We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SRC Resort Vacation March 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked our March 2014 Sandals Royal Caribbean (SRC) Resort vacation in Montego Bay, Jamaica, with Ruth DeMuth at Trip Guy Travel. She assisted us with booking our reservations, trip insurance, flights and the Club Mobay VIP arrival and departure package. We were very satisfied with Ruth and Trip Guy Travel. The Club Mobay VIP arrival service was great. We arrived on a Friday around noon and the airport was packed. They met us when we arrived and escorted us through immigration and customs without waiting in the long lines. We also used Club Mobay for our departure and were very satisfied with the departure lounge; especially the cleanliness, and food and beverage selections. We’ve used Trip Guy Travel in the past when we had bad weather and Ruth kept track of our flights and helped us to rebook when we missed our connection.

This was our 6th SRC vacation and our 17th Sandals vacation. We requested a specific room when we booked, on the 3rd floor in the Windsor Building, so we were not upgraded to a better room. Our room was located in an older part of the resort that has been well maintained with a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. Our refrigerator was always stocked with water and non alcoholic beverages. Our housekeeper was great. Our room was clean by the time we got back from the pool in the afternoon with plenty of towels and during the evening housekeeping provided turndown services with new towels for the morning. We were disappointed that we were not upgraded to Club Sandals Concierge after we arrived, as we have been in the past (especially when we requested not to be upgraded to a better room, which is provided upon availability if you’re a repeat guest). We asked the Loyalty Manager and at the Soon Come Back staff for an upgrade, but it was not provided. We were allowed to access the Concierge Lounge for snacks and the NY Times, but couldn’t make use of the services. If we were to go back to the SRC, we would probably book another room category that comes with Club Sandals Concierge.

We had a very relaxing week. The weather was good with a few late afternoon rain storms. The food was very good. We especially like breakfast in the Regency, lunch at the Mariner’s Beach Grill & Napolitie’s Pizza and dinner at Eleanor’s. The service at all of the resort restaurants was great, much faster that in the past. We took the complimentary shuttle to Montego Bay one evening and had dinner at the Oleander Room, which is one of our favorites. Robert was our waiter and he welcomed us back to Sandals Jamaica. The drinks had top shelf liquors and we especially liked frozen vodka lemonade. During the day, we drink draft beer and we grew tired of red stripe early in the week and wished that they had other draft beer options.

The staff was super friendly and we met a number of nice couples. While we didn’t book any excursions, we took full advantage of all of the activities provided at the resort. We carved a turtle and a stingray with Luke Williams who explained the Jamaican craft of wood carving and chatted about Jamaica. We took the nature tour with groundkeeper, Michael. He was very proud of the resort grounds. He showed us all of the flowers and trees, and where the famous Jamaican Swallowtail Hummingbirds were located. We participated in the daily Aqua Aerobics class with Robin. His pleasant personality and great smile made exercising enjoyable. We enjoyed the playmaker activities (which is a good way to meet other couples) and had a great time with playmakers Ginger, Storm, Anna-Kay, Queenie, Kermit, Chico and Hollywood; and interns Jess from Canada and Jess from Switzerland. They work very hard and are a talented and energetic group. They kept us busy all week with activities and trivia contests (which is one of the main reasons that we like going to Sandals along with it being couples only). We earned our leather sandals necklaces and a $20 love check (which we used to purchase T Shirts for our grandsons at the resort shop).

We're pool (vs. beach) people and we spent the week at the main pool. The pool bar staff Nichola, Ashelle and Albert were friendly and helpful. The pool staff Jeffery, Tremain, and Neville were helpful and they worked hard at keeping the pools and pool decks clean. The main pool at SRC is quite small and a heavy afternoon rain storm early in the week took out one of the pumps which made keeping the pool clean a constant job. We recommend that SRC upgrade the main pool (replace missing tiles, upgrade the pump, etc.).

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors facing the ocean have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveVacationsFromNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We're so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at Sandals Royal Caribbean. It was our pleasure to make your 6th stay with us special! I will be sure to let the staff know how impressed you were with their service. Your mention is very encouraging and helps us to ensure that we continue on this track of excellence.

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you so much for your kind review!

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,511 - 2,517 of 5,713 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Oct 2013 was our fifth trip back to Sandals Royal Caribbean. We fell in love with SRC in 2004 when we got married there. This trip, we booked the Crystal Lagoon Swim-Up ground floor. Upon arrival at the resort, we were a bit delayed in our check-in. I do not know why there was a delay but it was not that big of a deal to us. Once checked in, we met our Butlers Sherry-Ann and Danae. This was our first trip using the butler service and we did not regret it! Combined with the newer rooms along the lagoon and our butlers, this trip was epic. I do have to mention that the AC in our room was not able to keep up with the humidity. After a complain, they moved us a couple of rooms over... problem solved! The resort is very clean for the most part although our pool at the lagoon was closed for one night due to treatments being performed on it. The water was a bit cloudy. thus the treatment. I must say that the staff makes this resort. I do not know of a place that when you leave, you actually miss them!!! All of the playmakers are wonderful. The food for the most part was good to very good. There was one situation that really annoyed me. One of the staff that I have known for years was almost fired for accepting a beer from me. The nasty thing about this is one of the guests "ratted" on him with photographic evidence and he was suspended. I have no clue why some idiot from the UK would concern themself with a dicreete beer from me but whatever. After demanding Sandals reinstate him, the resort relented. I had to threaten the hotel management that I would not return if they did not reinstate him. Having spent over 60K in ten years there, I guess it held some weight! A tip to guests.. do not offer alcohol to staff EVER. They will be fired (what Jamaicans called sacked). If Sandals had not of done what they did they would have lost a loyal traveler. I highly suggest you try SRC. Going back in 30 days (May 2014).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review of Sandals Royal Caribbean! I'm glad you had such a fantastic stay in October and that we were able to share that experience with you. We always strive for excellence and we're thrilled to see that your stay was nothing short of stellar.

We can't wait to have you visit us again in May this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful visit at the Montego Bey Sandals property. Upon our initial arrival, we were a bit disappointed with the lack of updates done to the rooms, the hospitality of the hotel made up for it in tenfold. The food was wonderful, a real highlight was the Thai inspired island a small boat ride from the hotel. Amazing food and made a date-night within a getaway possible. The activities provided by the hotel staff were quite fun and catered to all interests, and never were too obtrusive that your relaxation was impeded upon. The chocolate buffet was another highlight of the trip we will never forget. Overall, a very wonderful experience in a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sascha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so delighted to read that you enjoyed our delicious food and our warm, friendly staff. We always want to exceed the expectations of our guests and I'm happy we were able to do that for you.

We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent a week at this resort Feb22-Mar1 2014. This was our second stay at Sandals (Sandals Grand St Lucia last year) We were not disappointed with this stay and had a great time. First of all the transfer from the transfer from the airport was about 15 minutes. The resort is smaller that our last one but very nice and easy to get around. We met so many people there that we got friendly with because the resort is smaller and a little more intimate. The beach is not huge but we didn't seem to have trouble getting a beach chair each day. The key is to go early and reserve a chair before the rush. Its common practice at all the resorts. As usual we thought the food was excellent and the employees were so nice and helpful. The main pool is not huge and got a little crowded by midday so we tended to hang on the beach. We snorkeled on 2 days and it was very good (better than St Lucia) They bring you out to a nice reef not far from the resort. The only disappointment was the hobie-cat sailing. Not much wind and the landing is in a narrow channel with the wind right on your nose as you try to return. Its kind of tricky and requires a lot of tacking to get back in. The sailing in St Lucia was fantastic. The wind was great and you could sail right around groups of moored yachts by Rodney Bay. If the sailing is your main thing I wouldn't recommend this resort. I'd like to mention a few of the employees there that really made out stay fantastic: The entire entertainment crew: Ladon, Hollywood, Kermit, Front desk: Alex, The Omelet guy Ricardo, Beach servers Francina & Tracy-Ann, Pizza girl Leseery, Server Winston, Kevin from Cricketers. If you like a party then I highly recommend the Catamaran Reggae Cruise for an excursion. Its about 3 hours and you go to a snorkeling spot and then dock at Jimmy Buffets Margaretville for about 45 minutes. There's a huge waterslide there that is free. On the return trip the rum punch and cocktails flow along with,great music, dancing. What an awesome time. Can't wait for our next Sandals vacation!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scraper1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We're so thrilled to read of your awesome experience at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We strive to meet our motto: Luxury All-Inclusive Vacations for Two People in Love and I'm happy that we were able to do just that during your stay with us. We're so proud to hear that our wonderful staff played a big part in making your stay so great. Thank you for your review!

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future for another great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was our first time at any Sandal resorts and I guess we went with really great expectations for the Sandals name. Let me say, that the week was good and the staff made the week great.

Ginger deserves so much thanks for taking care of some slight glitches we had when we first checked in and she was just passing by our room and inquired how we were doing. She fixed everything to our satisfaction. Thanks to Lily and Yyonne, our housekeepers at the Caribbean Village. Our room was spotless and our mini bar was full..but there was NO beer in the fridge???? Thanks to Desmond, our secuity guy, who was always smiling and ready to take photos of us and just there to help! And of course, thanks to Kermit, who gave us the grand tour of the resort and was super funny and always on the go whenever we saw him.

I had read the reviews before we left and I was aware of the lack of beach and the airplane noise and we still went to the SRC. But now I know how much a beautiful long white sandy beach and relaxing quietness means to me. We went to Sandals Monego Bay almost every day to enjoy the beach and the ocean. But the noise from the planes passing directly above your head, is really quite terrible.

The biggest problem was with the food. We are use to the wonderful buffets at other resorts such as the Riu and the Iberostar, and here, we had none of that. The breakfast and lunch buffets were just fine. We missed the trays of fresh fruit that was none existent here. We tried the sit down dinners at LeJardinier, Thai, Eleanors and Regency. The food was nicely presented but for the most part, not that great.

The overall look of the SRC is beautiful but we would not go back. Perhaps if you wish to go to a Sandals in Jamaica, then you should take the 2 hour bus ride to the Whitehouse.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Caribbean Village which was close tothe road and the front entrance. We did like h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ON09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We regret to hear that your stay did not quite meet your expectations. We have many guests that boast of our gorgeous beaches and fine dining. Therefore, we apologize if you did not have a similar experience.

We thank you for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back in the future for a vacation that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Sandals. Fabulous food, amenities, luxurious surroundings, of course, that's what you know they have. What made this one so special was the amazing staff, especially the entertainment staff. So friendly and enthusiastic. They made the day and evening events so much fun. You have to meet Hollywood, Chico and Kermit. We saw people who have been going there for years greeting and saying good bye at the end to staff like they were family. So great to see. We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the buildings on the beach. The Windsor was perfect. Don't get the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased to read that you had an exceptional stay with us at Sandals Royal Caribbean. It sounds like you truly had an amazing experience, especially thanks to our wonderful staff!

We can't wait to welcome you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Loved every minute amazing service great food great beach the beach isn't huge but the rooms are wonderful and clean the service is amazing went their with my wife on our honeymoon and we had a blast 24 hour room service was also a great plus can't wait to go back

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Essa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

We're so pleased to hear that your stay was a great one! You enjoyed your vacation at Sandals Royal Caribbean and we couldn't me happier to hear it. Thank you so much for your review!

We can't wait to welcome you back and exceed your expectations next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,683 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
6.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $476 - $1,412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Unique Vacations Inc, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing