We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was a first trip to a sandals Resort and it was great right from the check in to the check out.
The food was great and flavourful.We ate at the Regency, Eleanor's,critters the British Pub, Le Jardiener, Thai and great jerk chicken pizza on the beach.if you have allergies they go above and beyond a special thanks to Dwight who made me my own special dessert.
The bar staff made some great cocktails purple rain, hummingbird.
The entertainment staff were amazing at hosting white night, beach party night, taboo and many other wonderful events.
Piano bar with Chico and Hollywood was a hoot enjoyed free style!!!
Also Nicole you were fun at the pool playing Taboo.
Kermit you are a ball of energy and so warm and friendly. You made us feel like family!!! :)
The resort was great all the staff were all friendly .
Would definitely go back again

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. It's so great to read that you had such a phenomenal visit with us. We always want our guests to have a wonderful time in a comfortable and worry-free environment filled with friendly staff who are eager to serve.

We hope that you will visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,612 - 2,618 of 5,717 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

We overall had a good time, but we would not do it again. Our butlers flo and aida were very nice and helpful. The property is very nice. Our gripes would be that the noise from the planes overhead were much louder then anticipated, the amount of people that smoked and the amount of obnoxious loud people were a bummer. The other places we have been definitely spoiled us, plus this destination costs way more then I think it warrants, very, very overpriced for what you get. We did get a couples massage, although pricey, it was really nice (at the end they tried to sell us several products). The highlight would be renting a cabana on the private island, that was really nice. Our room was really nice with a shower area, oversize whirlpool tub and double sinks. The weather was great, low 80's while at home at WV it was single digits!

Room Tip: I would not stay in the Clarence building, although these rooms are updated to some extent, the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmark1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

We're glad to hear that you had a good time overall at our resort but we strive to exceed all of your expectations and offer an amazing stay to our guests. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to one of our other resorts for a much better stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Overall I was happy with the hotel, we did have a nice holiday and the staff are extremely friendly and the hotel was clean also. The idea of the offshore island definitely drew me to this hotel.
On arrival we were shown to our room and we were so disappointed. It was dark, there was no balcony and there was a brick wall and bushes directly opposite our front door and only window. To be able to see what kind of a morning it was, we would have to walk round to the stairway and peer over. This was such a disappointment for us. We are normally happy with any view but to not even be able to see the sky was very disheartening. We asked to be moved but they wouldn't accommodate us. This was the main talking point for new arrivals who were situated where we were. When booking this hotel you really must upgrade from the Deluxe. If we had known then we would have. Your also woken at 5.15am every morning with the sound of trolleys going up and down.
The breakfast selection was average, did expect much better, lunch has really good choices and we looked forward to that, the evening food was nice. We tried all the restaurants and there wasn't one that we loved and wanted to go back to so that probably speaks for itself. The buffet is only twice a week in the evening and the selection there was good.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room that has some kind of daylight and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojo290568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you had an enjoyable stay, overall, at our resort. We always strive to create amazing experiences that keep our guests coming back. Therefore, we certainly hope that you will consider visiting us again for a much better stay in the future. We want to exceed your expectations next time.

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our 5th visit to a Sandals and by far or most disappointing.
Let me start by saying we love Sandals and the Sandals Experience as demonstrated in previous reviews . But when the bar is raised from past experiences and you are paying top dollar for an amazing holiday the key learning ; Sandals delivers a very wide range of amenities and quality of Brand experiences.
Recognizing that there is a DIFFERENCE in the Sandals BRAND from property to property whether that be in Jamaica , St Lucia , Exuma , ETC. Do your research.
The SRC is tired yet quaint, compact yet crowded, there is no beach to to speak of let alone walk on a beach .The airport is very close and the planes taking off are a distraction.
If you have never experienced a Sandals do it , if you have and you have never been to SRC, you may be :as we were; disappointed.
Great new friends , fabulous staffing ..............but that just was not enough for the SRC to deliver on the Brand promise.

Room Tip: Club section worth the upgrade , forget the butler , 3 rd floor Kensington Building .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC/GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I have not been anywhere before. I am pretty sure we will never go anywhere else after staying here. The trip was worth every single penny it cost us and we have not one complaint. The staff was not only extremely helpful but so happy. If you go hungry while staying at this resort it would be your own fault because the food was wonderful. We went with a large group (14) we all looked at each other's room and they were all very nice. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our 3rd trip to Sandals- we always use our travel agent Beach Bum Vacations- we were treated very well-- double level room upgrade. We were there for 5 days- food was fantastic. One improvement could be the beaches-- small and not much sand. Off shore island was fun although the beach is small. We loved the short trip from the airport (and the airport Sandal's waiting area was a nice treat). We will be back

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were onsite from Jan 10-17, 2014. Our room was clean and quiet. We thought the resort grounds were very well kept and the staff friendly. A shout out to Andre and Sheri Ann our butlers who did a great job. If I had one disappointment it was the lack of fresh fruit and the fact that the pools were cold. Other than that, I'd say its a great place with friendly staff.

Room Tip: our room was very close to the beach on the 2nd floor. We were far from the main pool and that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alarmguy158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,686 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,635 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
6.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $476 - $1,412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing