We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our first trip out of the counrty, and everyone one at the Sandles Resort made us feel just as if we were family & friends the resort was very clean, and it was a good value. It was a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: I would ask for the conciour room best for the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,199 - 3,205 of 5,773 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our stay at Sandals was wonderful. We had absolutely no problems during our stay. The property was beautiful, although there is not much beach to walk. The entertainment staff such as Hollywood, Ginger and Richie Rich kept the crowd always busy. The bar staff and wait staff were very friendly. This is a great get away.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtwmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My travel agency Avoya offered a pass for $102 apiece. My daughter & I wanted to spend day at decent Jamaica resort/beach and not do the usual tourist stuff. Island Routes provided the transportation from the port. I did a separate blog on them and found their meet up directions confusing causing several of us to arrive about an hour later then necessary. The resort was smaller then expected but clean. Nice pools and bars. The beach was clean and nice. There were plenty of staff to bring you a drink plus nearby beach grill and create your own brick oven pizzeria. We also ate at the buffet for lunch and found a good variety of foods. In addition we went out on Hobie Cat with a staff member which was fun. I'm a sailor and it was a windy day. They have nice sandy swimming area and there's a launch that takes you for 5 minute ride to their 'island'. Please take your towels with you because they were out and didn't replenish that afternoon. Off to left there is nudist beach which we didn't utilize. In middle is bar with swim up bar and hot tub. It was hard to get staff attention to get a drink. We did bring our own snorkel equipment and found decent snorkeling with reef in front of pool. The water is clear and shallow. Overall, we enjoyed our day pass to Sandals just wish Island Routes had gotten us here in time to enjoy our fully promised time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Sandals Royal Caribbean has turned into an every year visit (sometimes twice!) for my wife and I. We first visited there in 2006 while staying at Sandals Montego Bay... They were in the process of building the swim up suites at that point and we decided that when were done, we would be there to see what the hubbub was all about... Now, we have been so spoiled by the staff at SRC, we have a hard time going to any other resort! Are there bigger resorts? Sure... Are there fancier resorts? Yup... BUt you will not find a better group of people than at SRC.. Butler Ellis and Hughill are second to none... Evelyn, the housekeeper is amazing (And sweet!) Kevin aka Big Bird is a trip and a half... we do miss Ernest the bartender though... We have NEVER had a request that was too grand for them not to fulfill from a request for a certain soda that my wife likes to a AMAZING birthday party/dinner for a friend that a went with us... They had never been there... but were treated like royalty! There was even another couple that went with us that had booked a lower room category that we did that was across the resort from us... The resort was less than capacity so we asked if they could get a room a little closer to the other two couples.. We went snorkling and came back, their clothes and luggae were moved to an upgraded room in the building over... Sa...WEET! I see people nit picking about things on here and have to wonder.... if the beverages aren't to your liking, Ask.... If you want different meal... ask... if you want more food...ASK! As of this writing, we have been to SRC 7 times and will be there ins a couple of weeks...We'll enjoy a Red Stripe for ya!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaLlama1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

In 2000, a year and a half after our marriage, we decided on Sandals Royal Caribbean as our honeymoon spot. Never having been anywhere, we were of course pleased with our vacation. 13 years later, we decided to return to our honeymoon vacation spot only to be pleased even more. (By now we have been on several vacations in other parts of the Caribbean) The resort has been renovated in areas and added onto in others. The staff is in constant maintenence of the grounds keeping it lush and gorgeous. As a third time guest of Sandals (we went to Negril a few years ago), we were treated to an awesome upgrade into a room that could have housed another couple it was so large and beautiful. it had a stocked fridge and cabinet full of whatever we needed. It was a nice view of both the resort and the ocean in one. It was quiet enough on our balcony to take a nap and loud enough to hear what may be going on in the main pool. I can not say enough about the friendly staff at this resort from the Watersports workers (Stefan and Valentine) to the outgoing and fun playmakers (Chiko, Richard, Hollywood, Storm) and of course, one can not forget the bartenders that are in constant demand (Albert, Adrian and Dominec). The food was top notch and we experienced as much of it as we could. Our late night server Andrea was always serving up with a smile! I came back 5 lbs heavier....oh well. There was enough activity to keep you busy and enough lounge chairs to be lazy. There is nothing like the Jamaicain people to put your mind and body at ease. It was a truly rejuvenating vacation and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in the Clarence set of rooms on the second floor facing the ocean and found it to be perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NettiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel was quite charming and the staff were always pleasant, friendly and would go out of their way to help you out with anything. The food was excellent! You should esp try the Thai restaurant and ask for Andre. He went out of his way to make our dining experience superb! I utilised the services at the Red Lane Spa and had the private candle light dinner, which I would highly recommend. Sandals also went out of their way to leave surprises in our room from time to time, such as champagne, rose petals, fruits etc and free of charge. I preferred this resort to the Montego Bay resort, because of its exclusive feel and the fact that it was much less noisy (the Montego Bay resort was next to the airport runway and had airplanes taking off every few minutes which was noisy) The offshore island was like a paradise island getaway and one of those islands you would see in magazines! What I loved about Sandals was their "stay in one play in all" policy - as my husband and I were able to visit and take advantage of facilities/have lunch/dine at the other Sandals resorts in Montego Bay. The shuttle was timely and I must say that the service at all of the resorts was impeccable. I would definitely reccomend you stay at this Sandals resort!

Room Tip: Get a ocean view room. So wonderful to wake up to that lovely view every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shivana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am writing this note in relation to our recent stay at the Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort in Monetego Bay, Jamaica. Our stay was plagued with one issue after another, in short, a very disappointing vacation to say the least.

The first issue encountered was with the pick-up service at the airport. We thought Sandals prided themselves on their ‘all inclusive’ vacation packages however we were quick to be reminded that the porters and transport staff were not affiliated with Sandals. These people were also quick to remind us that their services are usually followed with gratuities (to quote the porter “I’ll take care of you and you’ll take care of me”). It’s not that we do not believe in tipping, which we still did in this case, we just didn’t appreciated Sandals ‘washing their hands clean’ of what would/might have conspired with the service provided by the luggage handlers and transporters.

When we arrived at the Sandals resort, we were in no way greeted like valued guests. We were checked in by the Bell Hop, informed of a few of the hotel amenities while being shown to our room and then left to fend for ourselves. We have always been told and led to believe that Jamaican people are one of the friendliest people on Earth…we did not see this during our stay. Bartenders and Servers gave us the impression that they were doing us a favour and not the other way around. We did not expect them to bow at our knees…but common courtesy would have been nice.

Once in our room, we wanted to relax (in our room) with a refreshing alcoholic beverage. When we opened the mini fridge we were surprised to discover that all what had been stocked in the fridge were non alcoholic drinks…not even a can of beer! It only got worse from here, when we called the front desk to have wine and beer brought to our room, we were informed that this type of service was not in our category of room we were booked in. By this point we were starting to feel like we were just cattle being herded into a stable…might I add for $5200.00 USD…not at all what we expected. After hanging up the phone, we decided to speak with the Hotel Business Manager since we did not want the remainder of our stay continuing the way it began. He was very apologetic and patient while we described the incidents at hand thus far. He informed us that he would ensure that a bottle of house wine and beer would be brought to our room each day during our stay and that any other issues should be brought to his attention. This somewhat appeased us for the moment however, we were quick to discover that the promise for in-room alcohol fell short for at least 4 of our 7 day stay. We didn’t feel we were being unreasonable with our request to have alcohol in our mini fridge. We have stayed at lesser ‘star rated’ resorts in the past, and have always had the ‘mini fridge’ be a ‘mini bar’, i.e. stocked with alcohol.

We were also shocked and dismayed by how we were presented a price list at the restaurant for premium wines. We thought Sandal’s prided themselves on serving premium wines as part of the all-inclusive packages, only to find out this was not the case…once again, very second rate and nickel and diming in our opinion.
When we booked our vacation, we were informed on the website that there would be a $150.00 USD and $100.00 USD Red Spa credit forthcoming. When we visited the spa to inquire about these credits we were informed that we had entered into a black-out period and that the credits could not be used. What is interesting is that although the credits had a “some conditions apply” caveat, we could not find these conditions on the website. I suspect if we would have hired a lawyer to read all the Terms and Conditions that come with Sandals bookings, they would have located these ‘not so easy to find’ conditions. Either way, we were left without any credits to the spa and basically out $250.00 from what we were originally promised.

And speaking of “some conditions apply”, almost every promotion Sandals offered on the resort grounds had conditions associated with them…and employees were very, very quick to inform us of the conditions after they had “roped” us in on the deal. The resort shop was a good example of this where we were lead to believe we would get a 30% discount on purchases over $80.00 USD…after spending $159.00 (on that one trip…not counting the previous $100.00 USD we had spent), we left with an exciting gift of a cheap place mat and a shooter glass…which we ended up leaving in our room….very tacky and second rate in our opinion.

Another issue we had was with the “reservations required” restaurants. I can appreciate the need to have ‘some’ of upper scale restaurants requiring reservations, however, the restaurants were so booked up that we only managed to book two nights at these restaurants during our seven day stay. The other nights we were once again, left to fend for ourselves like cattle at your buffets. Buffets are fine every now and then, but they grow old really fast. Again, very disappointed with this particular service.

Things did not improve greatly throughout our stay. At times, we had to call to have our room made up or bathroom sundries brought to our room. By the end of our trip, all flatware and glasses that were in our room at the beginning of our trip were no longer there. They had been removed over the seven days of our visit and never replenished. Once again, we would have thought that these services would have been part of the $5200.00 cost of our stay and that we wouldn’t have had to request them on demand.

To end the trip off, when we checked out, we informed the front desk that we had not received our 10% discount from the gift shop for a purchase made totaling $159.00 USD. The front desk acknowledged that as Sandals Select members we were entitled to this discount. After waiting at the front desk for over 20 minutes while they attempted to sort out the issue with the resort gift shop, we were told we had to return to the gift shop and discuss the issue directly with them. It was not explained to us why this could not be settled at the front desk…instead, it was their way of ‘getting rid of us’ and turning the problem onto someone else. Unfortunately, we are already in jeopardy of running late for our airport shuttle and informed the front desk that if they could not issue the 10% credit from their computer terminal, we did not have time to run to the gift shop and chase people down…we were quite fed up with all the running around we had received over the entire trip as it was already. They acknowledge our comment but did nothing further to resolve the issue. Once again yet another disappointing experience to an already ‘spoiled’ vacation.

And that was our vacation...seven days of frustration and out $5200.00....it will be the last $5200.00 Sandals gets from us, that I can guarantee.

Room Tip: Nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We're so sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. This is certainly not our standard and we would like to correct the situation and make things right. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to turn this around and offer the luxurious experience for which we are known.

Thank you for your feedback. I look forward to making contact with you regarding this matter.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,747 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,702 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $470 - $1,359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing