We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was my second visit to Half Moon and it keeps on getting better.Instead of going with my sister this trip I went with my husband and we played 3 great rounds at Half Moon.
The food as always was great and this trip I even went to Robbies which we enjoyed.
There are so many people to say THANK YOU to but here are a few…..
Byron (Bag Boys) was a real pleasure to see again, took good care of our golf clubs when we left.
Jourdan,Everett,and Lisa made out breakfast a very special even.But….I cannot forget David Leslie and my favorite Soloman. Chevin in the front desk is really a plus for the resort but Mona in reservations did not fail us. She gets us coming back every time. We will be back in May. Chris is an outstanding tennis pro and if he was here in the US my game would be on the money.I cannot forget Spencer and his staff at the Golf Club.
Thank you all for such this past trip special.

Room Tip: Hibiscus in the best…..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_golferFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,490
    325
    101
    58
    31
See reviews for
712
581
44
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We just returned from a five day vacation in a five bedroom villa at the Half Moon Resort. Five couples travelled to celebrate a 50th birthday. Everything about the stay was amazing. We were in villa 55, which is a garden view villa, however, it is right on the water. Even though there isn't sand right in front of it, there is a huge lawn where you could put your lounge chairs and relax in front of the water. The veranda of the villa was facing the water and there was a table large enough to eat meals.

The staff at our villa was amazing - our butler Devon was always available to help with whatever we needed. Our cook Esme was amazing - I think we all went back 10 pounds heavier :-), but it was completely worth it. We had some allergies in the house and one vegetarian, and every meal had options for everyone. We had such a great variety of food, and tasted so many different things. Our housekeeper Desreen kept the house immaculate and we had our laundry done - what a treat!

There is so much to do at the resort that we didn't leave the property. The grounds are gorgeous and we walked the length of them every morning. The squash pro was great, and some of us took lessons. We spent time on each of the beaches in the resort, which have beautiful white sand and clear blue water. We also rented a Hobie Cat, which was great fun. We also arranged to have massages done in the villa, which was sublime. They were able to set up the massage tables right on the lawn by the water for such a peaceful experience.

In the 5 bedroom villa, the doors to each room were open to the elements - there was a courtyard in the center. The only complaint was that we had issues with our magnetic keys not always working in the locks, but it was not a big deal. We also felt that the villa was probably more for families than couples travelling together as there was definitely one master bedroom and some smaller bedrooms, but it wasn't a big deal. The other size villas may be arranged differently.

If you are looking for a complete getaway with the perfect mix of activity and relaxation, this is your place. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Villa 55 is a garden view, but right on the water - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCluv2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I traveled with a group of friends for a long weekend. We rented a villa, which was really quite beautiful. The staff was helpful and attentive. The grounds were wonderful. Like with any group travel, there are a lot of moving pieces. My only criticism of the property is that I found the front desk staff to be disorganized. There was a lot of confusion throughout the booking, travel and payment process that required a lot of follow-up on my end.

Room Tip: Villas are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you like your own space this is the place to go. With all the villas having their own pools the communal pools are under utilised so even those in the cheaper rooms had a taste of luxury. Our rooms were right on the beachfront and only steps from the water and they were really lovely and not cheap. But to have not just a free foam pool but a 50 metre lap pool at your disposal was just heaven. And a beach long enough that you often never meet another guest was like having your own private beach. And you can play so many games right there on site plus swim with the dolphins which was an amazing experience. The restaurants were good, not great, and the bar was lovely. We were amongst the token Brits though as most of the guests were American and many seemed to know each other from years of coming back, especially the children and teenagers. I can see the attraction and wished I'd been coming since I was a child also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, West Indies
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

This 400 acre resort is a fantastic experience! The staff in general are super helpful and friendly. The resort is rustic with a Caribbean charm. There is also an Olympic size swimming pool in addition to the other 15 pools (or more) on the property.
There are several really nice restaurants on the property. In my opinion the Sugar Mill is the best! All in all... This is a resort that will definitely be on my repeat list when next in Montego Bay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a wonderfully tranquil resort with no requirement to go outside its 420 acre site if staying as we were for less than a week, so many staff, so friendly and all well trained in their tasks. The gardens are beautifully maintained and the general feel is that of English colonialism. My only gripes are the prices generally are too high for the quality of food and especially the wine in the restaurants in comparison to similar establishments in the Caribbean and I didn't like the "wild" Dolphins caged in such a small area and the ridiculously exorbitant charges to swim with them! There didn't appear to be that many on vacation there, maybe they ought to look at their pricing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here for our Babymoon in December in room 104.

The hotel is wonderful and the staff superb, it's certainly equal to other 4 star hotels and some lower quality five stars I have stayed in. However, the hotel is overpriced and needs a fresh broom on the management side to resolve some clear oddities.

Strange but true:
The $30 nightly resort fee should be folded into the day rate. It covers things like (and I quote), '...the welcome drink, photocopies of newspapers, free bicycle hire and wifi'. A good management team would bury such an idiotic charge in the day rate. The front desk were at pains to inform me that someone else should have told us at booking. Why oh why put your staff and customers through this? When I have just paid $5K for 6 nights this additional charge seems a little rich. Come on Half Moon, aren't you better than this?

Meal plans are a mess (again poor management) A daily meal plan starts at dinner. However the spa plan that includes meals starts in the morning. Be sure to check this when you check-in.

Spa plan:
Note, that the spa plan only includes a small subset of treatments. You can only have one a day, although this seems reasonable.

Checking in:
Long queues. The owners should go to Sandals or the Shangri-la to see how this should be done. The experience should start here, it doesn't.

Food:
Was okay but not great. Prakash, their signature Indian and Thai restaurant was terrible. We paid $13 for microwave soup, we didn't finish it. The main courses were $20+ for small portions that lacked flavor but had ample low quality meat. This really is a horrendous hole and a decent management team would match the NYC prices with good quality food. I would say the staff are excellent and the only reason why we stayed.

We tried the $20 crab cakes at Sea Grape, but we're told the crab was frozen. They were lovely, but this experience just reinforces managements lack of focus on end to end quality. Gordon Ramsey would have a heart attack.

Quality v price is a general theme. If you are here on a discount deal you'll love it, but - like us - if you paid full price you'll be disappointed and probably won't come back. Maximizing point of sale is a priority over customer lifetime value.

General Pricing:
$25 for a spin class
$8 for a water (locally sourced)
$10 standard cocktail
$38 average cost of a main course
$15 average cost of a salad
$5 in room m&m's
$70 breakfast for two at sea grape (includes mandatory gratuity)
$140 average cost for a treatment at the spa

Entertainment:
This place is great for kids, but more needs to be do be done at night for grown ups. We want to have fun too.

Rooms:
These are lovely, we stayed in 104 a hibiscus junior suite. Was fantastic, but can be overlooked.

Staff:
Wow. What an asset to this resort. Staff are wonderful, caring and attentive. You couldn't want for more.

Location:
Beautiful. 400 acres of Jamaica's finest. We loved it. The beach is less than 10 meters from your door. This really is the jewel in the crown, it's a shame they can't get the basics right at the luxury end of the market.

In summary, the half moon is a Hollywood star in her final years. Poor management are inadvertently making this hotel irrelevant. I'd expect within 3-5 years they'll be competing on price rather than quality. They're in need of some tweaks on food, drinks and value for money if they want to continue to attract those individuals that will pay full price.

I hope they listen to this review (and act) rather than send the normal response apologizing for my experience and offering to improve my experience next time....

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem very well placed. Try to get something with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

We continue to be committed to provide our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry; hence your objective review is most welcomed.

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to provide us with a detailed review of your recent Half Moon, A RockResort visit. Objective feedback from our guests is an integral part of our strategy to continuously improve our guest experience.

We acknowledged your point of factoring the resort fee in the room rate, a recommendation we will sure to take into consideration. The Meal plan normally starts with dinner since check-in is at 3p.m. and activities start on the following day. Your comment regarding ‘check-in’ is timely, as this is currently being discussed and is on our agenda to be addressed in 2014.

We sincerely apologise for your dining experience at Prakash Indian Thai (one of our concession restaurants) your comment has been discussed with the owners and will certainly be addressed. We are cognizant however, that this experience is an expression of the overall Half Moon experience.

Be assured we are committed to improving all aspects of our guests’ experience and feedback such as yours will contribute in this regard.

Once again, thank you for choosing Half Moon and for your candid feedback. We trust you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back. Whenever you have made this decision, please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to assist in making the necessary arrangements.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing