We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place EVER......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Unbelievable Staff, Food, and Entertainment!! - Royal Caribbean really knows how to treat their guests. We had the honour of staying at the resort for 2 weeks and when we left we made incredible friends, and wonderful memories!! The beach and pool staff (Tremaine, Jeffery, Velentie)- You 3 made our vacation wonderful, the knowledge you shared about jamaica from how families are raised and ocean life was incredible. Nicola, Cleveland,Albert, Andrei, Dalton our beautiful bartenders and chefs who was always there to take our orders or even for just a good conversation. Ricardo,Chad and Karim the three of you have made our honeymoon hard to forget with all the unbelievable pictures you took of us (355 pic's in total). Lily how can I ever forget you, our maid who i feel in love with and could not wait to see her every day, leaving our room spotless with always a beautiful towel design on our bed. Devon you have hand picked one hell of a staff you should be so proud of all your water sports team. If you are planning a trip to Jamaica and want to learn about the culture and language this place is paradise. Trust me you will enjoy your self beyond words can explain.
Trista and Glen Ball Room 6108- Lickle more (means LATER in Jamaican)

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so delighted to read that you enjoyed our exquisite dining, beautiful property and our warm, friendly staff. We always want to exceed the expectations of our guests and I'm happy we were able to do that for you. I will be sure to let the staff know about your kind mention.

We hope to welcome you back soon!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,319 - 3,325 of 5,717 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

My hubby and I stayed for a week at SRC in October 2012. We booked a beachfront suite with butler service. On arrival we were introduced to Adia our butler and after a tour of the facilities, we were shown to our suite. We arrived in darkness, so it wasn't until the next morning that we got to see the view over montego bay and watch the sunrise. It was stunning. We also got to meet Flo, our other butler. We spent the whole week being pampered by Aida and Flo, relaxing in the sun on the beach, eating good food and drinking cocktails. We highly recommend the dirty banana! Aida also got us addicted to beef patties - these are a must! The girls couldn't have done enough for us. Leaving lovely treats in our mini bar each evening to nibble pre dinner, watching the sunset.
One complaint - our suite was 5408. It happens to be the suite facing the walkway and wedding gazebo. On our first day we had just got comfy on our sun loungers outside our suite, when we were asked to move by the wedding planner. She said there would be 5 ceremonies taking place throughout the day. We don't mind weddings - but what we weren't told, was that we would actually be in all the wedding shots if we lay on our beachfront or sat on our patio. We didn't want that and i'm sure the happy couples didn't either. It got a bit annoying by day 2 - and having paid such a high price, we were not happy being asked to find somewhere else to lie. We mentioned it to Aida our butler and while we were away on the private island the
next day to avoid the weddings, she moved us, without any fuss, to another suite. It was ideal. Suite 5210, upstairs with a balcony and well out of the wedding photos.

Other things to note - the private island was disappointing. It seemed a bit run down and in need of modernisation. The Royal Thai restaurant was just about average. We would stick to the mainland.

Entertainment was just ok. Though if you are going to relax it is just the place. We will be back.

Room Tip: Stay away from the wedding gazebo. Upstairs beachfront suites are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Returned to this resort again this year and had as great a time as last. Saw a lot of new workers and some of the same but all were as great and kind! They are there for everything you need or want! Had a lot of great food and fun activities!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited SRC in October 2009 and had a blast. We say wedding after wedding and how nice it was. We than decided that was what we wanted to do. And on Saturday, October 13, 2012, we did. With 14 family, friends and resort guest looking on.

I'm going to name names as I try to remember them all. First, Nicholas, he was awesome and made sure we were well taken care of and immediately took us around the property to show the upgrades including our fabulous room. Andre was also awesome. He really looked after us and I still hear him saying to me "my lady is everything okay." He arranged transportation to take our family and friends to Rick's cafe.

Our wedding planner AWESOME!!!! First we were not aware of our appointment and they were looking for us. They saw us at lunch and said we had missed our appointment. But later that day Millcent (this, I'm sure is NOT how she spells her name), meet with us. We covered every detail of our day. She is very professional and helped with every decision. Even arranging a dinner for our guest that we had not discussed. We were going to be outside for dinner and was all set up and than it begin to storm. So they rearrange everything in the Regency and set us up at a grand table and extended our guest time who were there on a day pass. She even called before we left to check in on us and to say bye, because she was going to be off the day we left. Jerome and Tonya were our servers at dinner and an awesome job they did. Jerome keep the wine coming and everyone went right to sleep after dinner.

The entertainment team... Let me just say they were entertaining. Hollywood, Chico, the DJ and the rest of the gang were awesome and kept everyone moving in their seats. They are HIGH energy and LOVE what they do at Sandals.

Our house keeper was special. She had a smile on her face every morning we saw her. And she wanted to make sure we had everything we needed in our room. It always smelled nice and clean. We saw her mopping the floor every day. So we felt comfortable walking around our room without shoes.

Words could not even express how GREAT our weddingmoon was with Sandals. I'm advising everyone getting married or renewing their vows to go too Jamaica and stay at the Sandals Royal Caribbean & Private Island. The pictures online are true!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite in the center of the property. Awesome. Our wedding guest had a room with an awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently returned from our third stay at SRC, and despite being two years since our last visit it was just like going home. The number of staff greeting us with "welcome home" and "welcome back" was astounding. We were in the Kensington Building again, and for the first time on the ground floor with direct access out onto the pool area - and this worked well for us. There was some refurbishment work going on in the other half of the building, but this was mostly in the background and not a real inconvenience. If anything it meant with 24 rooms out of action the Resort was just that little bit quieter which suited us. Yes at times there was some noise, and paint/woodstain fumes, but there was always somewhere else to move to if it became too much.

We made good use of the Concierge service to book our dining, and to get things done when needed. We've never seen the need for a butler to be honest as the Concierge do everything we need. Sadly we were too late to get a reservation at the Stewfish over at Montego Bay when we asked in our second week - so will book earlier next time! We made full use of all the food options at SRC (including the fantastic new pizzas at lunchtime) and had a lovely meal at the Italian restaurant at Montego Bay. The new pub breakfast option is a nice addition - we ate there a couple of times. As always we found all of the food and drink staff to be only to eager help. It was good talking to Jason in the pub about his ideas to revamp the evening menu there - we look forward to seeing that in place next time!

Moving on to the entertainment and the Playmakers - and once again we had an awesome time joining in all their fun and games! Every single one of them appears to work 24/7 to provide things to do. We can only say THANK YOU to the whole team for making us feel part of the family - and having a whale of time doing so! We also joined in lots of the fitness activities with Robin - aquacise for both of us, and tennis and gym sessions for Jo. The only down-side is that there's no aquacise at weekends!

Another small improvement for us was the resort photographers - they seemed a lot less intrusive than previous visits - and we appreciated that. We know some people love all the photoshoots and stuff, but for us that's not of interest, so it was great that when we said no thanks they moved along - thank you.

For us what makes SRC is the staff - and once again we found this to be the case. I do not think we met an unhappy staff member in the whole two weeks, from arrival at the Airport to loading our cases on the bus when it was time (sadly) to go home. We would have no hesitation recommending the resort, and will be shortly booking next October's return trip!

Room Tip: Kensington building ground floor rooms are great, with access directly onto the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Sandals Royal back in early May for our 20 year Anniversary. We had such an amazing time and hope to go back for our 25th!! Everything went amazingly well, we never encountered a problem! We were upgraded to a concierage beachfront room upon arrival. (Room 111), great location tucked away into a quiet area of resort with pool right there. We thought it was a great time of year to go, not to crowded! We met lots of great people and had fun playing water volleyball often. The activities crew were TONS of fun! We enjoyed the nightly entertainment, white night, and the chocolate buffet! The private island was very nice to go to, lunch there is a great choice!

Do not hesitate to book here, you will have a blast!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I only gave a 3 on service because I encountered a few problems, but over all service was fine.
This was a nice resort and this was our second trip to this resort. I believe Sandals is the best and as an experienced traveller you can't get any better in quality. Theres much to do or if you are like us we prefer to take it slow and relax. Normally we usually get butler service but this time we didn't so we got to experience service on a different level! If you want to really enjoy any one of these resorts, take the first day if you aren't to weary and learn the area and what's available. Once you know your surroundings it's a piece of cake. Also get all your shopping and photo's the day before you leave as we found the service to move very slow especially if you're about to leave for home. For the most part every one is friendly but a few individuals could use some customer service tips for example the photo shop individual. Upon arrival service could have been better to as we waited pretty long and to say we are regulars at Sandals it would have been nice to be upgraded to concierge at least!! Anyway, we made the best of our trip and thanks to the pub !! We really had a blast. The service was very nice and pleasant in many other areas so that made up for the few things that were lacking. In conclusion Sandals is our favorite allinclusive resort so we will be doing travel to other locations next year . If you haven't been to Turks you should take the kids! And other properties are amazing! As for this resort I am sure you will be happy with all the entertaiment, food, water sports, games or just relaxation. Also there's free transportation to two other sandals resorts ! Give it a try ! At least 4 nights and I'm sure the experience will draw you in as a Sandals lover!!
If you need a travel agency and are serious email info@reachtravel.net
Go to Sandals and let your love be rekindle with the one you love!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeBrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,686 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,635 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
6.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $476 - $1,412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing