We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returned to paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Wheatley Heights, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Returned to paradise”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We are here now as returning guests. We came back "home" because the resort is beautiful, the room (same as last year) is perfect and the entire staff is wonderful. A very special thank you to Ellis and Hughill our butlers again, Nicole, Annecia and Danaree for their attention to details and making each day special. We definitely recommend this resort. We will be returning again. Thank you Sandals!

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice and it depends on what you like (swim up suites, beach front, etc.). W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,515
    1,070
    354
    195
    136
See reviews for
170
4,194
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first time at this resort. Before I go further, I must say that this resort is about 5 minutes away from the Montego Bay Airport, and the planes started taking off at 7:30 am. We stayed from June 28/13 - July 8/13 in a beachfront room. The room was nice, but still needed an update, which some of the more expensive rooms already received. Since this was not our first time at a Sandals, we knew what to expect from the staff. They were excellent. We've been to many all-inclusive resorts, and Sandals staff are always superior! One downfall, you had to get up very early to beat all of the butlers to some of the best seats at the beach- about 5:30 am to be exact, or the butlers take all of the best seats at the beach. The beach was well staffed with barmaids. Nicola was our barmaid and she went above and beyond for us. She was fantastic! She even made our drinks for us, because we preferred the way she made them. She was always there with a new drink even before we ordered. Having the pizzeria and bbq grill on the beach was convenient and the food was very good. All in all, this was a very relaxing holiday, however, this Sandals was not on the same level as the Sandals Whitehouse which is also in Jamaica. This could be due to the Whitehouse being removed from all other resorts, or because it is a new resort. The beach areas are small compared to Whitehouse. We would probably go to another Sandals and not return to this one.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Sandringham" building and it was great because it was beachfront. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was the perfect resort for my husband and me because all we wanted to do was chillax and that is all we did. On the third day my husband actually said " this is the best day I've had in 20 years". We liked the fact that this was not a “party resort” but still had couples of all ages and from all over the world.

Our butlers Flo, Adia, and Ian made sure we were very well taken care of. Kachen and Nicole our cabana butlers for three days were amazing. Food and drinks flowed and we never wanted for anything. Every single employee we encountered went out of their way to be hospitable and genuine. Several employees stopped by on our last day to say good bye and wish us safe travels.

The lunch food on the private island is the best. Jerk chicken & jerk sausage with an amazing gravy served with red beans & rice and steamed callaloo. Lavalo is an awesome chef who tells me this is what the Jamaicans call their comfort food. We ate on the island every day for lunch...it was that good.

There is a few areas that could be improved upon…most food was just average, pools could be refurbished, shuttle bus from the airport dirty and hot. Also, there were cats everywhere. WTF? But all in all it was the relaxing getaway we needed. The staff added more to our experience than any negative aspect detracted from it.

P.S. Club MoBay is well worth the extra $30 per person. You get to bypass immagration and security lines. The lounge was great and had a wide variety of tasty tidbits and premium drinks.

Room Tip: If you get a ocean walkout room consider getting one on the second floor because they are more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmoody36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sandals Royal Caribbean for our honeymoon in 2008 and again in 2013 for our 5 year anniversary. It is beautiful, fun, and relaxing. We booked both trips through Beach Bum vacations. Erica Clapp booked this trip for us. She was very helpful and answered all of our questions! I definitely recommend booking a vacation with her help!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LRTCWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our 7 night 8 day trip to Sandals Royal Caribbean. This has been our sixth trip to a Sandals Resort. One of the best things about the location of this resort is that it is literally only 10 minutes from the airport. You do have to put up with planes taking off occasionally but you soon forget them as you relax in paradise. On this trip we decided to upgrade our experience by getting a Butler Room. We selected the Grande Romeo & Juliet Honeymoon Private Lagoon Suite and I am so glad we did. (BTW, they just renamed the suites on the web site this week. It is now called Crystal Lagoon Honeymoon One Bedroom Butler Suite with Private Stairway.) The experience of not having to worry about anything no matter how small was a true pleasure. For instance, in the past I would have had to make dinner reservations, set up side trip activities, and spa appointments. You get the idea. With the Butler room all I had to do was talk to one of my two butlers and it was taken care of. No request was too big or too small. This was a true pleasure. Both of our butlers made our vacation a true journey into relaxation. I can never thank Hughill and Ells enough. In addition to the wonderful service the food, as always, was top notch. You also had the ability to eat at other restaurants on two of the nearby Sandals Resorts. I cannot say enough as I relaxed on the beach all day, drank my rum from early morning until bedtime, and ate spectacular food. I know that from every experience we have had ay Sandals Resorts we will continue to go to them and enjoy all that they offer.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Butler room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whgille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just came back from our honeymoon and we have nothing but positive things to say about Jamaica and Sandals Royal Caribbean. The resort is beautiful, the rooms are spacious,the food is delicious, and the staff is amazing! We decided to pay for the butler service and it was awesome. Danae and Philips were so friendly. They booked all of our dinner reservations for the week, booked our excursions, reserved lounge chairs for us at the pool/beach daily, surprised us daily with beautiful and romantic decorations in our room (bubble baths, champagne, flower petals and phrases written with Palm leaves). We would recommend dining at the Thai and French restaurant along with the Mariner's Grill & pizza place. Toyoko Joe's at Sandals Montego Bay was also delicious! Jamaica has such genuine people. We would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband Vahan and I spent 7 days at this resort the last week of June 2013 and we had the time of our life. The Staff at this resort is one of the best group of people we have met in our lives. We would like to extend a special thank you to each member of the entertainment crew who made us feel like a part of their family. Thank you to Ginger, Chicko, Storm, Richie, Nicole, D.J. Nordo, Hollywood, Solange, Robin and Bird Bird. The food was fantastic, the bartenders were great, the entire staff was upbeat. Met some very wonderful people. Have been to many destinations in the past but this is one we will return to again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maral T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,277 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,225 reviews
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing