We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Rushell server at Regency Suites was great. Charlton at water sports was so friendly, as well as Kermit for entertaining each day. Corey the bar-tender, Francinea at Mariner Grill, Jessica at LeJardinier Salvatore was so nice and lastly Oakley at customer service was great.Great food, service and a friendly welcoming staff were outstanding.

Room Tip: our room was directly off beach. We did not mind the nightly entertainment. If you want a quieter ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your great review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so happy to read that you had such an amazing stay with us. We always strive to go above and beyond to please our guests and I'm glad we were able to meet that goal during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for an even better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,558 - 2,564 of 5,645 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went here back in 1997 for our honeymoon, but it was absolutely amazing already at that time! Great food! Loved the island restraunt with the flaming desserts! Rooms clean, beach and pools beautiful! Staff was always friendly! definitely recommend!

Room Tip: make sure you go eat on the island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so happy to read that you had such an outstanding vacation with us. We strive to offer memorable experiences for Two People in Love and I'm so glad that we were able to make your stay an incredible one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an experience that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

St. Lucia is much nicer than this one, just based on the sprawling property alone. However, for what you pay for... this place is incredible! Be ready for banquet prepared food and drinks. Other than that, we loved this Sandals!! Ask for an upgrade if you've been to a Sandals before and they usually oblige :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation with us. We always want to ensure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff at Sandals Royal Caribbean did just that!

We would be more than happy to welcome you back to paradise in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We returned from our stay at SRC about a month ago so I am a little late with my review. Part of the problem was trying to figure out what to say. After wrestling with that for awhile I decided to say not much.

It was our 7th trip to Sandals, but our first to SRC in 8 years. The resort has had a lot of physical changes in that time, but one thing remained constant: The OUTSTANDING service. I will let everybody else expound on the virtues and the food and the drinks and everything else. We wanted to try other Sandals and always enjoyed the other locations. However, this will always be our "home".

If you want an intimate resort with excellent service this is it. I know you will also see negative reviews, but some people whine about the least little thing. Go here and have fun. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1fatrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review of Sandals Royal Caribbean! I'm glad you had such a fantastic holiday and that we were able to share that experience with you. We always strive for excellence and we're thrilled to see that your stay was nothing short of stellar.

We can't wait to have you visit us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Overall loved this vaca. Stayed over new year’s with my wife and another couple. The resort was at capacity. My wife and I were Sandals and Jamaica first-timers. Somewhat small/compact resort but well-designed, good use of space & never felt crowded. Nice that you’re never far from your room.

Food/Water
Good quality and variety of food. There are nine different places that serve food, including five that serve dinner, and two where you can/should make dinner reservations. We booked a couple days in advance and don’t mind eating later, and were able to get reservations. Food safety – I had minor issues on the last day but no one else was affected. We drank tap water all week with no issues.

Staff
Outstanding. Very friendly, professional, service-minded, knowledgeable and helpful. Love the Jamaica ‘tude. A+

Room
We booked the least expensive room and I was a little disappointed. Basic & dated décor. Given how little time we spent in the room, it was no big deal. Couldn’t get hot water the first day; once we called the front desk it was promptly resolved. Big comfortable bed. When we arrived the fridge was stocked w/juice, pop & beer – nice touch. Cable TV with lots of US/Canada channels. Good AC. Our friends checked into their room to find the AC was not working and the roof was leaking. They were quickly re-located and had no issues with their new room.

Activities
Dive shop: Separate boats daily for scuba & snorkel. Availability was no problem (book it a day in advance). Scuba – nice big boats. Got certified & dove for first time, my instructor (Diesel) was excellent, professional. Other water sports available but didn’t take part. New Years Eve: impressive party, good music/dancing, staff was very festive. In general, lively at night.

Bars – never had to go far for a drink. Good staff.

Pools
There was some "poolside entertainment" (i.e, staff member w/microphone) at main pool a couple times a day. Got a bit annoying if you’re trying to relax & read a book. However there are other “quiet” pools at the resort. Swim up bar at main pool and at island pool. Island pool is quite small but cool setting.

Beach
We did the island a few days – there are 2 very small beaches there. The island itself is small but they make good use of the space. The resort & island are on a calm bay with turquoise water. A shuttle boat runs frequently so even on the island you’re never “far” from your room.

Other
Nice airport Sandals lounge w/beer tap. Only had to wait 10 mins for a shuttle. Then 10-15 mins to the resort including one stop. Be prepared to tip the red hats (they are not sandals employees). The day we left there was an airport shuttle every 30 mins. Proximity to airport is very nice, although you do have a fair number of loud airplanes overhead during the day. A non-issue in my book, kind of a spectacle. Very few planes at night & didn't hear any overnight. Happy we were not at the Sandals located on airport perimeter. Internet – had to use their tech support line one day, they fixed me right away. Otherwise all good & speed was fine. Bugs – apparently there were some tiny biters and a few mosquitos flying around. Got my wife but never bothered me.
Overall great experience; of 6 caribbean trips this has been my fave.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mdr838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great resort..very clean property and fantastic rooms. The service is exceptional by all of the staff. We had the butler service and both our butlers were very helpfull but not obtrusive. The restaurants were all outside which is fantastic with good food. There were 5 different pools with a very clean beach. We found the pools to be small but they are in keeping with the size of the resort which has 180 rooms. If the main pool had a water volleyball game going on, there was no room for other people to swim. There was only one swim up bar but the other pools had good service for drinks,The beach was also small but again in keeping with the size of the resort. We did not have to get up early to get chairs around the pools or the beach. Our experience was very good. We love larger resorts but would not hesitate to return to this resort. They look after little things such us having 2 Canadian satilite stations for uis Canadians. The Sandals lounge at the airport is also very nice with fast and great transportation from the airport. There was nothing negative about this resort except that we perfer a little larger resort..more people.

Room Tip: we had the swim up/butler suites...very very nice..quiet and right beside a nice pool with lush gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My fiance and I went here to ring in 2014! We definitely had a very enjoyable experience. I was nervous about how our room would be after reading reviews on here but I found it to be very nice. We stayed in a crystal lagoon with butler room. However, I would say we found the temperature in the room to never go below 76 degrees despite leaving the AC on 60 at all times. Keep this in mind if a warm room would bother you. We found the food at the Thai restaurant and French restaurant to be very good. Other food at the regency we thought was just average. They constantly serve you snacks and bring you drinks. I would not recommend this resort for someone trying to stick to a diet. Also if you do not drink alcohol at all or are uncomfortable around a lot of drinking this is not the resort for you. They constantly bring you alcohol all day long. I found it often harder to get diet coke than alcohol. Overall though we enjoyed our stay and found it a great choice for a couple looking to enjoy sun and fun in January!! One other tip is to bring bug spray! We are used to this as generally the norm for all Caribbean islands but definitely do not leave home without bug spray!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,611 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,568 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,979 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
6.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $487 - $1,287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Unique Vacations Inc, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing