We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a blast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2004

I went to sunset beach resort and spa from june28 - july 5 with 10 of my friends. ranging from 39-60 + We had a blast--I think we were a hit there too !! The hotel is awesome,the rooms are very well kept,clean and i saw no signs of mildew (as others have said)--remember that everything is Jamaica time so don't be impatient waiting for your room--you're on vacation!! The drinks are free from the minute you set foot to the minute you hop on the bus so ENJOY!
Anyone who doesn't have a good time here is aparently looking for a 5 star hotel or better. This is without a doubt one of the better places to stay for the $$$ and the all inclusive idea is a great one ! We loved kevin and felicia--the entertainment people--
We had actually gone to 2 other resorts to pick up tours and were shocked to see how unkept the beaches were and how fabulous ours was !!
Sunset's beach is huge--lots of loungers--clean--and the au natural beach is far enough away for you to bring your children there with " no problem"
I have a tendency to ramble but i do have some suggestions-- pack a bag for your first day, in it put a bathing suit, lotion, and anything you must have as it is a busy day for the hotel and you can get your vacation started right away if you are prepared-- this way if your hotel room is not available right away you are ready --bring a large cup or mug--it is nice to drink out of something other than a plastic cup--
do not buy phone cards in the usa--buy them in jamaica they are like $11 for 27 minutes- and save your self a lot of $$$ and aggravation--definitely do the tropical dreamer catamaran ride($48) it is out of this world fun,fun, fun!!! The shopping tour out of the hotel($6) is a good way to spend a cloudy day and you cover alot of ground.
We parasailed ($50) which was fun and we did the chukka blue horseback riding tour ($60)--which was an experience I will never forget--This was a fabulous way to celebrate my upcoming 40 b-day !!
I want to send a huge shout out to Kevin, Felicia --Thanks for having us in your talent show--I love singing with you Kevin--Hello to ronaldo my little jamaican dude--and all the bartenders and waiters who made our trip out of this world !!! We have not stopped talking about it since we left !!
WE ARE COMING BACK REAL SOON SO BE READY !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ftbtmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,573)
There are newer reviews for Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6,106 - 6,112 of 6,573 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2004

Sunset Beach Resort and Spa in Montego Bay is well worth the money. The resort is clean, food is excellent and entertainment all the time. We went from June 28th to July 2nd and enjoy every minute. Weather was great and people very friendly. Don't miss the swim up bar and Mark our bartender. He was fantastic!! Plan the excursion on the "Booze cruise". What a blast!! The only problem was the airport....hot and everyone wants a tip for doing nothing. They put our luggage on a carrier and went outside and dumped it there for us to move it to the bus. He had the nerve to ask for a tip. I will definately return to this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan12020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbia, MD
15
Reviewed July 2, 2004

Just got back on 7/2..went for my 50th and my daughters 18th...six girls and we had a ball! For the money spent it was great. Very clean rooms, slept well..that was the only time we were in our rooms. We had a garden view room which is further away from all of the amenities but you walk right out to the beach and that was great and the view was great. Food was good and we never went hungry. Pool swim up bar was wonderful, Mark the bartender is the best..we never had to ask for a drink and we brought our own cups. If you go and like to party this is the place! Take the BOOZE Cruise, you get to snorkel and drink and go to Margaritaville and swim there it was a great time and they even give the ladies a foot massage. That was the only excursion we took because we were having too much fun at the resort. We went for 5 days and didn't want to go home..we were hoping to get bumped from the plane! Oh..By the time you finish partying all day, you don't feel like partying at night so their nightly entertainment til 11pm is perfect. Disco is okay..needs updating but we still had fun. We had family that went to Sandals/Negril the week before and spent twice as much on their trip and were disappointed..not us..weather and facilities were great...we are going back and taking our husbands next time around! Yeah mon. Irie!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Memphis, TN
11
Reviewed June 30, 2004

I went to Sunset (May 17-26) with my best friend for my graduation and we had the best time. We paid for a gardenview room and received an oceanview room. The food was great there was alot of variety. Breakfast is by far the best. The rooms had plenty of space and the room service was available when needed.
If you are offered the a free trip to the sister hotel in Negril, DO NOT TAKE IT, unless you enjoy being outdoors. The place was clean and the food was good but everything is outdoors.
On the up and up, Sunset has alot to offer for people of all ages. For the price it is wonderful!! There are organized activities, and lots of things you can enjoy on your own. If you want to have fun you can!!!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2004

We spent from June 9-14, 2004, at Sunset Beach and it was a wonderful family vacation. There were plenty of activities to keep a wide range of interests and ages satisfied. My husband and I plus 4-kids ranging in age from 9-17 all had a blast. We spent time snorkeling, paddle boating and kayaking as well as lounging on the beautiful beaches. Some parts were rocky so water shoes might be useful but certainly not mandatory. The water was crystal clear.

The resort is undergoing some major renovation which will include a water park and larger kids activities sections when completed later this summer/fall but that did not cause us any problems. There was much to do to keep everyone entertained. There is a game area with two ping pong tables and a pool table and you are also able to "check out" almost any board game you have ever heard of from checkers to Monoply to Clue.

Derron is in charge of the entertainment at the resort and he is wonderful. He was very friendly, as were all the employees that we encountered. The staff was courteous and we had no problems with maid service or any requests we had for extra towels, etc. Service at every bar was quick and friendly.

The Italian and Chinese restaurants are great. The Italian is more formal with a more sophisticated selection of foods. Our kids enjoyed the Chinese restaurant more just because the foods were not quite as fancy. Both places had delicious food. The Banana Walk (where we ate the rest of our meals) had a good selection of food every meal as well. The Cornmeal porridge for breakfast is very tasty and they always had several choices ranging from more American meals to traditional Jamaician food. What a great way to try many different foods!! You must try the Jerk Chicken at the beach grill. It is great.

We had a great experience at this resort. After reading some of the non-favorable reviews (which did leave us a little leery prior to our vacation) I would agree with other comments that I have seen in the favorable reviews. The people that had complaints about food, drink, rooms and staff are the people that complain about everything and anything. Sunset Beach is a good value for the money and I would absolutely stay there again if we ever vacation in Jamacia again.

5  Thank DMc_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Iowa
22
Reviewed June 29, 2004

The view was beautiful, the resort was very clean and the staff was very friendly, the drinks were wonderful, yet the food was the same every day and not good food. Come for the view, not the food.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Des Moines, IA
1
Reviewed June 29, 2004

We had a great time at Sunset Beach Resort. we were there June 12-19 lots to do, good food, clean and the people are super!!!!!!!!!! We are already planning another trip back.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
13.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,436 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
5.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,162 reviews
6.3 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#16 of 63 in Montego Bay
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $170 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Splash Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunscape Splash Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing