We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandals Royal Caribbean - quick 5 night visit - Dec 8-13”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sandals Royal Caribbean - quick 5 night visit - Dec 8-13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have stayed at this resort the most of all our Sandals vacations. We just love the staff, the cozy layout, and proximity to the airport. This trip was a quick 5 nights and only planned two months out (we already had a planned vacation here for next March for 7 nights).

We booked Club Mobay arrival service this trip, and was worth every penny! Many planes arrived at the same time so immigration was packed. We sailed through, got our bags, breezed through customs and checked in at Sandals before heading to the Club Mobay arrival lounge. We were traveling with another couple and booked a private transfer to SRC through Reggae Tours. Excellent, efficient service with a smile! We also used the departure service which is also a great way to keep the vacation vibe going a little bit longer after dealing with the airport stress.

Both couples received an unexpected upgrade to the Kensington block. The resort was very close to full capacity and I think our short travel dates just fell within a window where this upgrade was possible. We have always stayed in the Kensington on all our other stays, but this trip was a quick one and we booked a less expensive room and would have been happy with that, but the upgrade was very welcomed! This room is on the far end of the resort with its own pool and tends to be on the quite side. And Club Sandals comes with complimentary wifi for up to 3 devices per room. We had some issues connecting but Dezreen (Concierge Manager) happened by our patio in the morning and helped to get us connected. It involved a call to their IT dept, but it worked fine after that. Both Dezreen and Andre from Concierge/Club Sandals took very good care of us. Very attentive and always remembered us by name.

Due to the new Grenada and Barbados properties opening, the GM, Mr Grant, has come back from retirement temporarily to reprise his role until a new manager is appointed. He presented us our gold crowns at the returnees dinner. The dinner was inside the Regency due to threatening weather that didn't come to pass, and was heavily attended.

The weather was pretty consistent for December, mid to high 80's during the day with intermittent clouds/sprinkles each day for a very short time, bright sun the rest. Mid 70's at night. The trade winds were blowing and the seas were sometimes rough. More days than not snorkeling was cancelled.

Even at close to capacity the resort never felt that full. The pub didn't seem as lively as normal (we are NOT night owls) when we stopped in for dinner twice. It may be at later hours. Le Jardinière was wonderful as always, and in fact I think I had the best Salmon dish I have ever had anywhere! The Regency was also very good with the Lobster tail entree. We ate at the Mariners Grill every day for lunch and occasionally had the pizza, a great option. Breakfast was either the generous buffet/omelette station at the Regency or at the Pub for a-la-carte service. Both are great.

The bar service was typically efficient and service with a smile. Curtis and Dwain were always there to mix something special. I could not believe that Dwain had only been with Sandals for 2 weeks! Verna has moved to the beach grill bar. Always great to see her smile!
Activities at the main pool were typical, water aerobics in the morning, play makers with various games, pool volleyball in the afternoon, etc.

One afternoon that looked like potential rain we booked a couples massage at the spa. It poured! Great timing. The service was good, but did get the sales pitch at the end for products. It wasn't a heavy sell, but still could do without it.

Another wonderful vacation at Sandals. Can't wait to be "home" again in the spring.

Room Tip: Kensington block is really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 23Mainiacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased to read that you had an exceptional stay with us at Sandals Royal Caribbean. It sounds like you truly had an amazing experience, especially thanks to our wonderful staff!

We can't wait to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,446
    1,052
    349
    193
    133
See reviews for
164
4,108
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NW Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at Sandals Royal Caribbean in Montego Bay Jamaica for a week during the first part of Dec. 2013. Best vacation we have taken so far. We had a ground floor butler suite in the Buckingham building. We loved our semi private pool for late night swims and cooling off during the day. Our butlers Hugh and Ellis and the rest of the friendly, efficient staff provided every possible amenity we could imagine. Customer Service at its finest. Our air-conditioner did not work well or at all sometimes but we made the best of it with a fan that the staff brought us. 85 degrees outside was paradise compared to below zero at home.
We had terrific food at the Sandals restaurants especially at the Royal Thai, Regency and La Jardinier. The spiny lobster at the the Regency was delicious and exciting to try for the first time. Bella Napoli by the beach had the best jerk pizza.
Our butlers brought us a snack every night and beach coolers each day. Enjoyed swimming at the pool and beach on the private island and renting a half-a-day cabana was nice but went too fast. You can get authentic jerk chicken at the island beach grill. The main beach was crowded at times but there are three other beaches that you can also go to. We especially enjoyed a tour of the beautiful grounds with the gardener. Love the flowers as do the butterflies and hummingbirds. Unexpected visits from the resident peacock (we called him Prince).
A big thank you to our travel agent Ruth DeMuth with TripGuy travel for getting us a great rate on our room and setting up a private off resort trip. Jeffrey with reggae tours took great care of us with our tour of Rodney Bird Sanctuary and the Luminous Lagoon. The Luminous Lagoon trip was a surprise highlight as the water lit up like fireworks underwater. It was quite the show.
Took advantage of the Club MoBay on the way home and it was a busy airport day so it was full capacity. Definitely saved time but not sure worth the money but we flew first class/business class this time and that was definitely worth the money in retrospect.

Jamaica and the people are beautiful! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Loved the Butler service, it is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelcoupleNWIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed a splendid vacation at Sandals Royal Caribbean. Our staff goes through countless hours of training to ensure that we are offering the highest level of service to our guests and I'm so glad that your stay was indicative of our efforts. Thank you for your review!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I just spent 10 days at this resort and loved every second of it! From the moment we arrived at the front desk we were treated with excellent customer service and it just continued to get better and better from there. We have to first say thank you to Tenny at the front desk she continuously assured everything for our trip and our wedding that we had on site was absolutely PERFECT. December 5th was the most amazing day of my life thanks to her, let me mention that she also made time to attend our wedding on her day off! If you like to just lay pool side, lay by the main pool and ask for the bartender Curtis and cocktail waitress Ashelle! They will make you the best drinks you have ever tasted and keep them coming all day long. Their positive upbeat attitudes are so refreshing to be around and we looked forward to spending time with them every day! In the evenings you have to make sure to stay around the resort for an evening or two to check out the entertainment team. Thanks to Kermit, Nicole, Shabico, Tiffany, Chico and Hollywood for always providing such an excellent party- outside, inside the Cricketer's, the Piano Bar (my favorite song sung by Chico and Hollywood was the Big Bamboo-CRACKED ME UP!). The grounds at the resort are beautiful, clean and well kept the private island is a really cool added touch, we loved taking the boat back and forth especially in the evenings to look at the stars. Sandals plans really great events at the resort all throughout the day and evening to keep the guests busy, the food is delicious and there are many options available. I could go on and on about this resort! I'll finish with saying we highly recommend it! If you visit, please be kind and courteous, the staff here is what MAKES this resort. They go above and beyond to provide you with the utmost service. A few others I didn't mention, but would like to quickly....check out Dominique in the Cricketers and ask him to balance a few bottles of rum on his chin-VERY IMMPRESIVE, great bartender we also enjoyed drinks from Cleaveland. Thanks to everyone on the resort who made our visit a life changing experience. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the swimming pool and it was beautiful. We didn't have the opportu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshleynStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We're so glad to hear of your wonderful stay at Sandals Royal Caribbean. You enjoyed our gorgeous property and amazing staff who strive daily to go above and beyond. We love to hear our guests boast about their great experiences and we thank you for your review.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another stellar vacation in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

As we have been delayed for 7 hours (at this point - Do Not Book with Transat this always happens) thought it best to write my review while it was still fresh. Prior to leaving we did a lot of research about where to stay in Jamaica. We originally stated Sandals but began seeing other options Secrets and Beaches. We read and read comparing resorts, pricing and peoples comments on tripadvisor and finally came back to Sandals. We are so pleased this was our decision with not only Sandals but the Royal Caribbean itself as it was exactly what we were looking for after visiting all 3

Our room was in the Kensington 4206, we could see the ocean from our room and hear the waves. The lounges by the pool looked both at the pool and the ocean was a couple of feet behind us. We did struggle about which room to book as we had wanted the beachfront walk out however we waited and it sold out. The Balmoral walkout looked fabulous and would be my pick for next time if only for the views and the size of the patio. The entire resort was so so clean and absolutely beautiful. The people were the friendliest that we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. We have been to quite a few islands and never have resort personnel been so authentic and warm, always smiling and saying hello. Like to mention Curtis at the pool bar who took special good care of us ensuring we had everything we needed gave us advice on how to get places and what to see, he is a great asset to the resort

Food absolutely delicious and such a variety. We didn't once go to the French or Thai restaurants as we liked the food at all the other places, really good

Last but not least was the spa. Wow! Best massages we ever had and went back for a second one the ladies there were great, Lois was really excellent

One last piece of advice that we would highly recommend is to rent a cabana on the island as it is really a fabulous experience down to the snacks they provide to sun lotion to great lounges. They also. Give you a cell phone to call for anything you need.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcsevney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so thrilled to read that you had such an amazing experience with us. It's great to know that you enjoyed every minute of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Smaller resort with Great Service. TASHAWN our concierge was the Best. He set me up to watch my football game on Thanksgiving. He not only let me in the Closed Cricketers he also delivered Pizza and drinks.
We spent a day on the Private Island and had a blast at the Bar and at the Beach.
Piano Bar was a lot of fun with lots of people singing the evening away.
Domique the bartender at cricketers makes some of the best shots "Rainbow and Jellyfish are great.
He keeps the place lively and is very entertaining.
We also spent the afternoon at Sandals Montego Bay. This resort has a larger Beach and it is only a 10 minute ride on the shuttle. Had a great time walking the Beach.
Overall this was a great time, Best Service.
The pool service at the Royal Caribbean was the Best, I can't remember the water sports guys name but he was always there to help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandBecky1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We're all so thrilled read that you had such a spectacular stay at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're happy that we were able to make your stay a memorable and amazing experience. I have forwarded your excellent review to our staff. They are glad to hear of how they exceeded your expectations and made your stay a wonderful one.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night stay here at this resort and as the title suggests we landed in MoBay and were on the beach drink in hand before we even broke a sweat. That fact is just one of the reasons we have come to enjoy staying here being so handy the airport. Sandals MoBay itself sits at the end of the runway basically and is closer. For us the noise from the planes overhead occasionally presented no problems and were interesting to watch from time to time. We stayed in a top floor Kennsigton Building (conceirge room) which offerd a larger private blacony (than those in the middle) and was equipped with a comfortable bed and nice furnishings. Our days consisted of heading out to the island (1st boat out approx 0900am with the last at about 5pm). You would have found us on both..our preferred beach was actually right adjacent the pier offering semi privacy and more quiet time than the beach around the bend. Watching the coming and goings kept us entertained when not reading. Every once in awhile we would go up to the pool which is a tad cold but refreshing on a hot day.The pool bar helped too. The staff are extremely friendly, happy and helpful and the food delicious. This time around the visit was even better than the first. I would not hesitate in recommending this particular resort to anyone for the reasons stated. When we return to Jamaica and we will SRC will be again apart of our plans.. safe travels..

Tramper

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so glad to read that you had such an amazing stay with us. We always want to ensure that our guests have a romantic and relaxing vacation and I'm glad we accomplished that goal during your stay.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Sandals tries very hard and does their very best to provide a great experience for their guests. Like any operation however, the best outcome will only be as good as their weakest effort. So although 95% of the staff that we engaged operated at 110%, there were a a couple that were sub-par which greatly detracted the overall experience. Nonetheless, I would like to personally call out the staff that were simply amazing and contributed greatly to our vacation experience: Waitstaff of Sheriffa and Nicola tirelessly and enthusiastically engaged us daily poolside and beach-side and both did a wonderful job. Verna and Roderick were very personable and fun bartenders whom were also wonderful. Kian did a wonderful job of greeting us each morning at breakfast. She was also performing a "fill-in" role at the activities desk on the day we arrived and did an outstanding job there, salvaging a near-catastrophic impasse of our vacation for us upon upon our arrival at the property (Kudos to her) !!! Guest Services Manager Oakley also aided us greatly with a delicate relations matter and proved he was quite well suited for his role in management. Gotta' also pay tribute to our water-sports escort Valentie - what a really nice, friendly guy - took us on awesome Hobie rides. There were a few more that I'm sure I have left out. All of the staff I've mentioned are very well suited for their jobs and added greatly to our vacation experience. On a secondary note, food, entertainment, and accommodations were all very, very nice and worth the price, without exception. I would recommend Sandals to all but the highly experience traveler. I would not hesitate to stay on this property again. Based on the experience, I would not hesitate to use any of the other Sandals properties.

Room Tip: Kensington is the most distant from the people (noise and traffic). Although any building on the ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We're so thrilled to read of your wonderful visit to Sandals Royal Caribbean. It sounds like your entire stay was such an incredible experience. I will be sure to forward your review to management team and staff. They will be so happy to hear of your kind mention. Thank you for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back for another great stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,227 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing