We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week! Thank you, Jason and Khalil!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great week! Thank you, Jason and Khalil!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I had read all of the reviews and thought that we would be assured a decent experience. I can honestly say that our trip far surpassed my expectations! We arrived and were quickly transported from the airport to the resort. The grounds are beautifully maintained...beautiful flowers abound! Our butlers, Jason and Khalil, were both available to greet us and Khalil provided an excellent initial tour of the property. Throughout the week, it seemed that whenever we were in need of any assistance, Jason or Khalil would appear and would be so happy to assist us with whatever we needed. We aren't ones to feel very comfortable being waited on but the butler service ensured we always had reservations for dinner or a massage or for a beach cabana...it seemed that if we could describe what we desired, Jason and Khalil, would come through with it with a smile. The food was excellent. Perhaps not exactly like the Thai or French cuisine we might be accustomed to in Boston but definitely tasty and high quality. The resort was spotless and our room was picked up twice daily by Kaneisha who had to be the most friendly housekeeper we have ever met. Very quickly the waiters and waitresses as well as the bartenders seemed to get to know our names and our favorite drinks. We hated to leave. My husband and I have stayed at a RIU property as well as the Grand Palladium and the Ritz Carlton...I can speak for both of us and say that the Sandals Royal Carribean was everything we hoped it would be and more!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank taramcd38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,514
    1,070
    354
    195
    136
See reviews for
170
4,193
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here 01/17-01/23. Our experience was great and we lucked out with an amazing room right on the water. Room 4116 was in our opinion, and just about everyone that walked by, the best room on the resort. I think our experience would have been much different if we'd been anywhere else. The resort is small. I mean small. Takes about 2 minutes to walk the entire length. Previous reviews were correct in that the staff makes the resort. We didn't get to know any real well but every day from morning to night they seemed to have a smile ready and were willing to help.

The spa was not worth it. The 80 min. massage was $180 each. We paid in advance only to learn after the massage that there was a a $45 "service charge". They couldn't explain what it was for, tip Im assuming, but it was very irritating to hear them try to explain it without actually saying anything. We paid it and moved on but still irritating.

Food was ok as well. We do not have 5 Star expectations when traveling to the Caribbean so the food was fine. The bar grill with fresh pizza was excellent. Room service was top notch. We ordered something everyday and it always came quickly and was hot or cold as it was supposed to be.

We paid a little extra for concierge service. It is only worth it because of the room upgrades and the mini bar. Tipping was not necessary but we did on a number of occasions and the staff were appreciative.

The planes were a distraction but you do kind of just tune them out. Takes about 45 seconds for each one to fly over and there were about 12-15 per day.

Overall, a nice resort and we had a lovely time. If you don't want to be right on top of the people next to you all day on the beach I would consider a different property with larger beach and pool areas. We managed to find a quiet spot but only because of the room location.

Room Tip: 4116 in the Kensington Bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les_Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
127 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wow is all I can say!
Stayed here in September in a Grande Romeo and Juliet Honeymoon Swim Up with butler service and oh my gosh!!!! The room was simply amazing! Nice sitting area with comfy couch. Great sitting area outside by the swim up pool which was a perfect place to eat the breakfast the butler brought us each morning. Bed was super comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was quite relaxing. It was hard to leave the room!!
The food was good and the beach was very nice and not too crowded.
We were able to go to the beach party one night which was a lot of fun!
The service was amazing and we would recommend to anyone and would definitely return again if the opportunity arises.
You will love this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at Sandals Royal Caribbean. It was our first time with Sandals, and will not be our last. We had a Royal Honeymoon Concierge Room. This is a very nice room in building number 4, facing pool and beach. The room has a stocked bar and room service, which is very nice. We enjoyed the concierge service, with one exception I will mention in my below. What makes this property outstanding is the people that work there. Every employee you encounter the entire visit has is kind, accommodating, with a big smile. They want you to have a great time. This property is well kept, and easy to get around.

We are grateful to Sandals for a great vacation. We appreciate Kerrion who cared for our room. Nicholas and Ian, the great concierges. Terrance the great waiter, Nicola the outstanding drink server, and Verna the bartender. We did the private dining on at a gazebo. This was a memorable experience. Our white Glove Server Nickaie, did an amazing job. Calisa in the gift shop was very helpful and kind.

My suggestions if you are coming to visit, or considering this property, are that this is a property with great restaurants, activities, and staff. The Island and Royal Thai are unique and very cool. The food is great everywhere we went. I especially loved the Jerk Chicken at the beach bar/restaurant for lunch. The Jamaican Smile was our favorite rum drink. The White party was very nice, with great food and drinks. Our only disappointments were that we could not get into the French Restaurant, even though we paid for extra Concierge Service, and requested a reservation as soon as we arrived. We would try to get a reservation before we arrive when we return. They were also out of coconut rum for 4 of our 5 day stay. My wife had a hard time finding drinks she liked, because she did not enjoy regular rum. The beaches are small. This is not a place to go beach walking, so I walked around the property, and enjoyed it.
Most of the nice people we met were retuning guests. That is the real sign that this great property. We will be one of those returning guests in the future. Thank you Sandals Royal Caribbean!

Room Tip: Buildings 4 and 5 are quiet with pool and beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DURANTE0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We were so honored to have had the chance to celebrate such an important occasion in your lives. I'm so thrilled to read that we were able to meet (and exceed) your expectations during your stay. You enjoyed our delicious food, beautiful property and the genuine hospitality of our wonderful staff. I will be sure to forward your review to our managers and staff. They will all be proud to hear of your kind mention.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another truly amazing experience in the near future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

It was nothing short of delightful. We stayed in the Kensington Building with Concierge service. All service including Concierge, dining, bar, maid service was impeccable. Food was delicious no matter where you ate. Be sure to book the French restaurant way ahead of time. Don't miss the private island.
Be sure to shuttle to Sandals Montego Bay for a day and dinner as well as Sandals Caryle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet38021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. You enjoyed our beautiful property, well-appointed rooms and our high standard of luxury.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing experience in the near future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our fourth visit to a Sandals, each time a different place. The weather and Sandals "feel" were both wonderful as expected. Some comments about this particular resort: first, we love the large pools that are the centerpiece of many of the Sandals resorts, but this location does not have the large pool. Second, althought we are a middle-aged couple, we found that this resort was dominated by middle-aged couples and so if you are NOT a middle aged couple you may find the resort not to your liking. Apparently it is quite typical for folks to return to that resort year after year. The 'romantic private island' hype is way overdone. The Thai restaurant that is out there is just so-so in terms of food. The day that we were there was very very windy and that posed quite a challenge for the staff. The French restaurant, which was a real challenge to get into (reservations required--it is quite small) was disappointing. The other restaurants were fine. There is a great beach-side bar/snack bar that we frequented quite a bit...

I wish Sandals had a broader reach with couples resorts outside of Jamaica. We have been to both St Lucia Grande and to Antigua and both resorts were fabulous. Ocho Rios and Royal Carribbean were eh. Trying something different next...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Visitor-from-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I recently booked a 7 night stay at the Sandals, Royal Caribbean resort in Montego Bay and it was the best trip ever taken. We booked our stay at the end of November and the weather was great. The resort was excellent along with the food, activities, and accomodations. The trip was set up for us to get married and spend our honeymoon there. We selected the Beautiful Beginnings wedding package which is the basic package and comes free with a 6 or more night stay at any resort. The wedding coordinators prior to the trip and at the resort were wonderful they took care of everything all we had to do was show up. We chose a butler service room and our 2 butlers Tamara and Hector were the best. We would come back to our room to candles burning and a bubble bath drawn, or snacks waiting, and wonderful surprises laid out on the bed (normally towel designs with plenty of flowers or little messages spelled out with flower petals)! They were always willing to get whatever we needed if we wanted to sit at the beach or pool we always had spots reserved and a cooler waiting. From the time we arrived to the time we left the staff was amazing. My husband became a certifed scuba diver during our stay and loved every minute of the training as well as the dives. The spa is spectacular and the staff is very professional and courteous. The in room safe was wonderful and you are able to set your own passcode instead of using a key. The food/restaurants were great and delicous. The beach was small but the water was amazing and warm. I would definitely recommend staying at this resort. We have become reward members and are planning our trip back this year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,279 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing