We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Villa Staff”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
“Our Villa Staff”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have to say how wonderful our villa was! Patricia our cook was just the best!! I really cried when I had to leave her. Jason our butler could not have been more accommodating. He would take us anywhere we needed to be. And Paulette our maid had the most beautiful happy smile. Our rooms were kept beautiful. I really loved the Villa. The staff really made our stay perfect.

Villa 92

Valerie and Chris Seeley

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieSeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    326
    104
    58
    32
See reviews for
720
589
47
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is not a five star resort. This place is overrun with bugs and pests. The food is not good and it's only catered for a certain clientele. This is Jamaica, and I was very disappointed with the selection of the food.

Way too expensive for the amenities that was offered and the resort itself needs a facelift/update.
Bell guys were cool. Servers were ok...the buffet was the WORST.

Room Tip: Choose a different resort. This place is depending on it's name/past history and that's all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing review on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort stay. We sincerely apologise that we did not exceed your expectations in some areas of your experience and regret that you left feeling disappointed.

Your experience certainly does not reflect the high service standard and guest satisfaction for which Half Moon is renowned. We are truly a first-class resort, and our vast number of return guests is evidence that we generally succeed in satisfying our most discerning clients. Be assured, we take your review very seriously, as direct feedback from our customers, both positive and negative is a valuable tool which allows us to recognize areas of deficiency, and make the necessary adjustment to further refine our product.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences or shortcomings encountered. We trust you will give us another opportunity to create a “wow” experience for you.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at this property from 9-18 through 9-23-2013. Very nice resort! The beach was right outside our room and was very easy to get to. While the beach is not very large it is very private and there were ample chairs. The room we were in had a LARGE living room as well as the typical bedroom and bathroom. The bed was awesome and comfortable. The only thing I did not like about the room was the air conditioning units. They were ran none stop and were hard to regulate. You could set a temperature on the units but they just ran non stop and never shut down. The workers were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and had a lot of variety. The Sugar Mill was a great experience (except for the rat that ran through the middle of the eating area. My only complaint was that there were some extra charges that I was not expecting. In one of the restuarants drinks were not included (thought this was an all inclusive) Some of the places tried to charge extra for some meals. My wife wanted to take one of the Hobie Crafts out and was told that there was an extra charge of 85.00 dollars to do this. ( again I thought this was an all inclusive). Any way great clean resort and other that the extras that they charge for it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests during your recent Half Moon, A RockResort visit. We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your accommodation and other Half Moon amenities. Regarding your comments about the rodent – the section you dined at the Sugar Mill is an ‘open’ outdoor area; for which we take continuous precautionary measures; thank you for your understanding. During your orientation it should have been explained regarding drinks at the concessionary restaurants/outlets. Please accept our apologies of any inconvenience caused.

We thank you for choosing Half Moon; it was a pleasure serving you. We are happy that notwithstanding your Sugar Mill experience and otherwise, you had a great time at the resort. We look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay here. Good food, beautiful location and the beach access is fantastic. Most rooms face the ocean and all are very close to it. Nice balance of privacy and social areas. The kids had a great time too. Room service breakfast on the ocean facing patio is a great way to start the day. We'd go back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank zpalanpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort for your recent vacation. We are happy you enjoyed an experience of a lifetime; it was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodation and the ambiance of the property; we are also pleased that our very important little guests enjoyed their experience.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
The Half Moon family looks forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Half Moon was the destination for a wedding I was in. Overall, it sits on a nice/peaceful seafront surrounded by beautiful grounds. But my overall impression is that is was overpriced and dated. Everything had a cost...and the cost seemed overpriced based on the level of accommodation.

The Pros
1) friendly staff
2) turn down service
3) upgraded to another room (although the room I booked was not available upon check in)
4) great views

Cons
1) Seaweed ridden beachfront
2) Too many hidden costs($50 to unlock the fridge)
3) Costly restaurants/average food
4) villas and oleander suites are dated

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank masalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we thank you for taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is not only important to us, but it is vital to our continuous improvement. Thank you for your comments and for sharing your concerns; we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Great accommodation and food. Just stayed here with a large wedding party and all had a fantastic time. Wedding meal was superb and great location in Oleander Terrace. Stayed in Hibiscus Junior Suite 007, with a wonderful sea view.Although it was low season there were enough staff to make us feel welcome.Cannot give high enough praise.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated, We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you fully enjoyed your accommodation, the hospitality from our staff and the overall resort amenities.

Again, we thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor; it was a pleasure serving you, we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you to your “home away from home”.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After reading positive reviews of Half Moon and visiting a neighboring resort in Montego Bay (see my other review) 6 months prior where I paid ¼ of the price that I paid for Half Moon, I expected to at least get my money’s worth. Instead, I've never felt so ripped off.

Positives:
- Bellboys (each one of them), turndown service and one lady who served drinks on the beach were wonderful. The management was very open to my feedback and apologetic.
- Lights and hair drying weren't working and got fixed soon after we reported the issue
- Wi-fi access was reliable

Negatives:
- Small beach full of weeds (as opposed to most other Caribbean resorts).
- At arrival, we were ‘upgraded’ to a dark room on the ground level with no windows - if you wanted privacy (and you needed it), you had to put on thick blinds that made the room completely dark. An easy solution would be to have thinner curtains (in addition to the thick ones) so that at least there’s some light coming in. The doors to the 2 neighboring suites were paper thin and you could clearly hear the conversation in the suite next to you.
- Horrible beach towel service – rude staff
- Mediocre food at a high price – charging $40 for a mediocre main course is not acceptable. Poor breakfast buffet selection.
- Promptness of room service was lacking. One hour wait is not acceptable unless told about in advance, especially when ordering crackers, cheese and a bottle of wine.

Would never come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Healthresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing review on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort stay. We sincerely apologise that we did not exceed your expectations in some areas of our service delivery. Be assured, we take your review very seriously, as direct feedback from our customers, both positive and negative is a valuable tool which allows us recognize areas of deficiency, and make the necessary adjustment to further refine our product. We sincerely regret any inconvenience encountered.

While you have indicated that you are not likely to return to Half Moon in the future, we hope you will reconsider this decision and give us an opportunity toprovide you with the true Half Moon hospitality and service for which we are renowned. Should you decide to visit us in the future, please feel free to contact me directly to assist with making the necessary arrangements?

Once again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and for your useful feedback.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,228 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
51.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing