We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“They have it all....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They have it all....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Golf, equestrian, spa, fine food, pools, fitness, tennis, water sports.... the list goes on.....and while Jamaica is so beautiful, this resort has outstanding beaches,truly wonderful accommodations,and the most outstanding staff...always cheerful and most accommodating from grounds people to managers! This stay was quite the experience and I highly recommend Half Moon...ya mon!

Room Tip: Our suite was in the original part of the resort. It was labeled a Junior Suite. The ocean was lite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    313
    96
    57
    28
See reviews for
676
547
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to Half Moon in September, 2013. Probably not the best time to visit because of the heat. We did have some rain, but plenty of sun to enjoy the beautiful beach. Our room was in the west cottages near the far end of the resort. I would highly recommend this area of this huge resort. Comfortable bed, big bathroom. We had our own patio with nice furniture and a view of the beach just steps away. The beach is beautiful with calm, clear water. Snorkeling was perfect just beyond the roped off swim area. The food was very good and the employees went over and above to provide excellent service. The wine was not great, but there was otherwise a good selection. The resort has a lot of history and I spent some time in the main lobby area looking at the pictures. The resort is big so at times you may have to take a golf cart to get around.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mysummer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

BUT we came during off season. If you're young and looking for fun, this is NOT the place during off season. I can't speak on how it is otherwise. It's a ghost town and very expensive to get off the resort through the resort's taxi service. $60 round trip to the hip strip or Margaritaville. [there is a free shuttle at night to Margaritaville]. The service is amazing with accommodating staff. All in all, it was relaxing and QUIET but I won't be back until I'm 50+

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonesflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

First off I would like to say that we completely loved Half Moon! It was our first time to Jamaica so we had no idea what to expect. We came down for a wedding eager to embrace all the experiences that Jamaica and the Half Moon Resort had to offer. Needless to say, we could not have had more fun and a better time with all of the remarkable views, facilities, and staff! We would highly recommend the Half Moon Resort to anyone and believe this is a true bucket list place!

We stayed in the villas and had an amazing staff that helped make our experience truly remarkable. Our Butler was Phillip and he was the first one to welcome us to the Villa. Instantly, his hospitably shined through as he helped us get settled and learn the ways of the island and resort. Phillip was always there when we needed him, happy to help! It is people like him that truly make a place unforgettable. We would consider Phillip to be a true professional, motivated individual, and now a lifelong friend! Our house keeper was Valerie and she was an artist at what she did. She always had the rooms and Villa Spotless you could leave the room for 5 minutes and everything would be perfect again. Valerie was extremely sweet and you could tell she really took pride in her work. Our cook was Carmen, and a cook she was. We really enjoyed everything she cooked and she was an extremely down to earth good hearted lady. She tried extremely hard to make sure we had a great stay. I cannot say enough nice things about how she treated us and how much we enjoyed her Company, Hospitality, and her FOOD!!

I think the one thing that I really hope Half Moon takes away from this letter is how well they all worked together as a team! A lot of times in life it is easy for one person to stand out, but it teamwork that sometimes most challenging. Hopefully, the Half Moon recognizes these employees not only for how good of a job they did, but also how well of a team they were! The only complaint I would have with the Resort is the cooks living quarters. We found it VERY disheartening that there was absolutely no air condition in there. Since the room is located so close to the dryer and kitchen it gets extremely hot in there. We did not feel like anyone should have to sleep in a room of that condition. Hopefully the Half Moon Resort will be able to fix this issue, and I think it would be greatly appreciated by the employees! We would say that our Half Moon resort ranks a 9.5 out of 10 and look forward to our next visit with our same house crew!!!! We simply can not stop talking about our trip to Jamaica!!

YA MON!
Dillon Nutt & Annie Compton

Room Tip: Choose the villas if you have 6-12 people with you, they hold 4-6 rooms each and have their own pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely note about your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort; we are happy you had a `Royal’ experience. We generally receive complimentary reviews on the Royal Villas accommodation - which creates `a home away from home’ atmosphere.

We thank you for the beautiful comments towards our dedicated team whose aim is always to create an experience of a lifetime for our most discerning clients. The staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special. Your compliments will certainly be shared with Phillip, Valerie and Carmen. We will sure to revisit the cook’s living quarters, thanks for your candid comments.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back `home’ in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had 3 Hibiscus Junior Suites for 2 nights right on the water at this magnificent property and it was pure torture! :)

Hearing the waves rolling onto the beach every morning while having our Blue Mountain coffee on the large ocean front patio made going to our conference at the nearby convention centre seem like torture befitting the worst terrorists!

The property is beautiful, the staff outstanding and the accommodations pure luxury. We will definitely return for business (we're glutton's for punishment) and/or pleasure!

Room Tip: If you are there for business ask for rooms on the Hibiscus Block, much closer to the lobby, main ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneloveCamiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share such lovely comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort for your business conference; we are happy your experience was all you anticipated. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I have traveled extensively. We are VERY impressed with the staff and property. The rooms (2 bed room) habiscus suite are beautiful but the bathrooms were impressive. Much better than Atlantis (Bahamas) and Atlantis was very good. The food is good but not the best (we are not snobbish foodies but love to eat and have eaten all over the world, A LOT). Even my mother in law, who is usually critical, is impressed.

The staff are wonderful, friendly and very accommodating. Cannot say enough about everyone here. I say thank you often but tip a lot because everyone truly deserves it.

Beach - beautiful, not the best but what more can we ask for when its just 30 seconds from our patio door.

Will add more after several more days.

Room Tip: Get the Habiscus...close to the lobby, beautiful pool with swim up bar. Can not go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share such lovely comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort; and for recognizing the team. Our goal is always to create and ecperience of a lifetime for our many valued guests like yourselves; we are happy your expectations were exceeded.

Again, thank you for your review, we surely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

It is always nice to go back to this paradise on Montego Bay, the beach id just amazing, the energy of the place unique.
it is a pitty that the villas are not on top shape, the place needs better maintenance, the service at Seagrape is not wat it use to be and the food qualityneeds improvement. The menue is poor in selection.
In the bar near to the ocean I couldnt get a Coke only Pepsi, while in the restaurant 20 meters apart they do have Coke...silly..
Still one of the best places in tge Caribbean but service, food and maintenance need urgent improvement

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonquijoteII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#4 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond. Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing