We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding resort if you have the money”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beautiful (very English) resort with 5 star service. Queen Elizabeth, the Price of Saudia Arabia, Will Smith, and many other famous people have stayed here. Halfmoon has pretty much everything you would need in a Caribbean resort. They have a village with shops and restaurants, a Dolphin swim, a farm with horses and all sorts of animals (i suggest doing the horse ride and swim), and tons of other activites. They will lend you snorkeling equipment for the day and there are jettis you can snorkel all over the resort. It was some of the best snorkleing I have ever done! They are not exclusively all inclusive but do offer the option. It does tend to be a little on the expensive side but other than that this is a great place to stay in Montego Bay and I definitely reccommend it. april11

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ferenzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know we created an experience of a lifetime on your recent visit to Half Moon A, RockResort.

We’re happy your stay was all you anticipated and you throughly enjoyed the resort and its offering. We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,334 - 1,340 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent three nights at Half Moon for my birthday. The suites was clean, huge, airy and very comfortable. We were by the sea and listened to the beautiful sound of the waves crashing. I choose Half Moon because I wanted a quite, peaceful vacation and I got that. I was very surprised that there is so much to do. I went on a leisurely walk and ended up kayaking and biking, all my choosing. The was no pressure to do anything.

I could not believe on the big day so my members of staff remembered it was my birthday. I was spoilt my entire stay. It was excellent service from reservation to departure. Special thanks to Colleen, Denneka, Omar, Thelma, Soloman, Gavin, Chef Golding and Errol who made the experience more pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monifa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort for your special occasion. We are delighted that our team created an experience of a lifetime for your ‘fabulous day’ . Your beautiful comments will certainly be shared with the team in particular Colleen, Denneka, Omar, Thelma, Soloman, Gavin, Chef Golding and Errol.

We are happy your stay was all you anticipated and we thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for many more birthdays. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just returned from my stay at Half Moon..The accommodations were outstanding.The Hibiscus Suites location were fabulous..I recommend with extended family the two bedroom is spacious and amazing. The service was top notch, and the dining was superb.We tried all venues and it was great. The resort has everything there you could possibly want or need. The on site Dolphin Cove was great, as is the Horseback riding on the beach..Having bicycles to use while there was terrific as well.For those who golf, its right there .. This is a jewel and I think because the staff is so amazing it just makes you feel at home in pure luxury.The short ride from the airport was also great, and there was no issue of being disturbed by the proximity of the airport.
Overall fabulous resort, and will be going back at least once a year

Room Tip: Hibiscus is close to everything, and is close to large beach as well as the many priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent Half Moon, A RockResort stay.

We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience, many thanks for the lovely comments towards the team; our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity.

It was a pleasure serving you, we certainly look forward to the pleasure welcoming you back `home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just returned form a long weekend at Half Moon...recommended to us by a friend whose family visits frequently. What a wonderful way to spend a few days. The views are stunning, the staff are incredibly friendly, the food was wonderful. Everything you need is on location at the resort. The concierge team are first rate - Cecile and Carol were very helpful. The Sugar Mill restaurant is well worth a reservation - beautiful location and fabulous food. The spa is one of the nicest I've visited. We loved the dolphin swim though it was a little priceyfor the 30 minute "swim". Think if we did it again we would not book the private swim but one of the other options. All in all highly recommend and hope we can travel back in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hibiscus two bedroom suite - perfect location - close to the front of the hotel, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was certainly a pleasure having you as our guests. We are happy your experience exceeded your expectation and you enjoyed the resort and its facilities.

We thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor, it was a privilege serving you; we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you for a longer stay.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The accommodations were fantastic, the food was great, the activities were fun and the Jamaican hospitality was exceptional. The dolphin encounter is definitely a not to be missed activity. The breakfast offerings made you want to get up and get out of bed. The smoothies alone made the breakfast. Dinners at Il Giardino, Sugar Mill and Robbies were delicious. The service was as good as the food. I would like to give a special nod of appreciation to Elizabeth in reservations, Cecile in pre-concierge and Latoya at the concierge desk. All of them went out of their way to make our visit special. The staff everywhere on the property went out of their way to ensure you were happy. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhallacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay with the Half Moon, A RockResort family. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share the lovely review on tripadvisor.

We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughly enjoyed your accommodation and resort facilities including your Dolphin experience. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity.

Thank you for recognizing the team, in particular Elizabeth, Cecile and Latoya; the staff truly are the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special. We have shared your comments with them.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” very soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Here we go again, we have never returned to a hotel for a second time but something last year told us to give the Half Moon a go and it did not dissapoint in any way it only made us feel that we had made the right decision.
The restaurants never failed on providing the great food and service we experienced last time, a massive thank you to Jordain, Michelle at the Sea Grape. Dale (aka George Benson) and Caswell (aka Seal) at the Cedar bar.
Massive thanks for the excellent service at the Swim Up bar from Donnine not forgetting Donovan, this bar should be a Jamaican Tourist attraction.
The overall friendliness of all staff at the resort made us feel at home at all times.
The signature restaurant The Sugar Mill didnt dissapoint at all Solomon and his team especially Dywanne made us feel special at all times and we enjoyed learning more about the resort from Solomon.
The Horse riding experience is a must and we had so much confidence with our guide Dwaynne,
Last but by no means least the Golf Course fantastic days were spent on the course and in the 19th, Spencer many thanks your a diamond for your hospitality and tips and next time i will beat you. Special thanks go to Andrew and Michael in the store, Karen and staff in the shop, Desmond my Caddie i do trust your decisions honest. My wife sends a special thanks to Cleveland a laugh a minute. Milford. Kamieka and Aileen in the 19th. Most of all thanks Spencer for making my holiday special.
The hotel was spotless and well looked after nothing was to much trouble for the staff to assist us in our requests, beautiful relaxed surroundings with plenty of activities if you want or a tranquil relaxing resort just to chill.
Loved it see you soon.

Room Tip: Hibiscus Suites are located best for all and are spacious enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Six days in Montego Bay at the Half Moon. Chose the Half Moon because we could get a 2 bedroom suite in order to accommodate our teenagers. Stayed in the Hibiscus Suites - which has to be the best location on the property. You are close to the pools, restaurants, fitness center, etc. The suites are some of the largest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. The property is quite large so we used a golf cart for a couple of the days. Each morning we had breakfast on our covered patio looking out on the beach. Room service was fabulous. Dinners are over priced and I would rate the quality of the food as acceptable, but not great. We also ate at Robbies which was much more reasonably priced and more casual. This resort was quite comfortable and perfect for relaxing. A couple of things to note: our teenagers would have suffered from boredom if we had not booked several outside tours and excursions via Barrett Adventures. The shopping village was quite disappointing with only two shops open. Maybe more shops are open during the high season but in June there is no reason to go to the shopping village unless you want to eat at Robbies. Overall, this resort is fabulous and I would visit again. Very clean, nice, spacious rooms with private beaches and no hassles for our entire trip.

Room Tip: Recommend the hibiscus suites as they are very convenient but also private. Great space and easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests. We appreciate your taking the time to share comments regarding your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. Your feedback is valuable to us and will certainly be used as a tool to further refine the service we offer our valued clients.

We do provide activities for our ‘teen’ guests however, these activities are extended on a seasonal basis, as posted on our website. We regret any inconvenience caused.

Again, thank you for choosing Half Moon; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Yours sincerely,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,747 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,144 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $254 - $1,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing