We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned after 25 years - Still the best!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I spent our Honeymoon at SRC in '88 and were a little concerned that returning after so long and having had so many other great holidays in between,we may have been disappointed - WE WEREN'T!!
The entire experience from Sandals dedicated arrival lounge at MBJ, to departure (be sure to book "Mobay Lounge" when leaving - additional cost, but free drinks, snacks & no queueing at security etc), was outstanding.
Checking-in to our Concierge room (see tips below), was smooth & quick, and we were unpacked & ready to go, less than 90 mins after landing!
The most outstanding feature of this relatively small (and as such, personal and friendly) resort, was,the staff team which, without exception, did everything possible to make our stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. It's perhaps unfair to single out individuals, but with apologies to anyone we miss, here are some of the highlights:
Firstly around the main pool (where we spent most of our time during the day!), a big thanks to: Everton, Jeffrey, Tremaine and Neville for looking after us! To Nicola and Ashelle for keeping us stocked-up with drinks (and friendly smiles!!) and to Albert, Jagan and all the pool-bar staff for keeping us entertained! Equally, at the beach bar & grill, we were royally served by Verna, Odain, Janice and their colleagues.
In terms of dining, whereas 25 years ago there was only the Regency restaurant (still very good!), this time we were spoilt for choice! The Royal Thai, on the island, was a culinary experience, which even had its own dedicated " Asian water taxi!" Our personal favourites were however: Eleanors (Caribbean cuisine), expertly served up by Delon, Ivan,Terrence (and Keith, the proactive Head Chef!) and La Jardiniere (outstanding French cuisine) - Andre was our favourite waiter here!!
In addition to all of this, we were also impressed by the Senior staff, who all adopted a "management by walking about" ethos and were always approachable and keen to help. Special mention here for: Oakley, Horrace, the ever-busy "Eric the Engineer" and the unbeatable Edris Rhodes (thanks for everything Edris - you don't look a day older than 25 years ago!!). It would also be remiss, not to recognise SRC General Manager, Louis Grant, who sets the standard for the approachability and willingness of all the staff.
Finally, the entertainment.....staff worked tirelessly to provide activities (for those who wanted them!) but did not impose on the more sedentary guests! Well done to Ginger and the team. Also the evening provision - diverse and top quality (if a little early) - The highlight of our stay has to be the two Monday night performances by THE SILVER BIRDS (DO NOT MISS!!) - a brilliant steel band that served up a visual spectacular that was brim-full of energy. the "White" and "Jamaican" theme nights should also not be missed!
If you are celebrating a special occasion, we would also recommend the Candlelight Dinner, on the beach (or in a pier-end cabana). The additional cost of this was well worth it - thank you Maria for looking after us so professionally!!
So, all in all, another memorable trip to SRC, which we would thoroughly recommend, soured only by the fact that we couldn't get our hands on a couple of "Sandals Select" tee-shirts, despite tireless efforts from the concierge staff. Maybe next time............

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, the "Concierge Rooms" (quieter location in Kensington Block) are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leestephens969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,891 - 2,897 of 5,547 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

SRC is by far the best resort I have every been to and I travel a lot withing the states and internationally. The service is excillent and the staff omg EVERYONE IS GREAT AND ALWAYS SMILING. They make sure you are comfortable, feel at home and makes sure u don't want or need anything. Will be going back for the summer, this time for two weeks.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just got back from the Royal Caribbean in Montego Bay. Although this resort is smaller than the other Sandals we have been to it seemed more personal than some of the others we have visited. The service at the beach bar and grill was outstanding along with the pizzeria. They are all just a few steps from the beach and the bartenders and waitresses were more than happy to take your drink orders and deliver them to your beach chair. Orel and Stefan at watersports were so helpful when we encountered some problems on the Hobie Cat. The food at all the restaurants was good, but the French restaurant was exceptional. If you are a Sandals Select Member make sure to go to the evening meal especially. It was around the main pool and once again the food was quite tasty and different than other Sandals we've been too. We had a beach front room which was nice and close to two pools as well as all the restaurants. The entertainment committee has many activities available, probably the most we have seen at any Sandals. The jerk chicken was excellent at the pool barbecue, and the ribs were tasty at the beach party. The weather was in the eighties every day, with a few clouds in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Not all rooms at this resort have an oceanview, but the price is worth upgrading if you want the tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited SRC for our 35th Anniversary 2/1/13 to 2/8/13. We had never been to an all-inclusive before, so were not sure what to expect. We booked the Honeymoon Beachfront Suite with Butler Service.
Trip through the airport was smooth, but we arrived on a Friday. Others told us of long lines at immigration if you fly in on a Saturday. Sandals Lounge at the airport was crowded, but we quickly found our "escort" who took us to the van for the trip to the resort. While Sandals does not allow tips, the three people who handled our luggage and drove the van made it clear they were not Sandals employees and expected tips.

Short 10 minute ride from the airport, which is one reason we chose SRC. Our room was not ready, so our Butler, Phillips, took us to the beach grill for lunch. I was very disappointed in the hot dog and fries, can honestly say I never knew a hot dog could lack any flavor whatsoever. Husband's hamburger was fine. After what seemed like a long time, really only an hour, Phillips arrived to take us to our room. We had requested a first floor room, but none were available. We were initially disappointed over being on the 2nd floor, but are now glad that we were not on ground level. There is a sidewalk going right by the patios, and if you want any privacy, upper levels are the way to go. Didn't even mind the stairs, especially since our luggage was delivered to the room and picked up when it was time to leave. We were in the Balmoral building, which is away from the main beach, and very quiet. Balmoral or Kensington would be the best if you are looking for quiet relaxation.

The room was somewhat dated, but had a separate bedroom and living room, great comfy bed, two flat screens, plenty of closet space, and well-stocked bar and fridge. Bathroom was small, but functional. Did experience many little ant-like bugs on the mini-bar area. Originally thought they were from the flowers, but even after we removed the flowers they returned. I did not complain to management until we were checking out, so they obviously didn't ruin the trip.

Loved the beach, and the private island. Butler service was great, Phillips and Curtis found us every day around 4:00 pm and delivered a snack. We are really not butler-type folks, but it was great to have beach chairs reserved and a stocked cooler waiting for you. Just let the butlers know where you want chairs each day, and they are there! They also booked our excursion for us, arranged for a cab for off-property trip to Margaritaville, and made all dinner reservations. They actually came to the room to "pick us up" and escorted us to the restaurants. Curtis set up a great dinner on our balcony on our anniversary, complete with white-glove service. Was great to be pampered.

The resort is under the flight path and we enjoyed waving at the planes when they went by. Didn't mind them at all. We're not big drinkers, but I immediately loved the Dirty Banana, Jamaican Smile and Miami Vice drinks. Am now definately a fan of Appleton Rum! We are going to try and perfect them at home now. Beach waiter service was great. About the time you finished one, they would appear to get you another.

Evening entertainment was enjoyable, but probably not exciting enough for a younger crowd. The average age of the folks was around 40 to 50, with a few honeymooners in the mix. Agree that if you are looking for a night-club atmosphere, you may want to look elsewhere. It was perfect for us.

Truly paradise weather. Rained briefly two mornings, but quickly moved on and nothing but sunshine and island breeze. The grounds are meticulously groomed, the staff go above and beyond to keep everything beautiful.

Loved this resort, and booked another trip for next year. Same room, same butlers. The butler service is not essential to enjoying the resort, but I do think they get first pick of the reservations at the restaurants. We picked the date and time for the Regency, french and thai dinners.

We purchased a photo album just before check out, and in the confusion of getting checked out and to the airport, I could not remember what I did with the album. The next day, after we got home, we searched the luggage and could not find it. In a panic, I called the front desk, and was transferred to the butler office and talked directly to Phillips. He remembered seeing me put the album in a front pocket of our large luggage, so we looked there and found the album. Phillips was prepared to go to the photoshop and replace the photo cd and album for us in the event we couldn't find it. This is an example of the great service we received.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dandg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our second trip to the Royal Caribbean. It is our favorite. The staff is excellent, especially Valenti with the water sports! They were so nice and helpful. The food was excellent. We will be going back very soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotwheels_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Royal Caribbean. This was our 2nd year. This resort is smaller and more personable. The entertainment committee (especially Dora and Hollywood) helped make the trip a memorable stay. We upgraded our scuba qualification with Paul. He is an outstanding instructor. The food: Italian, Japanese, French, Jamaican were al outstanding. We'll definitely return again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCOACH_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I visited the Royal Caribbean last week (3/16-3/23/13)while we were staying at Sandals Montego Bay. The property was phenomenal! The jerk chicken was much better here than it was at Sandals Mo Bay. We fell in love with the Royal Thai, and the island itself. We went back to the island during the day to enjoy the romantic feel of the island. Rhonan, the bartender, made sure our drinks were made to our liking. All of the staff members are awesome! One of the waitresses asked us where we'd been when we went back; other staff members also greeted us warmly and familiarity even though we weren't staying there. We visited the RoyalCaribbean four out of the seven days we were in MoBay. We will definitely stay at the Royal Caribbean next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 518-DivaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,485 reviews
53.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,311 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,862 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 64 in Montego Bay
5,463 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $440 - $1,144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing