We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Doesn't Get Better Than This!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
North Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Better Than This!!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

From the moment we booked this resort, I knew it was the right one! First of all, let me say that we are "seasoned travelers", having been to most Carribean Island Resorts, including Sandals in St. Lucia. This is is by far above and beyond any of them! So many words like Fabulous, Fantastic, Magnificient are the first ones that come to mind!
The number one BEST thing about Sandals Royal is the STAFF! They are the friendiest, kindest, most considerate I've ever come across in my travels abroad. They are always quick (and first) to say hello, good morning, and ask how you are and can they help with anything! There are too many to mention individually, but no matter, they are wonderful!
From the moment you arrive at the Sandals Lounge at the airport, you are on your way to "heaven on earth". Everyone smiling, helping you and greeting you, all without being "overbearing" as with some airport personnel...
The resort is exactly as pictured on the website, so no worries there folks! The photos are true!
We stayed in the Royal Beachfront Butler Suite of the Balmoral Building! We had a front door and a back door to our room! Open it up and there's the beach and ocean! What a view! You can even sit on your sofa and watch the sunrise and sunset out the window if you wanted!
Lots of counter space in the bathroom, along with glass shelves and drawers. The closet is huge, and plenty of light! The bed is sooooo comfortable! You'll not even know you're not in your own bed at home! Everything was immaculately clean! The first day I happened to pass the housekeeper in the hall, and mentioned what time we'd like to have her tidy up our room, and every day after that she was there!!! Couldn't ask for more! We always had enough towels, drinks in our frig and bar; every service was consistant. That's where the difference is between SANDALS and other 4-5 star resorts.
The cuisine is excellent. You have endless choices and they are all delicious! Remember, "You are in Jamaica, mon", you have to have JERK CHICKEN! They make the best, both at the Beach Grill and the Bamboo Shack on the Island! Do not pass it up, even if you are shy about spicy food! That's half the experience of visiting the country! You can go back to your McDonalds and fried chicken when you get home! Experiment and enjoy the different tastes that are available! You won't be dissappointed! The Thai on the Island is not to be missed! Book your reservation first thing! The French is great too! We enjoyed it so much we had dinner from there at our room one night!
The entertainment is top notch as well! The Elvis impersonator was on par with some I've seen in Vegas! Not to be missed! The steel drum band I could have listened to all night long! The Silver Bird Band is over the top! The dancers are very limber to say the least! Make sure you partake of all the "extra" things going on! There are cooking classes, towel classes, aqua aerobics, etc. All wonderful! The ENT staff are truly professional! Kudos to them all! Oh, and if you miss "Chocolate Night" you'll be sorely dissappointed! Yummy!!!!
The bulter service was more than I imagined! Our butlers were Jashayne and Orlando. They are the best! They almost anticipate your every whim! And there they are! They serve you all your meals in your room/on the patio, with smiles, flowers and candles. The "surprise bubble baths" are delightful, along with champagne! They have your chairs ready with coolers each morning and there with the drinks! All are wonderful! And all with SMILES! Big SMILES! Shout out to Tamara...she is GREAT too! They do all the "work" for you as far as checking in, out, shuttle service to the other resorts, you name it, nothing is off limits for them! Don't be shy in asking! I was, but learned fast! Nothing like having your brick oven pizza made to order brought to you in your lounge chair at the beach! Ya Mon!
Which brings me to another often overlooked point about SANDALS! All of their beach chairs, loungers, towels, umbrellas, and palapas are in tip top shape. That can't be said for any other resort (except other SANDALS locations) that we've ever been to, and I've been to dozens!!!!
The grounds are exceptionally well kept up, along with the migratory guests...peacocks and kitty cats! So sweet!
The local crafters are there once a week at the beach. You can get most anything you want at the gift shop as well. The gals there are great! They even wrapped my prize I won at Bingo Bongo! I don't think the word "NO" is in the SANDALS vocabulary!
Some folks talked about planes overhead. Yes, there are maybe a half dozen during the afternoon, but nothing that would really interrupt anything! You might look up for a second, then it's done. No worries, mon. And it certainly wouldn't deter me from returning!
Shuttle service to the other resorts is top notch. Adventure out, even though we loved Royal so much we really didn't want to!
Each day our butler brought us an unexpected "snack"...the home made potato chips are not to be missed, as well as shrimp cocktails, cheese and crackers, and yum yum sweets!
Please don't hesitate to ask any questions because I know I'm leaving many more details out.

Room Tip: For "quieter" surroundings, choose the Balmoral Building area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RetiredMama1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,556
    1,084
    356
    196
    137
See reviews for
174
4,245
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N E Lincs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks at the end of August and would like to say how wonderful each and every member of staff at the SRC were. The playmakers, Chico, Hollywood, Theo, Richie, Mel, Norda, Skye, Ginger and anyone I may have missed, were fantastic and worked so hard to ensure that guests enjoyed themselves. The food was excellent and the staff in all resturants were also first class. We also had no problems booking resturants, where necessary. Bar staff soon learned our names and what we would want to drink. I think the only disappointment was our room, taking into account the fact that the resort was below 50% full during our first week and 34% full in the second week. It was a perfectly good room, clean and newly decorated but we were returning to Sandals for the 4th time and were there for a significant wedding anniversay. We had expected a slightly better room with a better veiw. The other problem was that at the end of our first week, on returning to our room, we could not get in. Apparently it was thought that we were checking out. The room had not been serviced and took several visits to reception to finally get this sorted.
I would also like to thank David on reception and Lea the Wedding Coordinator for helping to arrange for us to renew our wedding vows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lidaymad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is our third Sandals and the service at this resort was the best. We have been to Antigua and La toc in St Lucia. Lets start off with Norda, we first met her at the orientation, then started getting more familiar with her at activities,(they do a great job getting people involved). We played beach volleyball with her and she said she never laughed so hard playing volleyball, yeah.. we were not that good. She forgot to go to dinner with us and made it up to us by writing us a poem and reading it in front of everyone. Love you Norda!! Scooby doo was also great, joking with us all week and making sure our glasses were full. We upgraded a couple weeks before going from the Deluxe to the beach front balcony room in the Windsor building, for a couple of hundred dollars, it was worth the extra money, beautiful view of the beach and the island. The only thing I would change is not being at the end because the guard was right under our balcony. We had so much fun, we didn't even leave the resort, we did the snorkel trip that was included, also fun. The grounds were emaculate, no one bothers you, not even the venders at the end of the beach. Always people going around asking if you would like anything, managers asking if we were happy. We will be returning to Sandals next year no doubt, and to beautiful Jamaica.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Loralie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We’re thrilled to read that you had an amazing vacation at our resort. Our guests always boast about our beautiful property filled with friendly staff and we’re glad that your stay was indicative of our normal standard. Our staff will be encouraged to hear of your wonderful stay! Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I dont know what to say im in lost of words this was by far the best resort ever the people are always happy to see you !! they are always smiling and they take there jobs verry serious !!! We got married september 12 2012 and the wedding was magical the tue fairytale and we had a candel light diner fo the night of our wedding day it was to die for the view the sunset wow just amamziiiiinnngggg!!! The food was realllllyyyyy goooodddd everywere we would go the jardinier was the best the lospter wow amazinggg !! The pizza place i had to have one everyday the calabrese hummyy!! We meet amazziinggg people that helped us with the wedding we are verry greatfull to all of you you made this the best week ever !! We did all the water sports snorkeling is the best we did it 3 time it was a wonderfull experience i cant waiit to go back this is my once a year vacation spot!! Dont Read the negative reviews these are people that walk with long noses !!! This place is the true fairytale experience!!! we hade a royal delux beach front room and the view is AMAZZZZIIIINNNNGGGGGGG !!!! True lovers paradise !! we much love from Montreal Chris and Andreia one love jamaica :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) im coming back soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just returned from our 126th night at Sandals and 6th stay at SRC. As usual, they wowed us. We never get tired of this place and it is ALL about the people and the service. Every time they seem to outdo themselves. Huge thanks to Tashawn from the Soon Come Back program and Hughill and Ellis our butlers. You truly made us feel at home and made this vacation even better than our previous on so many levels.


If anyone has questions, please feel free to message me.

Room Tip: you get what you pay for
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank catzzzmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I loved the service. Also the food was excellent and the drink were good. My favorite was the jamaican smile sooo good. The rooms were a good size and very clean I loved that they made cute hearts out of towels on the bed every day it felt like a cruise on land but with better drinks and food. We did discovery cove dolphine encounter and the dune river falls combo and it was perfect you have to do it. I would def go back and live it up. Thanks richie rich for making us feel welcomed and pampered iam spoiled now lol.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lexemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this resort for a week in August. We had a lagoon room called the Romeo and Juliette room which comes with Butler service.
The grounds were lush and beautiful and the room was very nice. Beautiful lagoon right attached to your room with a private patio. You couldn't ask for anything more in that respect. Internet service is available and we purchased it for the week however it was terrible. So if that is important to you I warn you ahead it is sketchy at best.
Every day the butler would reserve our chairs at the beach with our names and a cooler filled with cold beverages alcoholic and non. You are given a phone so you can call for anything that you want brought to you. They are there to serve you during your visit and they do a great job.
I have been to other Sandal resorts and this one is much smaller. There is not lots to do if that's what you're looking for. This is more of a chill vacation. They do have some entertainment at night which we enjoyed.
The food was good but not great if you are a foodie. I would recommend the buffet for breakfast and lunch, the french restaurant which if you like lamb was amazing and the Thai restaurant which you take a little boat to as it is across at their private beach. You are not going to get food like you would if you traveled in the states but it is plentiful and if you are not a fussy eater you will be fine. With the butler service you also have the option of ordering what you want and having it be served privately on your patio. They do an amazing job of this and it is very romantic.
We had our vows renewed while we were there and they did a great job
If you are looking for complete chill this is the resort for you. If you are a person who likes to do things while you are away I would check out Negril which is a bigger resort .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank agendagirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
53.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,315 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,504 reviews
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing