We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If economy is your budget this place is alright. Also some info for novice vacationers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If economy is your budget this place is alright. Also some info for novice vacationers.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just returned September 29, 2013,

If economy is your budget this place is alright. It is definitely not a luxury stay.

Depending on your tour package you may have shuttle service from airport about 15 minutes away. If not check out Jamaica tours on line they have shuttle and private service, great drivers that give a bit of a tour on the way. Ask them questions about what to see and where to go. They know where the line ups are and what tours go quickly.

Check-in: Do the on-line check-in. Those that don't have up to 3 hour waits for their room. We did the on-line check in and our room was ready right away.

Room: We had a room in the east wing, air conditioner running made it very damp some days there was water dripping in various areas of room. No where near furniture or closet though so you don't have to worry about your items getting wet or the bed. Everything is damp though. Had an issue with one of the beds and a chair smelling terrible (as if someone had been sick) they did come in quickly and deal with it by spraying Lysol on the bed and replacing the chair. Needless to say we didn't sleep in that bed. But they were courteous about it and quick to do something. The room was clean, housekeeping are very pleasant and do a great job keeping it stocked with towels & toilet paper. People in the towers said it was dryer in their rooms and they had great views. Very loud crickets outside that take some getting used to at night, heard them over the air conditioning.

Food: We did not eat in any of the three restaurants or at the grill. The buffet was decent, with a variety of food choices. There is always soup, pasta, salad and fruit at dinner. Meats varried from ox, cod, salmon, jerk chicken and pork, etc. (usually two choices) there is always a vegetable, rice or potatoes. many deserts to choose from. They are pretty quick to refill the trays on the buffet.

We only had lunch there 2 days, there were soup, salad, sandwiches, pasta, pizza and some hot dishes as dinner above.

Breakfast: Everyday there was cereal, fruit, scrambled eggs, made for you omlettes, sausage, pancakes and french toast. About every other day there was bacon. There were other varried dishes which I don't remember as I didn't eat them.

The wait staff are great, you get your plate go through the buffet, get your drinks and then find a table your silverware is on the table. The waiters/waitress come around with water at all meals, in the morning they come around with tea and coffee. They are quick to clear, I imagine to keep the various cats that live there off the tables and also the windows are always open and the doors to outside so I am sure it helps to keep unwanted pests away.

There is a really nice restaurant just down the street called the Seahorse Grill, Great food, indoor and outdoor seating. (right at the small pier) Similar to The Keg in pricing Steak, Lobster, Conch, Pork, Shrimp, Mutton and Fish are what I remember on the menu. Sunset has a menu and will make reservations for you. Patricia at the desk told us not to walk and called a cab for us, driver's name was Fabian, I highly recommend Fabian, nice young guy, if you decide to do a private day trip out, I don't know if his prices are fair as I didn't shop around but he stays with you which is nice.

Cats and Lizzards, I have read reviews about the cats being horrible, they never bothered me, i never saw them up on tables, they were around during the meals but I found them to be much like house pets just walking around they did not climb up on me or the table. I agree with another review on here that they probably help to keep other unwanted critters away. As long as people don`t feed them they won`t be a problem. The Lizzards around the property are only two to three inches long and there were not tons around I only saw 4 all week and I was looking for them to photograph.

The hotel guest services/tour desk. Patricia was very cheerful and more than happy to put tours together for us. However be careful and ask questions as the tours were not what we had wanted. Ask lots of questions and before booking go through the doors heading to the spa and just before you get to the stairs for the spa on the right are tour operator desks. Check out their tours and prices as they do have some better offerings depending on your destinations. We used Kareen at the JTL Desk, she was a jem! Highly recommend her!

Hotel Watersports: Snorkeling was great! You can sign up at the beach for an hour of snorkeling. they provide mask, snorkel, fins and life jackets. They put the masks and snorkels in antibacterial solution between uses. There are kayaks--NO Paddle boats. My husband went para sailing, he had a blast! They have a glass bottom boat tour and other sign up pay by use water sports. There are 3 pools, after reading reviews here it appears to be hit and miss as to whether the waterpark is working, it appeared to be partially working when we arrived on the 21st and by the end of the week it all seemed to be working except the pirate ship.

There is lots of space on the sandy beaches. The adults only beach is a little rockier and the only place we were bothered by mosquitoes only went once as the mosquitoes were pesky. The adults only beach lies on the bend in between the main beach which runs the length of the resort and the au natural beach which has a bit of a barrier fence so they have privacy and you do not have to see what you don`t want. The fence does not extend out into the water though so I would imagine that if anyone is getting in or out of the water than you will see them from the adults only beach. As it is around the bend from the main beach your children will not see them either and there was always a security guard just at the end of the main beach making sure children did not end up there by accident.

Bars: Open at 10 am a few of the bartenders are friendly and nice others well they must not like their jobs. They are either happy and friendly or they are not. Tips do not seem to help with this.
Same at the service desk and stores. Yes the cups are small but there are 5 bars, not that far to walk and no big deal to bring your own cup if you want larger drinks. If you bring insulated water bottles than you can have them fill them up with water prior to your day trips and help save from having to buy a bottle of water average $2.50. (yes with the heat even the heaviest drinkers will want water)

We never entered the casino other than to use the ATM machine.

WIFI in the lobby $5.00 for an hour, $30 for the day or $50 for the week. They give you a user and password and a logout address so if you buy an hour and then log out it save your minutes. So you could use your minutes for the course of the week if you are just checking in at home/work.

Tours:
Highly recommend:

Swimming with Dolphins combined with Dunns River Falls. Shop out prices.

JTL Tour Desk tour to Crocodile Safari on the black river, combined with lunch, Y & S Falls and Appleton Rum Factory. $110.00 per person. You get all 3 tours in one day start out with lovely bus ride up into the hills behind the resort which starts you off at the Black River Safari about a 45 minute pontoon boat ride up the river where they feed the crocodiles right beside the boat and pet them. They give you information about the river, and area. Very Informative and relaxing. This is followed by lunch right on their pier. You then board the bus and head for the Y & S Falls. Although smaller than the Dunns river falls they are just as much fun and the water is cooler which is very refreshing! It actually cools you off. I do suggest that you wear your bathing suit under your clothes and leave having to change until after the falls. You only get an hour at the falls and you don't want to have to waste time changing twice! After this you board the bus again and head to the Appleton Rum Factory where you are greeted with a glass of rum punch and then tour the factory. At the end of the tour the tour guide sets out 13 different bottles of Appleton Rums, for you to taste. You can taste all you want if the the bottles go empty they bring out a new one. They have Normal Rums, Pineapple, Mango, Coconut, Overproof, Rum cream and one that settles your stomach! At the end of this if you can still walk make your way to your bus you start the 2 hour trip back down through the hills to your resort in Montego Bay. (If you are unable to walk they will carry you to the bus) You leave around 8 in the morning and return around 7 at night. Great value! Amazing trip!

Not recommended.
The shopping shuttle from the resort. It takes you into 3 different shopping areas, one is what they call the mall, then the hip strip, and then the old fort craft market. The driver pulls in alerts the shop owners you are there by honking the horn and out they come to get you into their stores. They are relentless, even once you have had enough and try to get away they still hound you. This was a completely new experience to us. And a never to be repeated one. We are not good at bartering either.

The resort gift shop prices were comparable to a lot of the tourist areas. The resort allows vendors to bring in their wares in and you can shop and browse without being hounded. I found that what was offered in the resort over the course of the week and what was in the giftshop was really about all that you see everywhere anyways. The airport also has a large variety of shopping and prices were about the same that I saw everywhere else.

I did feel that what the resort itself offered for tours were more to line their pockets, the local shops, drivers etc.. than to help you get the most from your tour. Thus check with the Tour desks around the back by the spa. They want you to use them over and over while you are there!

Spa: We had our very first massage here, It was very relaxing. Nothing but a nice massage, legs, back, neck, arms and head. For those that have never had one and are leery if you want a nice way to relax get the massage.

So if you are looking for really nice rooms, great service, amazing food, etc... I don't know who to recommend but look to the 5* resorts, if economy is your budget than Sunset beach Resort is not bad.

Room Tip: Depends on whether you spend time in your room, If you don`t care about the view and don't spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CSraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,165
    2,452
    1,034
    459
    329
See reviews for
2,527
1,395
112
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mastic, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This will be my third holiday season going to Jamaica and staying at Montego bay sunset beach. I love that place the people are outstanding and go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I stay from x-mas to new year and could not imagine spending it any other way. the food is great the staff is Awsome and the people from Jamaica tours went out of there way to organize all my Excurtions . Every time i go back the staff make me feel like I'm ' Home'. Looking forword to this year, cant wait to see you all again. Respect !

Room Tip: ASK FOR OCEAN VIEW, Higher floor have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROSARIO622013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I just returned from my stay of 4 days in September 2013. The hotel is about 25 minutes from the MBJ airport which isn't bad. Upon arrival, I was greeted with a rum punch drink and also upgraded to an Oceanview room. The roow was nice, with a flat screen t.v. and a beautiful view of the ocean. I was a bit taken back by the beauty of it all. The buffet food was not very good. I preferred the Beach Grill (awesome jerk chicken and escoveitch fish sandwich) and dinner reservations at the Jamaican restaurant. Also, be on the look out for the guy with the cart selling Beef or Chicken patties. It costs extra but is good. I visited the au natural beach but no one was there and the sand was pretty rocky. Nothing compared to the regular beaches. I was a bit disappointed since I was ready to bear it all and enjoy the beach. No luck! The first day I had no water to take a shower. The second day, I only had cold water. When I arrived, I overheard a guest complain about it in the elevator but I didn't think the entire hotel was affected. Management finally put a note on the elevator stating that the water supply was out and they were working on it but many people including myself were not pleased. Finally, I was able to get hot and cold water. They don't explain any of the activities available during your stay. I just happened to come across a whiteboard near the buffet stating the activities for the day. The nightly shows that I did attend were entertaining. There is a shuttle available to take you to Margaritaville nightly which is convenient. No free internet. Overall, I would not return. I feel that there are better options in Montego Bay.

Room Tip: An oceanview room in tower B is definitely worth it especially when watching the sunsets. Also, B is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you can afford a 5 star stay there and definately not here.....Came here with my family Sept 19,2013 and we were to stay till the 24th.......On the Sunday....2 days later the Hotel had no hot water. I hhad my 3 kids with me and could not give them a bath b/c the hotel had no running hot water. Blaming it on the weather b/c it was raining alot and some parts of Jamaica was flooded, They had no hot water for the whole hotel....I WAS NOT IMPRESSED, I was not provided any discount or reimbursement of any sort. all they did was cover the transfer cost to another hotel because I was leaving.........Next time it is Beaches resort all the way. The decor in this hotel is very basic so if u r looking for luxury or up to date surroundings this is the wrong hotel. All and all this resort for me was a 2 out of 10 and I have learned my lesson...not to listen to friends as they recommended this hote,...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheyFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Me and my partner went to sunset sept 14th, all was ok the first day or so. Our room was ok, the food was great but got abit repetitive at breakfast and lunch! The pasta station was brilliant so was the staff in the banana walk buffet. First off our water stopped Friday day time, which meant no hot water - no shower!! Staff didn't seem to care, they was just extremely rude and slack with trying to accommodate us, also no apology. We was late to our dinner reservation and photoshoot because of it, my partner had to shower on the beach! The water didn't come back on whilst we was at the resort. We was able to get a shower on the 1st floor at the
other side of the hotel, it was a old run down room don't think it had been stayed in in a long time! Not great! Anyway on our last night we had a few photos taken in the lobby and we also had a few others from previous days in the pool ect. We purchased them as email attachments which was $8 each, we give the woman 2 different emails to send it to and asked if she would send them whilst we was in the photoshop to make sure we got them. She said she couldn't do it now, even though she had a computer infront of her and no other customers. Anyway we got home and shock we had no photos, around half an hour I spent on the phone calling from the uk for a woman called Keisha to hang up on me 4 times!! As soon as she realised it was myself asking to be put through to the photoshop she would hang up! I am totally discusted with the attitude and lack of customer service!! The hotel really needs to sort there staff out! The hotel has put me off Jamaica altogether which is disappointing as I waiting years to come stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sxxxkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had a excellent time,staff was very nice,cared to every need we might had,on top of every thing. the food was Great! so many new foods to try,the drinks were awesome too. But best of all was lying on the beach,reading a book watching the sun set!

Room Tip: We had a non ocean view,much cheaper,only slept,change clothes,no need for view.Rest of the time you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKABAXTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

2 adults and 3 kids, stayed Sep 7 - 12, 2013.

I have stayed at a 5* resort in Punta Cana and based on that, I rate this resort a 4*. I will break it down to the following, most popular categories..

Property: 15 min drive from the airport.
Two buildings, about 10- storeys each, both sit on the beach, and if you have the ocean view, amazing! if not, upgrade for a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea. For us it was only about $20 or so through WestJet, well worth it! One great thing about this resort is that it's right at the beach and all amenties are there as well, not a lot of walking like some resorts with villas and are placed further away from the beach. specially if you have young children or disabled persons. Grounds, pools and the beach are kept fairly clean. Some vendors present in the resort but not pushy at all.
The waterpark is a great feature if you have kids. Our kids loved it and spent most of the time.
Our room was good size and clean and good shape. AC worked like a charm! would be very crisp and cold if you dialed it down. Amazing view of the sea and a private furnished balcony (btw you can't smoke in the balconies, apparently there's a $200 something fine) which baffled me a bit.
Room attendants were friendly and were always working. Our room didn't have a mini fridge but they can provide one for a $5/day fee.
Exercise room had some working equipment to get you going for a few days.

Food:
This was one of our favorite great features, always something to eat and a good variety at the main buffet for all 3 meals. They change up few items everyday, but some are similar everyday. Saturday dinner, we found with the most variety.
3 a-la-carte, Asian, Italian and Jamaican, we tried Italian which was the best! and Asian, which was good, didn't try Jamaican. There's a beach restaurant with extended hours serving burgers, fries, hotdogs, jerk chicken, nachos etc and it's pretty good. Try the self-serve chocolate ice cream beside it, it's delicious!
Not a lot of choices for international drinks at the bars but didn't care as we're not big on alcohol. We had more milk than acohol and boy! it's soo damn goood!
A 24/hour self-serve coffee/tea area. (if you feel sick for any reason, try the mint tea and ask the waiter for honey, instant remedy!)

Entertainment:
Excellent! kids loved it and couldn't wait for the nightly shows/events. Entertainment crew always put together great shows and events during the day and night after dinner. Circus, magic show, dances, talent shows, karaoke (I was 2nd worst singer lol), games etc. They get the crowd involved which is great!

Staff:
Now this is probably the only reason I am giving it a 4* and not 4 1/2. While some staff were very friendly and very helpful, but most were rude and didn't care to serve you. Which is sad because now they reflect on their entire team as a whole and make them all look bad, even the nice ones. Management need to address this issue. They seemed to be forced to work and some didn't even try to force a smile for days. At check in, the girl at the main register checked us in like a robot. Check-in counter staff, being the 1st point of contact for tourists need to be a bit friendlier I think. Although, I have to mention that we asked for a roll-away bed and they delivered in 10 minutes to our room (I was impressed)

Any questions, just ask :)

Room Tip: Ocean view, building A. 4th floor or above. Beautiful view and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Qays H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
9.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
13.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,272 reviews
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

Property: Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Splash Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sunscape Splash Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing