We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great family vacation spot”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I have been to jamaica multiple times but this was the first time we went with our 3 teenage children (19,16 and 15).
After reading many reviews we were unsure what to expect when we arrived. Sure the place is a bit dated but it is well laid out with many areas to lounge during the day, good food, good service (a couple of crusty bartenders but oh well). We went to all three alacartes and they were all good.
We stayed on the 6th floor building A oceanview and it was a beautiful view and easy access, not one issue with the elevator or service in the rooms
What I really liked about this hotel is the lay out for convenience of quiet beach, quiet pool, active beach, active pool and even a lazy river which is alot of fun for the whole family
My husband and I have very stressful jobs, 3 very active teenagers and this place was perfect for all of us If you want to go just to relax and be left alone or want to be active and busy there is something for everyone here. Enjoy!!
A special thank you to Tanesha Clarke who helped arrange our wonderful stay. She was so helpful with our multiple emails before we arrived. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the higher floors with a oceanview if possible. We had room 612 and 613 in the A bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunbums67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,199
    2,474
    1,049
    467
    342
See reviews for
2,579
1,417
114
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just got back from the Sunset Beach resort and we were sad to leave! We brought our 3 young kids (ages 3, 7, and 9) and we all had a fabulous time.
I'll keep this short and sweet by listing the pros and cons:

Pros:
1)Location Location Location! - close to the airport (a short 10-15 minute bus ride)
2)Beach - I know some people are complaining about the beach being small, but I actually really loved the beach. I especially loved that you could do some pretty amazing snorkeling right off the beach.
3)Waterpark - the water slides were alot of fun! No lines, and not overly crowded at any point during our stay.
4)Entertainment - Both the day and night entertainment was great. We especially loved the circus night, and the steel drum band.
5)Food - this is both a pro and a con. The variety was probably the LEAST that we have seen at an all inclusive, but what they had was really good and we all found enough to eat over the week. The jerk chicken at the beach grill was amazing...as was the veggie burger! (surprisingly!)
6)The Staff - can't say enough good things....really nice people. The ladies in the kids club remembered our kids names and would always stop and say hi to them.
7)Check in and check out were quick and easy.
8)Beautiful views from the ocean front room. We were in the B tower, 8th floor. amazing view!
9) I liked that all the rooms in this resort were close to everything....no huge hike to get anywhere.

Cons:
1) Rooms - Beds are a bit uncomfortable as are the pillows....but not too bad.
bathrooms are a bit dated and small...but everything was kept very clean. I liked the shampoo and body wash dispensers.
2)No Mini Fridge in the room. This is probably my biggest complaint! lol....it would have been really nice to have a mini fridge with water and drinks in it. I'm glad I brought stainless steel water bottles to fill up and bring back to the room at night.

That's about it!
I would like to mention that I talked to alot of people of this trip and I would say 90-95% of them were returning visitors to this resort. I can definitely see why. We would absolutely return to this resort with our kids.

Room Tip: Oceanfront tower rooms have great views. definitely worth the couple hundred more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearlyinsane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Four girlfriends escaping the frigid north, and visiting Jamaica for the first time were not disappointed. Registration ran smoothly and efficiently, and welcomed with a tasty rum punch, during the paperwork.
Room clean and comfortable for 2, would have been tight for more. Housekeeping was very pleasant and efficient. Buffet, and ala carte restaurants with many choices and well prepared. A nice selection of free watersports, snorkeling, kayaking, paddleboats, catamarans. Had a great time on a "Baby-Cat(amaran) tour ($35 US)!! Micah was a great guide on these 2 person electric boats.
Skip the tiny slot machine only "casino".
Private lobster dinner ($35 US each) on the beach was a great way to end the vacation for the Four Ladies who had finally thawed out.
**Take a large plastic cup (coffee cup, tervis tumbler, etc..) with a lid, for drinks. otherwise served in small 8 ounce glasses of ice and Very strong alcohol** ($18-25 onsite for a standard size coffee travel mug!!)
T shirts more plentiful and less expensive in airport departure hall.
Early am departure flights MUCH LESS hassle than later day, especially if departing on a Saturday.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms in either sunset or sunrise towers or rooftops. Choose a room higher up for a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was our first time in Jamaica, but not down south. The Sunset did not dissapoint. All of the staff were fantastic at not only accommodating all of our needs but also being very interactive with all of the guests and even remembering our 2 boys by name, dancing with them and teaching them some fun Jamaican dance moves, and "respect" (Fist Bump in North America). Food: Our trip started with a great breakfast buffet and the omelets were very tasty made by the always exciting chef Clayton, and we got great service from Damion (Chicken Man)on the wait staff. I would have to say that as for the food, most of it was very good, and the selection was reasonable on a day to day, meal to meal basis. Showcasing more of the Caribbean food would be great but they cater to so many people, that the food they had, could satisfy even the pickiest of eater. They had one night which showcased all of their restaurants, and a taste of their cuisines. The A La carte is good, but we did not go there for Asian or Italian food, so we did not go to those restaurants, but the carribean A la Carte was great! Rooms: Our rooms were kept very clean by Shenise, and decor was good. Any "dated" comments are not really relevant unless you are in Jamaica to be in your room the whole time. I will have to say that the mattress was a bit uncomfortable(don't expect pillow top) ,and they should look into better pillows. After a day in the sun and pool, any mattress was good, but that's my only gripe about the rooms. The walls of the rooms were thin, so you could hear your neighbors, as most rooms are adjoining. Shower was in good working order with a shampoo and shower gel dispenser installed. Activities: This was something we really looked at having 2 small children and an 8 year old with us. The activities were fun and always posted up when you went to breakfast. Because they cater to families and adults, the mix of activities were not always balanced, but they were fun if you chose to participate. The Entertainment team was AWESOME. You could really see they are a team that not only enjoy their jobs, and the guests, but also enjoying working together. Elijah, Jerome, Mauvette, Marsha Lynn and Dominic were especially great remembering us by name, interacting with my 2 boys constantly and really making this trip special!! As for excursions etc. there were lots of options for varying types. We did the shopping trip onto the Hip Strip. The trip was a bit disappointing, as we visited 3 different areas with virtually the same shops aside from the Craft market which had a few different more local vendors. Iwould suggest starting with the locals first and then the generic tourist stores. Our driver Dean, and tour guide Rosie were great though! Mama Rosie kept us laughing,and Dean kept us on track and safe. Bar service was always good, and fast! Craig was awesome and took care of me . I also enjoyed the service from the trainee at the Lobby bar. Overall a great experience and we will absolutely come back and recommend the resort to others! I can't wait and hope to see all of our new Jamaican friends at the Sunset Beach resort and Spa again...RESPECT from Daddy Daycare, Mama and their 2 boys!!

Room Tip: Tower A or B Oceanfront or Oceanview are great. The towers were good, and you could typically not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martinofthemarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time to Jamaica. We picked this resort based on cost and reviews. We were not disappointed.
We were two couples. We enjoyed the quiet adult pool. We even enjoyed the water slides and lazy river.
The a la cart restaurants are very good. We ate at them almost every night. If you go to the restaurant at 6 you can get in for a 9pm sitting most nights. It was well worth eating later in the evening.
The nightly entertainment was very well done. This is the first resort we have bothered to watch it every night. They hired some great local talent.
The room is a basic room but we don't need anything fancy. We just sleep there. The resort is clean and well maintained but it needs some updating.
We brought our water shoes. It made it easier to walk in the water along the beach. We also snorkels daily right at the resort.
The baby cats trip is really good. It's not a long trip but its interesting.
The resort photographers were excellent. The pics can be quite expensive. If your interested in them wait till the end of the trip and purchase as a large lot. They are cheaper with the more you get.
All the staff are friendly and personable.
The luminous lagoon trip is great. The professional photographer is worth utilizing. The lagoon really lights up when agitated with swimming. But your regular camera will not capture it.
We also did the YS falls, Appleton rum and black river tour was good. The drive was not enjoyable though. The roads in Jamaica are very poor. Do not take it if you get motion sick. If you visit any of the falls you will want water shoes.
We will return to this resort without a doubt. You should visit as well if your not into drinking and partying all night but prefer rest and relaxation.

Caution: do not book with sunwing. They are a horrible company with no customer service skills. We regret using them. Although the hotel is not to blame.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was our first time here, we met a lot of really great people here, and had a good time. The staff are friendly and hard working. I think the staff work too hard and maybe understaffed to meet all their guest needs. The building is dated and could use major renovating.
I was disappointed to find there was not a mini bar in our room,or even bottles of water.
The food was great,the gentleman on the omelet bar was awesome.
We had a great time watching the mens hockey gold medal final in the lobby with about 200 fellow Canadians.
Overall this location is a 3 star,It is in a really nice location but the building is showing it age and needs some renovations. Mini bars would also need to be in rooms before I would consider this place again( it is a pain to have to leave room to get a drink, be it a can of pop,water or beer)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

First time in Jamaica and chose to stay at the Sunset Beach Resort in Montego Bay because of the reviews on here that are pretty exact. Also because it is not too long of a drive from the airport.

The service is great, the food is very good (a little repetitive for lunch and breakfast). The rooms are clean and the pools, waterslides and entertain are fun. The beach is not the best but the view of the ocean is amazing. Our room was on the 10th floor oceanfront in Tower B, One night we heard music till 2 a.m. but I am sure it was from the neighbouring resort.

If you have water shoes it is nice too walk out to the rocks on the beach front and see a variety of fish. Fun that you can kayak, use a paddle boat or snorkle at no extra charge.

Would return again.

Room Tip: If you get a corner room (example 406 Tower B) has a much bigger bathroom vanity than the room we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
13.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
5.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
0.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,388 reviews
6.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#17 of 63 in Montego Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

Property: Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Splash Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunscape Splash Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing