We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVED Sandals!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We LOVED Sandals!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We just returned from 5 fabulous nights celebrating our 10th wedding anniv. at Sandals Royal Caribbean in Montego Bay, Jamaica. They are happy you're there, and you are SOOO happy you're there! :)

It was gorgeous! The staff was fun & friendly - learn their names, they'll learn yours and take great care of you!

Weather was great, food & drinks delightful. Entertainment also good. The Regency restaurant doesn't require a reservation & was our favorite.

Guest Service Manager, Leighton Josephs, rocks!

Helpful?
5 Thank masds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,515
    1,070
    354
    195
    136
See reviews for
170
4,194
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We spent four nights at the Royal Caribbean, and then we continued our vacation at Sandals Whitehouse. After staying at Whitehouse and having an earlier visit to Sandals Negril, I can sum up SRC as "Sandals Light". The resort is a little older, but it has been kept up pretty well. The resort is smaller than the others, but it is cozy, and the furnishings and the grounds in the public areas are very well kept. The food at the restaurants is good, and of course the drinks are plentiful and tasty. The true secret to SRC is the private island which has a small pool with a swim up bar; it is much quieter here than it is at the main pool which often has games and activities and music. There is a "clothing optional" beach area; if this isn't your thing, you may want to avoid that area. All in all, we enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the service was oustanding as usual. One disappointment are the burgers - preformed frozen patties with the grill lines "painted" on - which is the only kind they serve at the Grill or Cricekter's Pub...........but the rest of the food is good, particularly the Jamaican food. All the rest of the resort is like the other Sandals, just on a smaller scale.

  • Liked — The private island
  • Disliked — The burgers
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

When you arrive you are made to think that this is the best vacation you will ever be on.. That is, until you say no to something or you are in need of anything. The wait staff at the restaurants were not friendly nor fast at anything, you waited and waited for EVERYTHING even water (one night we had to pour our own water the waiter never came!) We had to call at least 3 times in one day for wash rags and towels. How is one supposed to shower without those two items is beyond me, it took them 3 hours to get them to our room. You would pass the employees walking around and say hello to them and they wouldn't even smile back! There were cats all over the place yuck. My husband is very allergic, when we asked them to get rid of them they just looked at us. We had a beach/ocean front view room and room service was to be included upon arriving they told us it was, but when I called to order room service they said we could not have anything delivered to our room I asked why they said because we DID NOT PAY for room service..excuse me spending $4500.00 on a room for 7 days at an all-inclusive resort and we had 0 room service. They did inform us for $600.00 we could aquire room service. Everything there was an extra charge. Our beach front room was right behind the sound stage so I had to sleep with ear plugs in. I like to party during the day and get some sleep. This was not what I had gotten out of the brochure. It was not relaxing nor peaceful it was loud, and not at all accomidating. Moral of the story... read the fine print at this place. They even charged you $35- $45 for a bottleof wine or champagne...Ha! never again! I came home more stressed than before I left.

Disappointed, IN, USA

  • Liked — The climate
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshinejess96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

It's been almost a month since our stay at Sandals Royal Caribbean resort and we're still recovering from our stay. We had a nice flight to Jamaica from NC, but that all changed upon arrival to the Sandals check-in area at the airport. After briefly getting a fountain drink, we were rushed out to the shuttle van along with several other couples to be taken to our resort. We had to wait about 15 - 20 minutes on the van because we we not allowed to leave until the van was full. We could have been left inside the waiting room, but instead were told to stay on the van. After the van was full, we were wisked away to our resort. We could see construction going on beside the resort. We arrived at the resort and we got off the van. We did not have anyone to greet us or tell us what to do, so everyone started gathering their own luggage. After a couple of minutes, we did have someone to greet us and tell us to come inside and leave our luggage where it was. It would be taken care of. We were given a rum punch and a wet wash cloth. We thought everything was going to be good then, but we were wrong. We were taken to our room along with a couple of other couples. The bellhop showed us the river suites, which I'm glad we didn't book since they are not private, a few of the restaurants, the pool, beach and then our room. I had booked the deluxe room, but we were upgraded to a Grande Luxe Room in the Balmoral Building with a garden view.
The room had a nice king size poster bed with a nice view of the gardens that a lot of weddings took place (at least one a day). I would say that the room needs a major face-lift. The tile was dirty and mold was on the ceiling and walls. The bathroom had a double vanity sink, seperate from the shower/toilet area. We never had any problems with the water pressure as other guests have complained. I guess we just timed our showers just right! We did have mosquitos and some sort of little bugs in the bathroom area. The bathroom was vented to the outside with a screen cover, but bugs will find a way through the small holes. We never knew when our room was going to be cleaned and had to leave a privacy card on the door while we showered or were sleeping. We did have our bed made up and new towels two times during our 5 day stay. We never met our cleaning lady. I tried to get ice a couple of times from the ice bins, but there never was any. We had to bring drinks back with us if we wanted anything for later.
Restaurants-We tried to make reservations the evening of our arrival, but were told that they were full or we had to settle for a late seating. We had reservations for a couple of the restaurants for 9 and 9:30 pm, which was really 10 and 10:30 pm US time. The service was not good at the restaurants. We ordered a plain coke one evening and it took us 4 times to ask the beverage waitress for it. This is very unacceptable for Sandals or any restaurant. None of the restaurants are air conditioned and at a couple of them, there are several cats running around. The staff said they were trying to catch them, but we didn't see anyone making that effort.
Pool/Beach-The main pool is small and if a pool activity is taking place, you must exit the pool until the activity is over. We did not use the hot tubs. The beach was okay with plenty of chairs, but on the downside were the peddlers. They would yell at you from their canoes and the security officers didn't make them leave. In fact we saw one of the officers giving one of them a beer. If you told them no, they would leave you alone, but only until you moved somewhere else or another peddler would come along asking you again to look at their items. The beach is small, but cozy.
The highlight of our trip was the returning guest get togther. We didn't know anything about this. There were cocktails served as the staff meeted and greeted you. We were then served a delicious meal followed by dessert. We were also given a bottle of rum and told to pick up our our t-shirts for being returning guests. We were also given a boat ride a couple of days later. We thought the boat ride was just for the returning guests, but other guests were allowed on the ride. A few of them were loud and rude unlike the returning guests.
The worst part of our trip was that we got sick. Alex, the nurse, was extremely helpful. He called in a doctor from the island because he did not have the medications to treat me. I had an abcess to form and after returning back to the states learned that I had MRSA and my wife had ORSA. I stayed in the hospital for 8 days and will be out of work for 4 - 6 weeks. We don't know if I contracted this from the stay at the resort, but the abcess started forming after we had used the pool.
This has been one of the worst vacations that we've ever had and we will not be returning to Sandals Royal Caribbean. We took our honeymoon to Sandals Whitehouse and loved it. We will take another trip to another Sandals Signature Resort except none of the ones in Jamaica ( Whitehouse excluded).

  • Liked — Signature Guest Returning Dinner
  • Disliked — Getting sick
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ready2go23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

A great place to relax and unwind. Check in was quick and punctual and we had concierge service and Sean took care of us very well. Our room was in the Kensington Building and was always very clean. The furniture, people, is supposed to llok that way and is most certainly not outdated. It is the British look that they are trying to invoke. These rooms were all renovated because I was here previously and there was a definite difference, as we had pass cards for locks while others still had actual keys for their room.

Room service was typical Carribean - slow, but honestly not at all surprised to wait 20 - 30 min for food. At least it was good. Excellent actually. The Jardinier was top notch complete with Surf & Turf and lobster dinners. The Thai restaurant was as authentic Thai food as I have ever had. Excellent. In fact all the food was excellent save for the flimsy brugers at the grill. The patties were good and so was the popcorn and ice cream, although the ice cream could be open till midnight. Not once did we get an inkling of an upset stomach. The Buffets had good variety and themes so we liked it and the Cricketers Pub was another option which served a very good fish 'n chips and a lot of people feasted on the mozzarella sticks!

The beach is calm and not authentic but honestly I couldn't care less. It was clean, waiters came around with ice cream and the weather was brilliant. Didn't do any water sports but it was never my intention but did notice to a lack of watersports compared to other resorts. The Red Lane Spa was excellent and the air conditioned gym was great as well.

This resort is about couples getting away and being taken care of in 5 star fashion. If this is what you want, you will not be disappointed. The people make the place and the entire staff is phenomenally good at what they do. They call you by your name, and you do that to them. People like Sygurd, Dwayne at Cricketers or the loveable and huggable Verna at the swim up bar...they make your trip. Sure the roof looks rickety and it is not a new state of the art resort, but it was just as good 10 years ago as it was this time.

  • Liked — The people ,the food, concierge service, accomodations
  • Disliked — No ice cream after 8pm, rickety roof appearance,
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank coladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

A few years ago we went for a week at Sandals Royal Caribbean. The hotel is outdated and needs some major improvements. It was so outdated that it was hard to enjoy ourselves, especially in the room. The grout on the floors and shower walls made us very reluctant to walk barefoot or shower. The bedroom furnishings looked like the original furnishings, the mattress wasn't at all comfortable and the chairs and table were all wobbly and uneven. On our 4th day the power went out a few times and on day 5 the power in our block of rooms went out and stayed out for over 10 hours. We were then temporarily put up overnight in a room that had power, it was 2 categories lower than the room we had but it looked so much more modern than ours. The hot tubs were always too cool,water level too low and some of the jets didn't work. The swimming pool was shut down way too early every evening and there were never enough floats. In 7 days we never were out early enough to get a float. To me the accommodations is 90% of the trip, if the room isn't nice it really negatively affects the vacation. We have been to most of the other Sandals resorts and this one just doesn't compare. The housekeeping service really leaves much to be desired, you never know when or if they are coming to clean your room, if they do they only make up the bed and give new towels they don't clean anything during the stay nor will they change the sheets if you don't ask. The only thing we somewhat enjoyed is our dining experience.

Overall I would say this is probably the worst hotel we have ever stayed in on vacation.

  • Liked — location and distance to air port
  • Disliked — our room
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank roxy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musicteachtravel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We stayed at the Sandals Royal Carribbean in July 08. I have read many reviews on this site before going there and I will expand on some of the good and bad things people have said.

Airport lounge- From reading earlier revews I was expecting this to be better than it was. First, you are made to believe there will be champagne avliable to you upon arrival, I found this not to be true, just Red Stripe beer and fountain pop. When we arrived, since this is a sandals/Beaches(kids-family resort) combined lounge every seat in the place was taken up by a family and their kids. There were out of control kids running around, cutting line for the fountain pop and it was a Disney environment, not really something a couple would relax in. Some people mentioned they were quickly taken away by shuttle to their resort, if 15 minutes is quick then okay. The shuttle stops at Mo Bay Sandals before Royal and takes about 15-20 minutes to get there.

Arrival/Check-in--We were greeted by the general manager when we stepped off the shuttle (very cool) and he escourted us to a couch in the lobby where we were finally offered that champagne they talked about and rum punch, the rum punch is nice. Check in was taken care of while sitting on the couch, a nice touch to start our vacation.

Room- I have yet to see someone who will admit to booking the cheapest room, the deluxe room, we did. I think we were upgraded for free because we had a patio, garden view and were 15 yards from the beach, if this is the cheapest I have no problem with that. The room was like that you would find at a motel 6 or super 8 here in the US. There was mold in the shower, dirt on the floor especially in corners, and the shower at times was down to a trickle. There was construction going on at the resort which could explain the water pressure. At different times during the day we had no water, called the front dest and it was back on soon, again perhaps due to the construction. Some other people paid for beachfront upgrades and others get them free...nobody really hung out at their balconys or patios if they were beachfront so if you are on a budget like we were, dont feel bad you can have your pick of prime real estate on the beach.

Beach- People have complained about its size, it is small but didnt really bother us, weve been to tropical islands and it really wasnt much of a shock. If you frequent the east coast us beaches, you might have trouble with this one. If you like to walk the beach, its not really good for that, but there was always a space for us to sit in the chairs.

Food- some have said the beach bar cheeseburger is great, we tried it and felt burgerkings whopper kills it. The breakfast buffet is ok, nothing special. Dinners were nice, we had 5 course meals every night. The food is presented in a high class fashon, it just doesnt taste high class...it is good through so dont worry about it. Our favorite restaurants were the Regency because you can eat outside and watch the sunset and the pavillion because of the good caribbean style food. The worst was the Royal Thai, which we tried because it was so highly talked about on tripadvisor. The food is served nothing like the other restaurants on the resort, sloppy, like you took it and piled it yourself on a plate and the taste and quality was worse than any quick chinese takeout in the US. Many couples got off the boat after return and like us, went to another restaurant for dinner to get better food.

Service- You really dont have to pay any tips...the airport shuttle driver will want one, but I think they are contracted out. The staff at sandals wear buttons saying not to tip because its their pleasure to serve. The restaurant service was better than any restaurant I have eaten at in the us, even the 5 star ones. Perhaps those who run on tips in the US could learn from these people, they are great! I do hope sandals pays them well, they really do deserve it. They are friendly, always smile, say hello to you and make sure you are having a nice time.

Activities- some of them are free too. We went snorkeling, if you have your own gear, take it, it will do better then what they offered. We werent impressed with the snorkeling because we have done it in Hawaii where there were larger, more fish and reefs with more life. The reef we were taken to didnt have much life, fish were small and hard to find. We also tried sailing. Kamar at the resort took us out of the boat and taught us how to do it, it was fun and I would recommend it.

Overall-The people working at this resort are what makes it amazing, the food just good, the room not impressive, the people above and beyond fantastic. I would go back, book the same cheap room, and aviod the Royal Thai.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Room quality
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank musicteachtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,279 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing