We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Way To Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What A Way To Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Coming to Sandals RC has made me a lifer in terms of all inclusive vacations. While I have experienced many resorts all over the world, this one was different. The staff and attention to details was extraordinary. If really felt like we, and the 2 other couples we were vacationing with were the most important people for the week that we were there. The location of our room B5112 and B5114 were awesome, private beach and pool, with a view of the private island and WOW sunrise and sunset at your eyes viewing pleasure. The staff, I'd like to should our to Andre who was our concierge, and Philip and Dameon who were the Butlers. Without the 3 of these young men, it would not have been the same. (Thanks guys) Also, having visiting privileges to the other Sandals and having all inclusive excursions. Can't beat it... We booked for 2014 as well in St. Lucia and I am sure we will visit Sandals yearly.

Room Tip: Butler service is great, but if you need to trade off the concierge honeymoon suites are awesome als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you visit with us at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We always want to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay with us and I'm glad you had a wonderful time visiting our resort. Thank you for your review. Your mention is very encouraging and helps us to ensure that we continue on this track of excellence. We can't wait to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,400
    1,037
    345
    190
    133
See reviews for
162
4,045
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was part of a 64 person group to the resort last week. The level of service, and interaction by the entire staff was outstanding. Special thanks to Obrian, Kermit, Bradley, and Dave(who makes the best 1am jerk chicken).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dklowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're so glad that you had such an incredible stay at Sandals Royal Caribbean. Thank you for your review. It seems as if every moment of your stay was made even better with the interaction of our friendly staff. I will be sure to share your comments with them.They'll be so proud to hear of your kind mention.

We hope to welcome you back soon for an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a great time at this resort. The staff was very friendly, there was a beautiful view and We had a great room. The best staff were the playmakers: Bambi, Storm, Queenie and Kermit. Favorite bartenders were Kevon, Rodane, Ashelle and Andre. The staff definitely made our stay more enjoyable. There were a few things that could use improving but I knew it was an older Sandals. The pools could use some maintenance. The food was very good but didn't wow me. You can't go wrong with this resort and we will definitely be returning to sandals. Overall it was a great trip and I would recommend it to any of my friends. If you do go, go to the pub and get a rainbow shot :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travnlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you had a great time at our resort. Your feedback means a lot to us and we will use it to evaluate all aspects of our resort. We want to ensure that your next stay is an above 5-star experience.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently visited Sandals Royal Caribbean for my aunt's wedding - stayed 7 days, 6 nights - and had a blast. The atmosphere of this resort is very romantic and intimate, rather than other resorts (Like Sandals Montego Bay, which is a little younger and festive). I was with my family and stayed in the rooms with butler service, ours and my parents were amazing! Flo and Adia (sorry for the potential misspelling!) were fantastic and so much fun. We had chairs everyday, awesome new drinks, and constant friendly service! In fact, everyone at the resort was fantastically helpful. The drinks were delicious too!

On the negative side, the food was a little bland from time to time and (though I was on the outside looking in at the wedding) there seemed to be some issues with orchestrating the wedding and other related matters, i.e. photographers, timing, etc. The resort did a great job "making right" the mistakes, however, so I'll give them snaps for that.

All in all, I'd probably go back once I save up enough money. It wasn't a cheap trip but well worth it!

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are gorgeous if you're willing to spend the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aureliasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. We're happy to read that you had a wonderful time at Sandals Royal Caribbean.

Please accept our apologies for anything that did not meet your expectations during your stay. I'm happy that we were able to make things right and you still had a great stay.

We hope to see you back in the future!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have previously traveled to sandals emerald bay, in the Bahamas, and this year went to Royal Caribbean in Montego Bay, Jamaica. Everything was perfect from the food to the room, not one complaint. And the service is beyond what you would expect at any all inclusive resort. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torontomama86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sandals Royal Caribbean. Thank you so much for your feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you at our resort. Come back to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alliance ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Beautiful resort if you like smaller more intimate instead of a high rise. The gem of this resort is their private island with a beautiful beach, pool with swim up bar and restaurant! Boats run every few minutes, so its easy to run back and forth. If I had to complain about anything, I think they could use one more restaurant, however you can use any of the facilities at the other Montego Bay Sandals which is just a short bus ride away (free). Very impressed with all they had to offer, so we are booking a trip to the Royal Bahamian next! Choosing this resort because it also has a private island!

Room Tip: Room 4105 in the Kensington Building was a lovely walk out just steps from a quiet pool and the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janny1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're so thrilled to read that you had a fantastic stay with us at Sandals Royal Caribbean. You enjoyed the lovely, intimate feel of our luxurious resort and we thank you for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future for another delightful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The most amazing & beautiful place we have ever stayed in! Fantastic people, food, drinks, accommodation!
We arrived in July 2012, and had a fabulous honeymoon. U want for absolutely nothing! Stunning surroundings & great restaurants. Wish we could holiday here every year!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillz333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're so thrilled to read that you had an amazing honeymoon with us at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We strive to offer memorable experiences for Two People in Love and I'm so glad that our great staff members were able to make your stay an incredible one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an experience that exceeds your expectations in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,163 reviews
7.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing