We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family vacation spot!”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our family (7 adults and a one year old child) stayed at Half Moon Resort in March and we cannot rave enough about this resort! We booked one of their lovely and convenient Royal Villas and it was ideal for family fun. There was ample room for all of us and we really enjoyed having our own living area to eat/drink/spend time together in, and having our own pool was a priceless amenity. All of this said, I haven't even mentioned the staff. EVERYONE on the resort was super friendly and they catered very well to young children. Our in-Villa staff, headed by our AMAZING cook, Lezrine, and butler, Devon, were unbelievably kind and made our stay truly special. Lezrine's kind heart, and amazing cooking skills, made her a vital piece to our wonderful vacation. She was ready to prepare any kind of food for us at any time of the day, but I highly recommend letting your cook prepare local favorites, as everything she made was delicious. Devon was a very kind and helpful man who made reservations for us, ensured we had everything we needed and also made killer pool-side drinks each afternoon.

We very much enjoyed The Sugar Mill restaurant for a night out of the villa, but definitely recommend eating in the villa as much as you can. The food prepared by Lezrine was the best food we ate the whole time we were in Montego Bay. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, you name it, Lezrine nailed it! She was super kind to our young daughter and always made something special for her.

Highly recommend the various dolphin encounters at Dolphin Cove, even for very young children. The trainers give a great lesson on these beautiful animals and we all enjoyed this activity very much.

Our family could not recommend Half Moon Resort more. An absolute no-brainer resort if you are looking for a great place to stay. The scenary, beaches and grounds were picturesque and well kept up. We will absolutely be returning to Half Moon soon!

Eric Hall, Bob Fornaro and family

Room Tip: Get a villa if you have 4 or more people traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guests:

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A Rock Resort for your recent family vacation and for sharing your beautiful review on tripadvisor; it was a pleasure serving the family as our treasured guests. We are happy you enjoyed some of the extraordinary diversity of activities we offer, the Dolphin Lagoon is one of the favoured activities among our many families.

Half Moon a 400 acres beautifully manicured property is truly a Family Resort, and has a wide option of activities and amenities for the enjoyment and comfort of our valued guests.

Happy you enjoyed your villa accommodation; it is certainly the ideal choice for families, friends and groups who desire a ‘homey’ experience. Many thanks for the kind compliments for your villa staff; the staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our many guests and make each visit special.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your Half Moon experience – we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

A nice family resort I went to with my family and the room design is great. The roof was a cool color and the food was excellent. The service awesome and the patties are great. Overall I recommend anyone who wants a family trip to Jamaica go here.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Tilique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guests.

Thank you for sharing these kind comments on your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wonderful range options we offer, be it dining, accommodation, activities or amenities.

Happy you enjoyed your accommodation – Half Moon offers accommodation ranging from intimate to grand with each accommodation offering its unique touch. Certainly we are a family resort – there is always something for each member of the family.

It was a pleasure hosting; we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Joy was an amazing cook and a very kind, caring, attentive, person.
Cadilla kept our Villa spotless clean with a beautiful smile.
Lyndal kept our pool sparkling clean and was the most polite young man, he was a pleasure.
Johnny (Anthony) was there whenever we needed him, always ready to help us with anything we needed. Always served us with a smile and a big heart!
We loved everything about Jamaica, but mostly the service we received, YOU WILL NEVER MEET SUCH A GENUINE HARD WORKING STAFF ANYWHERE, THIS WAS THE TOP!!!!!

Room Tip: Travel with friends and family, eat at Scotchie's, swim with the dolphins, zip line, ride the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Short, Sweet and spicy describe your review, thank you for sharing on tripadvisor.

We are pleased you had a beautiful experience with the Half Moon A, RockResort family and moreso the Royal Villa team who is always ready to create experiences of a lifetime for our valued clients. We truly appreciate your kind comments for Cadilla, Lyndal and Johnny; they were absolutely thrilled with your glowing compliments.

Thank you for selecting Half Moon, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at the resort and in Jamaica. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

this place is great. You basically have your own complex and within the resort. A self contained shopping village. The food was great and the beach was better. Tons of very nice and helpful staff. Well worth the $$ you will pay

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We try hard to provide the best possible service and amenities to you our discerning customers and your satisfaction is our reward. Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience.

It was a pleasure serving you; we are thrilled you had an experience of a lifetime.

The Half Moon team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful Resort. Secluded and gated community everything you need or want is their@the Resort.. Great place for family. or lover's or honeymoon. I am in the entertainment business and it was wonderful how we were loved on from the time of our arrival during our stay... until We left. the service was very good attendance around the clock, If you needed something it was and it is the pleasure of the service to help you and what I noticed is they have no problem going the mileage for you.to find it.
Great out door activity's loved the horse Back riding & sanding, loved the spa cabana to hear the ocean was amazing during receiving my spa the people the service amazing. my 3rd time coming...( what I pray is only this they get control of the ants in the bathroom) being a Caribbean Girl I brought some Chili pepper and Clorox bleach and put it in spray bottle and just sprayed
all around the window ledge in the bathroom... I didn't want to bring the little criters home...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElyseMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share aniother lovely TripAdvisor review.

As you rightly confirmed Half Moon is truly a great resort for family – there is always something for everyone…our unmatched array of accommodations, amenities and attractions have kept our guests returning again and again. We are delighted you had another experience of a lifetime.

Thank you for your patronage; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home soon. Thank you for the ant remedy .

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Whilst many may visit this property on vacation, I stayed for a conference. It's difficult to imagine the expanse of this property until you actually arrive.
Quiet, quaint and beautiful - with an excellent view of the moon especially when it's full is a treat everyone should experience.
My villa experience was exceptional. The golf carts provide easy access around, the staff are all attentive and polite. A place to reflect and rejuvenate.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Kavita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

We truly appreciate you sharing review on your recent visit to Half Moon, A Rock Resort.

Happy you enjoyed your villa experience; the villas are truly the perfect accommodation choice for groups, families, friends and business conferences. The staff stands ready to create that atmosphere that lends itself to sheer fun and enjoyment even for a business group.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience; we look forward to welcome you back on a personal vacation,

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Unfortunately our long-planned and highly anticipated vacation to Half Moon was a disappointment. The property is lovely but needs major updating. We reserved a Hibiscus Suite for our sons and the Imperial Suite for my husband and myself. After checking into the Imperial Suite, we realized our view of the ocean was marred by two large wooden piers with "huts" which have seen better days. The huts serve as the "outdoor" spa. It turns our the Hibiscus Suite had a much better view and proximity to the ocean. The hotel staff did their best to accommodate us but we ended up spending the first precious hours of our trip waiting for another room to be found. We ended up in a Hibiscus Suite which was fine and although cheaper than the price we paid for the Imperial Suite but they "couldn't credit us the difference". Definitely not luxurious but had an old-beachy kind of feel which was fine. (Wilted, old electrical outlets/technology, etc.) We loved the view and spent most of the time on our patio.

The food was on-average about a C. Thank goodness we had the all-inclusive because the menu prices were extraordinary! $45 for lunch buffet with a couple of chicken dishes, sandwiches, and a few desserts. The best tropical fruits were mysteriously not on the buffet! We ended up ordering from room service and eating on our patio most of the time which was lovely.

The property is very large which is a big part of the attraction for us. We tried to reserve a golf cart several weeks in advance but they had all been reserved for a wedding. Our rooms were close to the bike and golf cart station and everyday I walked or rode my bike by and there were plenty of carts in the lot. The answer (classic island short-hand for "go-away") was "I'm sorry, they are all reserved." It's like walking into a restaurant with tons of empty tables but being told they can't seat you. Then waiting at the bar all night and only seeing a few tables being used. It was inexcusable and had it been suggested to us anytime months before our arrival we would have been happy to reserved the carts sooner. Nevertheless. this seemingly small inconvenience would have been overlooked had we not had so many other problems from inconsistent service, (rooms not cleaned until 6 pm some days!) to a hotel which has seen it's better days.

We spent over $9,000 for 4 people, 2 rooms and 5 nights. This doesn't include any extras or the hundreds of dollars we handed out to the bellmen, housekeeping, wait staff etc. hoping we would get good service.

The one big positive was the tennis program! My husband played everyday and had a terrific pro. The spa was okay but there was more pressure to tip everyone! Even the attendant who simply showed me where the locker and bathroom were.

Frankly, I needed a vacation after that vacation! It was like a job having to continuously ask for pretty much everything that we needed that you expect a 4 star hotel to provide.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Valued Guests:

Thank you for taking the time to share candid feedback on your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort.

We sincerely regret that we did not exceed your expectations in some aspects of your experience.

This year Half Moon celebrates its 60th Anniversary and we do our best to create a balance between our guests who love the old world charm and those who like the modern contemporary feel, therefore both experiences are interspersed in our offerings. Please accept our deepest apology for the areas of your stay that did not live up to the true Half Moon standard.

We are happy that despite the concerns, you enjoyed other features of the resort . Thank you again for your feedback; should you decide to visit us in the future please feel free to contact me at scrichton@halfmoon.com

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,752 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $248 - $1,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing