We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned from our trip. Must say it was amazing. We had a fabulous time. Have no complaints at all. The food was great. Although we werent able to get in to the french restaurant, we were satisfied with eating at The Regency. We had great service all around the resort. Our room was well kept and cleaned each day, and the fridge was kept stocked. We will surely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurawag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,164 - 3,170 of 5,713 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

This year was our fourth time to this resort as we are treated so well and made to feel special. We stay in the Kensington Building which is comfortable, quiet and has lovely views from the balcony. All the staff are wonderful and could not do any more to ensure that each day is enjoyable. The friendliness of the playmakers makes it easy to engage with other guests and we have made many new friends. We have returned home feeling fitter due to the excellent Aquacise workouts led by Robin. The Sandals Foundation does great work and our visit to the Eleanor Morris School in Lilliput was a highlight. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

First & foremost we must thank Oakley (Director of guest serv.) He changed our room to better service my husband. Next where do I begin to name all the great people that made our stay soo nice. Playmakers- Tovian,Ginger,Holywood,Kara,Chico,Richie Rich. Bar, Verna & Jagan. Pool staff, Neville wonderful. Cricketiers- Kevin (Big Bird) great smile and mind blowing tricks. Ricardo always had a great smile on at the breakfast buffet. Great way to start the day. Can't forget Odane- Mariners Beach Bar. He always took care of us. Concierge Nicolas went above and beyond to bring the head chef to see my husband. He wanted lobster tails because he had been looking at them for months on the internet and we didn't see them on any menus. Well chef Glenroy Walker made it happen and they were fabulous!! If I missed anybody I'm sorry. Oh Yeah, the entertainment was fabulous also. We will definetely be returning to Sandals Royal Caribbean in the future. Thanks you for a GREAT vacation

Room Tip: We loved Windsor bldg. It was close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent a week at Negril and then moved onto SRC for 11 nights. We are Platinum guests and so 1 week at SRC was our 7 night complimentary stay and 4 nights we paid for. We were given a private transfer to SRC and arrived around lunchtime. Check-in was smooth and we received a one category upgrade. Our first 4 nights we enjoyed trying out the various restaurants and exploring the resort. Following the first 4 nights we changed room for our 7 night comp stay which was in a concierge room in the Kensington building at the far end of the resort. (Your complimentary stay with Sandals is based on the average room category of your previous stays and you get 7 nights free after 70 paid nights)The new location was good but after only 1 night the A/C unit failed. Having just moved room (and having had a room change at Negril also) we were getting tired of packing and unpacking. However staff were very helpful and offered us a choice of room including a wonderful Grande Honeyroom Suite with private stair down to the crystal lagoon. The suite was fantastic and we enjoyed some wonderful times there. It was close to all the resort facilities, the crystal lagoon pool was lovely to sit and relax during the day. After a day or so we forgot about the earlier room hassles and loved the rest of our stay.
The island makes for a great change of scene, we had great fun in the piano bar one night, enjoyed the spa and a trip with the Sandals Foundation to a local school.
We also enjoyed a trip to Dunns River Falls and Mystic Mountain which was a wonderful experience and highly recommended.
So this was our 7th Sandals stay and probably one of the best.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank serviceace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Inconsistencies in amenities (same room accommodation - some w/liquor, some w/o; some w/butler, some w/o). Needed a ladder to climb into bed! Food was so-so. Needed a flashlight to see menu & what you were eating. Hard to get dinner reservations. Other all-inclusive resorts deter any tipping (employees can lose their job); not here. Won't go to another Sandals Resort. A/C was almost non-existent; set on 60; felt like 75. Some areas ready for refurbishing; pool tiles missing, cracks.

Room Tip: Try Excellence Resort or a Secrets Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mar4rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a great stay at the Royal C with the help of Hayley from Beach Bum Vacations. Hayley helped prep us for our stay by answering my numerous questions via email. She definitely went above and beyond and we will use them in all our future travels. Once we got accustomed to the culture of the resort and how it all ran, it provided us AMAZING food, great entertainment, along with relaxation. A couple pointers for first timers, know that they have a laid back attitude, there not the fastest. I think its in their culture and once you accept it, it helps to guide your expectations so you're not disappointed. You may have to ask twice or even a third but know you will get eventually what you want. There will be solicitors in the ocean trying to sell you things, and we had an unfortunate event of a staffer doing that as well. The staffer did put a damper on our evening, but nothing's perfect. But it didn't overshadow the positives of the resort. If we return, feel like now we know what to expect and how to handle it, so if you're a first timer just give it a chance.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nseffrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our first trip to Sandals - St Lucia (La-Toc) Beautiful view from our walk out beach front room. (Had to walk a short distance to the beach) but view made up for it. Employees were very nice. We got married on the beach & they organized everything. I only chose the cake flavor & flowers for my bouqet. Loved the pool on the second level of resort. There was one other couple & us that enjoyed the pool all week. Drinks plentiful better tasting when asked for double. Visited the other 2 resorts & very happy with the one we chose.
This visit I feel out did the first. We asked for an upgrade since it was our 10th anniversary & recieved one. When we arrived we were taken to the Concierge's office where they made us feel they were there to take care of us. Nicholas was outstanding. Anytime I stopped by with any questions he new our name & room number. Make sure to ask what restruants you need reservations for & book them right away.

Our room was well stocked with liquor as well as our refrigerator. Was very pleased we asked for the upgrade. We had a walk out room to a small beach which was 10 ft from the patio. We stayed in the Balmoral, will request the same room if possible. The building is away from all the activities so you feel like you have your own private area.

Make sure you visit Doninique in the Piano bar. He is GREAT. We did find out that we had to ask for top shelf liquor. Hollywood was also very entertaining on Kerokee/piano nights. Lots of fun. Make sure you participate to get points for your next visit.

A little disappointed with the bar area on theprivate Island. They were in the process of fixing the roof. The pool was not as clean as the others. It was nice not many people over there. Also glad we chose the Royal Caribbean over Montego Bay. When we visited the place was not kept as clean, the people not as friendly and the grounds/beaches not kept as well as ours.

Richie Rich kept the activities very entertaining. The Silver Birds & the Fire breathers were very good. The choreography for the other entertainment was great. Maybe one evening about the culture & comedians or smoething more. Water sports were nice.

Over all the expierence was amazing & would recommend to anyone. Can't wait to go back in 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the main beach area seem more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,683 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
6.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $476 - $1,412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Unique Vacations Inc, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing