royal is a very nice resort, close to air port, terrific grounds and amenities. Would recommend if you like a little more laid-back atmosphere. You can travel between 3 Sandals in Mo bay in just minuets. Have a great time

Room Tip: As with all Sandals due your home work. Prices and locations vary. Butler and club Sandals rooms ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I chose to return to Sandals because of the level of service I received from my first stay in 2011...boy have things changed. Now everything is HIGH PRESSURE sales.

DIVE SHOP- My husband has never scuba dived before, so we decided to take the discovery dive lessons ($90 per person) that taught us the basics, but was suppose to allow us unlimited diving with an instructor for the remainder of our trip. Bryan was our instructor and the class was small, just my husband and me and another guy from Texas as well. Bryan was extremely RUDE. Made all three of us very uncomfortable. Basically after your lesson we found out quickly that they only let your dive twice unless you pay an extra $450 per person to become certified. The scuba dive shop employees are very demanding that you get certified, otherwise they all become unfriendly. Our first actual dive Shaq took us down undersea and Shaq was cool until he learned we werent going to pay that price for certification when it was cheaper back in the states. From that point out everyone, including the dive shop manager, Monroe, all became uninviting and rude. Then the water sports team promised a third dive after we spoke to the general manger and they NEVER followed thru with the promise. Just BEWARE that if you pay for the discovery dive lesson (which is $90 per person) you are suppose to be able to dive unlimitedly...but really you only get to dive twice then they are "full" the remainder of the time UNLESS you pay big bucks to certify.

Next, let me tell you about the unbelievable rude hostess at the French restaurant. Our reservation was at 8pm, we arrived early around 7:15 checked in and went for a couple of drinks. Waited in the seating area for her to seat everyone else with the same reservation time...finally we had to walk up to her and request to be seated after our time. (We were sitting maybe 3 yards from her).

Then you have yet another awful experience with the restaurant reservation desk. We wanted the French restaurant to redeem themselves (the food is awesome and the waiter Andre was just absolutely delightful) and we explained this to the reservation desk attendant who tried to discourage us from going again. The reservation attendants are NOT friendly, whatsoever! Each time we tried to book a reservation they always tried to get us to do something else ie: choose a different place or attend the beach party. ..which ended up being rained out.

Now let's mention the manager, Sheldon. We explained the above to him at which he stated he wanted to check with the dive team, reservations desk and others to make sure our story was true. I spent over $7,000 to come to a mediocre hotel with a base level (they call it luxury) style room to be treated this way. Then Sheldon never followed up with us again. Even saw us at dinner that night and did not speak or ask if things had gotten better. Sheldon didn't even offer an incentive like free photos or maybe an extra dive or a candlelight dinner...nothing! Just wanted to make sure we werent lying....which WHY WOULD I LIE? heck the money was already spent.

BUT WAIT, that's not all! Sandals hosted a "craft day" with lots of local handmade items. Set it up in the middle of the beach and walk thru srea and the people are PUSHY! will not take no for an answer. Will put crafts in your hand and tell you to take them but they expect you to go to your room and get money for them. They basically make you buy something from every table...which gets more expensive the further you're directed thru this area.

however, there are some good points to this hotel. O'dane is just simply friendly and fun loving..such a great person. Winston, the landscaper is always friendly and made it a point to speak each morning. Kian at the Regency always seated us with a smile, we loved her!! I already mentioned Andre before, but he went out of his way to make sure we were well taken care of. Also, there is CJ, I cannot say enough about him, remembered us throughout our stay..

The biggest shout out goes to Miestro at Montego Bay. WOW what great customer service this gentleman has he ishonestly the most fun, energetic and amazing person we met on our trip...and we didn't even stay at his hotel, just visited for dinner.

I would recommend trying to find a hotel that is all inclusive that is not Sandals if you want a more laid back, chill and fun loving staff. If they had more of the great staff the bad wouldn't have been so ugly. But I can honestly say, we refuse to return to SRC or any other Sandals because of the dishonesty, his pressure sales and lack of follow up.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jenniferharris0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hello Jennifer,

We regret to hear that your stay was not as expected. Our staff's professionalism and friendly spirit are often a highlight in many reviews. We are saddened to note that your experience did not seem to reflect this and we were concerned by some of the interactions you described in your review. At Sandals, we strive to provide the best in service and take any comment that indicates we were not successful in this endeavor seriously. I have provided your comments to the resort management team for immediate evaluation and action as needed. I have also sent you a private message for a few additional details about your stay and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Sandals Royal Carribean Jamaica

Excellent Beach front room Balmoral Butler service

Butlers Tamara & Dwight

Organised all restaurant, tour bookings
Special snacks every early evening
Reserved sun beds wherever we wanted plus provided coolers each day full of ice, beers,water champagne, anything you wanted.
Served you lunch at your sunbed
Bought us cocktails
Organised us to remain in our room the last day
One day Prepared our bath with bubbles & petals with a ice bucket & Champagne
& another evening dressed our bed with petals and swans & again champagne
Nice touches.
Would do anything you ask, a big thankyou to Tamara & Dwight.

Fab breakfasts in the Regency & Cricketers

Best evening meals in The Regency plus great Irish coffee, Thai on the offshore island
French restaurant was ok, food could have been warmer
Most of the staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough.

Recommend Tokyo Joes at Montego Bay excellent Chinese food

Invited to Sandals return dinner to receive our silver sandals, dinner excellent & met some nice people. Inspired by Terry who had been going here since 1987!

Tours - sandals cruise on catamaran great fun, staff so friendly & plenty of inclusive cocktails, stopped at Margaritavile, had fun down the flume into the sea and the floating rubber obstacles mini total wipeout again great fun!
Free snorkelling was good, plenty of great fish & coral

Dunns River Falls - well worth the trip. Climbed the 900ft waterfalls, the guides made it special, brilliant day out.

Compared to Bahamas, St.Lucia,Antigua, not as new and grand, but lovely place location and great people.

Room Tip: Room 5108 ground floor beach location fab views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDigibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, mi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

As with 99% of past reviews of Sandals Royal Caribbean, we must say that we agree with them.
We traveled April 12-19 this year and it was our first time at this Sandals. We had so much fun and loved every single person we came into contact with. Our butler Flo was FABULOUS. She treated us like a king and queen. We will be asking for her again. Most of our evenings were spent in the "pub" and dearly loved Hot Rod and Big Bird....Jagan was also great. We never had an empty glass. They were so much fun and we laughed and laughed with them.
The resort itself was small, but ok with us for a change of pace. The room was clean and beautiful. The resort island was a great relaxing day and I wished we didn't wait until our second to last day to stay over there for the day. I would have done it more as it was so nice being right on the beach enjoying the sound of the waves. The restaurants were all easy to get into and
all the food was wonderful and we were never disappointed. Everyone was so friendly and spoke to us as we walked by, always asking if we needed anything and how we were doing. We did the catamaran "tour" to Margaritaville and it was a blast as always. Love it. The couples massage was very relaxing. We also did Club MoBay...totally worth it.
If you want a close place to airport, this is the place to go. We will go back...
Thanks for such a terrific experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveladyJackson_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Caribbean.

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful first visit with us and enjoyed the relaxing vibes of Jamaica. It is always our goal to provide the best to our guests and it's wonderful hear that you look forward to returning for more fantastic vacation experiences.
We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,164 reviews
7.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing