We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Amazing vacation! Sandals far exceeded all of my expectations. Everyone was extremely helpful. Scuba diving was not the Great Barrier Reef but much better than i had expected. Room was stocked with Rum and beer everyday. The private island was neat but kinda got bored with it quick. Pools were amazing but the hot blond on the beach everyday was the best part ;) Nightlife was great! You can either join in on the festivities or find yourself by a fire watching the sunset. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: We splurged and got the beachside walkout room. Best idea ive had in a long time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterGriffin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,039 - 3,045 of 5,638 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day vacations from the Sandal Royal Caribbean. A 10 minutes drive to get to this resort. We booked a room that was facing the Ocean and we loved it. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the evening restaurant a la carte was amazing, make sure you book early to get in. You have access to all Sandal restaurant which require reservation. We missed the Italian restaurant in Sandal Montego Bay that we heard it was very good. The front desk people were amazing and Tennese was very helpful in helping my husband to get our anniversary celebration happening. I was surprise. Great work. Other people that help us thru the day when we needed help or questions Roxroy, Nicola, Rushell.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LianeandDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Let me start by saying that this resort comes straight out of a fairtale story book. At our arrival at Kingston International Airport, we were quickly greeted by Sandals Representatives and escorted to our awaiting transportation. Though the drive was about 3 hours long, our driver was very informative about Jamica's rich history, which we greatly enjoyed. We were also able to try a variety of dishes throughout our journey.

At our arrival at SRC, we were greeted by the manager who was quick to extend any level of assitance which we may require, and escorted us to checkin. Our butlers, Hughhill and Ellis were quick to acknowledge us and we were swiftly escorted to our rooms. You could not ask for anyone better than these two guys, professional and down to earth. At the sight of our room, we were amazed by its decor and warmth. At this time, we felt like we were in another world.

By the next morning, we were being greeted with smiles and greeting by most of SRC staff. As we arrived for our first breakfast, we were startled to find such a wide array of dishes available. With such mouth watering dishes and the cool Caribbean breeze, one could ask for nothing more.

As each day passed, we were able to experience all the restaurants at the resort and even those and Montego Bay. Dinner at the island was very romantic with a short boat ride under the moonlite sky, great food and impecable service. We must say though our favourite meals were from the Regency.

Special thanks to , once again our great butlers, Ellis and Hughhill, Shellyann who took care of each morning at breakfast(great chocolate ) , Everlyn whom ensured our rooms were extremely clean and comfy, Anton at the water sport facility, and so much more (can't remember their names).

In all, an excellent location for a vacation, wedding, honeymoon, whatever the event. We had a blast for our Honeymoon and will be visiting soon again. Just remember one thing, "Walk with nothing leave with a lifetime of memories!!!

Room Tip: Penthouse Rooms which are lcoated on the third floor of the Clarence Building provide the most pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clint A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just got back, and it's long, so bear with me...

Pros:
all star treatment- as soon as you land, you're whisked to the Sandals lounge at the airport where there is food and beer and you wait for the shuttle to come. When you arrive at the resort, you're handed a cool towel and a strong rum punch before being led to your room. We booked somewhere in the middle tier (no concierge service) and were still treated quite nicely as soon as we arrived.

proximity to airport- so close to the airport; maybe a 15 minute shuttle ride.

rooms- clean, cool (great air conditioning), nice balcony, refrigerator in room, clean bathrooms. Nothing was spectacular about our room, but everything was good enough. The bed was huge and while not the most comfortable, certainly fine to sleep on.

beach- small but not crowded. We were both sort of surprised when we saw how much smaller the beach is than in the pictures. You can walk the whole length and back in 6 minutes. It's also very shallow, but it never felt packed. We came down first thing in the morning to reserve chairs (a must as everyone with concierge service will have chairs reserved for them) and only one day did we wind up chair-less.

water sports- free kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, stand up paddle boarding, and snorkeling. We took advantage of all of it and were surprised with the quality of the free snorkeling. They took us out to a coral reef and gave us 30 minutes of snorkel time totally free.

resort- beautiful, so well maintained, lots of seating both in and out of the sun. Also, you're able to take a bus to Sandals Montego Bay, so we spent a day there and were blown away by how beautiful it was there too.

spa- I paid for a 50 minute massage, and it was great and totally relaxing. Worth the price. I wish they would be up front with the pricing though. I paid $120 beforehand and was still charged an additional $15 afterwards. It's not the money, I just wish they would have said so.

staff- the best part! The staff was so amazing and friendly. They really went out of their way to say "hello" "good morning" and ask you how you were doing. It felt above and beyond what you'd expect from a resort. Every single person from cleaning people, to landscaping people to waitstaff was so friendly with a big smile and a nice greeting.

Cons:
dress code- my biggest con. We probably should have done our homework more, but we weren't aware of the strict dress code. They're not too hard on women, but men are expected to wear close-toed shoes (like loafers, not even boat shoes) and either pants or tailored shorts to almost ever dinner restaurant. Also, they were very strict about bathing suit cover-ups being worn inside. Again, maybe we should have read more, but it felt so odd to be lounging on the beach then expected to dress up like we were at a country club every night especially because none of the restaurants were that nice. We're really not rubes either, I swear! Both of us are generally very nice dressers, but we couldn't understand why beat-up loafers were more acceptable than cute, well made sandals. It was just weird. They were more strict about elaborating on the dress code than enforcing it though, and my fiance got away with jeans and sneakers twice.

food- it's not great. Everything is really well presented and fresh, but I'd probably stick to the Caribbean options and beach fare next time. We tried every restaurant on our resort and were only really wowed by the Caribbean and seafood options. The much-celebrated Thai restaurant really missed the mark. It tasted more like take-out Chinese food. It wasn't bad; it just wasn't Thai. Also, if you're a grazer, you might have a tough time. We always felt really well fed during meal times, but there were lots of times where we just wanted a snack, and there really aren't any options available for that. We ended up buying some snacks from the gift shop to keep in our room, but it was a bit disappointing for an all inclusive. Honestly, I think you only get your money's worth from the all inclusive from the drinks and not the food.

food service- so, so friendly, but so awkward. The servers were all absolutely wonderful in that they were generally friendly and lovely. They are a bit awkward though. They came over to check on us almost every 3 minutes while we were eating which made it a bit challenging to really talk. Also, my fiance proposed there (!!) and while he was in the middle of his proposal, our server felt the need to come over and drop the bread. Just right in the middle of his speech. It was more funny than anything, but be prepared for some awkward dining experiences.

check out- check out is at 11 regardless of when your flight is. It seems like the all star treatment didn't really last to the end of the vacation as they were supposed to come get our bags, but they never did.

Verdict: We really liked it. I know I listed a lot of cons, but I'm just trying to be thorough. Overall, it was so relaxing and beautiful. The staff is friendly and helpful, and you really will have a totally relaxed time. We'd go to Sandals again in the future. We might even go to Sandals Montego Bay. We picked Sandals Royal Caribbean because we'd heard Montego Bay was a non-stop party central, but it didn't seem that way at all when we went there. We're 25/27 and we felt like Royal Caribbean was just a little old. The majority of guests there seemed to be retired. Montego Bay felt a little more our age. The regional style food is better than the other offerings, and the drinks are plentiful and strong!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Trip was another success, had great weather, room on the beach, food was very good as usual, and we book for another trip in 2014. The only thing we would do differently is NOT depart from JFK, it is a nightmare, told over 2 hours in immigration line, and not very helpful to get to Federal circle to catch a shuttle back to my car.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lefty607625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Carol and I simply wanted a place to relax and wiggle our toes in warm sand. We were delighted with the beaches and the service. We upgraded to a butler who reserved our beach chairs every day. he also packed a small cooler with beer and soft drinks. The cooler was handy, but unnecessary because of the good service by the wait-staff even on the far reaches of the beach. The room was great. The mattress was wonderful, we slept soundly. BTW the drinks were very good. We have stayed at other all inclusive resorts where the drinks tended to be a bit watered down--not these. We had a nice veranda and a great view overlooking the property. We spent a good deal of time out there in the evening. We could hear the music from the main stage wafting up without the press of the crowd. Some of the food was wonderful--other not so much. I would advise anyone curious to stick with the seafood and chicken dishes. My two experiences with the beefsteak lead me to believe that the cows in Jamaica are a lot tougher than those stateside. Also, apparently the chef was afraid to trim out the fat and gristle. Other than beef the food was very good. We especially enjoyed being able to get burgers and pizza on the beach by walking up and ordering them--total walk 75'. One night we enjoyed the Thai restaurant which is located on the private island. We decided to go back the next day and take advantage of the clothing optional beach (What the hell, we're never going to see these people again!). The beach opens around 9 AM and we took the boat over at around 10:30 AM. On the way over we shared the boat with two 20 something beauties, one of them expressing some reservations, and the other assuring her that "When in Rome do as the Romans do." SWEET! Carol and I went to the designated section of beach which is fairly small and sighed with disappointment. All the beach chairs were taken by people wearing more clothing than i had seen on any other beach. I'm talking about knee length shorts and tank tops or tee shirts. It looked like a small school of beached junior whales, or perhaps a break in a convention of Presbyterian minsters. We took our mandatory pictures and left. We found seating off to the side and watched the aforementioned beauties mount the bridge that leads to the clothing optional area. The look on their faces was priceless. They beat a hasty retreat looking as if they had just starred into the pit of Hell. Overall the trip was one we plan to repeat next year. I think most anyone would be highly satisfied with a week at this Sandals. Just don't count on the clothing optional beach for tiilasting excitement!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are more desirable. Less noise, and by the time you get there you have tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_Davis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites with a water view. What a great time. 7 nights and 8 days. We would go again in a heart beat. The service was impeccable. We had breakfast delivered to our room every morning. The food in all the restaurants was delicious. We were here many years ago, October 2002, so I guess our review isn't relevant--but it was great!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,601 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,565 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,972 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
6.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $487 - $1,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Unique Vacations Inc, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing