We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Half Moon Resort - Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Half Moon Resort - Exceeded Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My first time in Jamaica and at Half Moon, and the experience couldn't have been better. Everything was smooth and easy, and thoroughly enjoyed myself. Traveled solo to a friend's wedding, and the resort handled everything perfectly. Shared a villa with a bunch of friends from college, and we had a blast! Everyone working at the resort was friendly and helpful, and willing to go out of their way to assist us and make sure our stay was a great one.

When I come back to Jamaica, will definitely first look at Half Moon as a place to stay, and would absolutely recommend them to anyone else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney_T_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you had an enjoyable ‘Royal Villa’ experience. It was a pleasure creating an experience of a lifetime for your friend’s special occasion. Thank you for recognizing the villa team; our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity.

Again, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    325
    101
    58
    31
See reviews for
711
581
44
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed in the villa 873 and we enjoyed our stay very much. Our cook Janet Coke is an outstanding cook and a great person. We enjoyed her meals and hospitality tremendously.
Our housekeeper Winsome Powell is great and very hospitable.
The butler Prince Hill is very good, very pleasant person to deal with and very helpful. We want to thank staff very much as they made us to feel in Jamaica at home.
Marina Temchenko and Daniel Bromberg

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a `Royal’ experience. Thank you for recognizing the team, the staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special. Your comments were shared with Janet, Winsome and Prince and indeed the entire team.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ again and again.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My daughter had heard from friends that Half Moon is a perfect place for a destination wedding. I (and my wallet) were skeptical. She won me over with the argument that the villas at Half Moon would mean that families and friends would have a place to relax over a period of time rather than forcing all of the wedding functions into a day and a half. She was right -- but Half Moon was so very much more than that; I simply cannot say enough good things! We were a group of 54, and we had the time of our lives.

Our primary contact leading up to the wedding week was Shanoya Watson, our wedding coordinator. She was unfailingly patient, informed and organized -- and we really appreciated those qualities and her sense of humor during the wedding functions. She and her team consistently went above and beyond. Jacqueline Gayle, the point person for reservations and room/villa assignments, exhibited similar qualities. All of the pieces relating to the wedding (florist, guitarist, food, set up and service at the venues for the welcome gathering, wedding, reception, dinner and brunch) were truly first class, even with a late afternoon rain that required resetting the venues.

The Half Moon property is absolutely gorgeous -- miles of well-maintained ocean front and flowering bushes/plants everywhere. For us, the villas were key. We had three villas and a group of superior rooms (really nice large rooms!) by Oleander Terrace; each villa has its own pool and patio space. The people in the villas and rooms moved easily from place to place, aided by the free bicycles and the two 6-person golf carts assigned to each of the villas. Each villa comes with a cook, butler and housekeeper, and they are experts at their craft (Susan, Kirk and Danese in our villa). All they need is to know is approximately what you would like to eat and how many people; they do the shopping and serve delightful meals. I cannot imagine anything more stress-free,so that one really could spend time with friends and family and appreciate the occasion that brought all of us to Half Moon.

Half Moon provided an incredible experience and was a surprisingly good value as well. I have not stopped raving about Half Moon since the wedding; it is my hope that our family can return in a few years. Something this good should be repeated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minneapolis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort for your daughter’s special occasion. We are delighted that our team and in particular Shanoya our Master Wedding Planner, created an experience of a lifetime for her “Dream Wedding” your beautiful comments will certainly be shared with Shanoya and the rest of the team. Thank you for recognizing the villa staff Susan, Kirk and Danese whose ultimate goal is to create a ‘Royal’ experience for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor; we truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back ‘home’ soon and also to create another experience of a lifetime for your daughter’s first Anniversary and many more..

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful 5 night stay at Half Moon last week. We stayed in a beach front suite just steps from the beach. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and well appointed.

All staff we encountered at the resort were friendly and professional. The resort was fairly quiet during our visit due to our early May visit, so we were unable to get a feel for how the resort operates during peak times. However, the resort had ample staff and offerings to meet our needs. The resort itself is expansive, and we rented bicycles to make our way around. For those looking for a more active vacation, this resort offers an olympic sized lap pool and a well equiped gym with separate cardio and weight rooms. Although we did not take advantage of it, the resort also offers many tennis courts, and a large kids' facility. Looks like a wonderful place for families, and we are considering a return with our children in the future.

We ate breakfast and several lunches at Sea Grapes, the open air and outdoor restaurant. We found the food to be of excellent quality. We also enjoyed a spectacular dinner at the Sugar Mill. The resort has a shopping village with a few additional eating places. We tried the indian restaurant and it was good (not great). The shopping village offered only a few open shops. It was unclear whether the others had closed for the season or were permanently closed.

My wife raved about the spa.

There are two main beaches at the resort that are well maintained and equiped with a water sports facilities. The water was generally calm during our stay. There was a lot of seaweed in the water at the main beach. The beaches were nice, but we preferred the beaches in Negril in terms of beauty. For those that prefer the pool, there are numerous pools scattered throughout the resort, and a nice pool with a pool bar and friendly service.

We visited a few restaurants off the resort. Our dinner at the Houseboat was memorable for the food and the setting. Our dinner at Marguerites was fine, but a bit too expensive for what it was (although the views were spectacular at sunset). We also took a rafting trip down the Marth Brae which was enjoyable. Delroy, our raft captain, was a great host.

We stayed on the Half Moon plan, the resorts version of an all inclusive plan. Because there are several different plans, we had to sign for everything which was a slight inconvenience, but understandable.

The resort was expensive, but delivered a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we thank you for so beautifully detailing your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort. Your comments are highly appreciated; we are happy you enjoyed the resort and its offerings and even your ‘off property’ activities.

Again, thank you for favouring Half Moon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, you are certainly a Half Moon and indeed a Jamaica Ambassador. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your “home away from home” soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I took our family to the Half Moon Resort 4/20 to 4/27/13. The family had 6 adults, and 4 children 4, 6, 7 and 7. We did not take the all inclusive package. We had a 5 bedroom villa and the set up was perfect for the family. We had all the meals at the villa, when we wanted them, no reservation, no dressing up, no worries about the kids in a restaurant. breakfast and lunch were served on the porch, and dinner outside by the pool.

It was a great time to go, the weather was perfect and the hotel was at 50% of capacity. We did the dolphins and the Pony rides.. both were out standing. The Friday night party at the beach was another outstanding event. The adults did golf three days with early tee time.. out standing course and caddy .The grand kids were in the pool at the villa, or at the beach or pool at the main hotel most of the day. This was the most relaxing family vacation we have had, the villa is perfect for a family group. Everything you need is at the facility.

My only complaint we had was with the availability of fresh fish and purchasing liquor for the villa. I have spoken to hotel management and they are fixing the communication for villa guest.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank hankgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Our goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued clients; thank you for taking the time to write such lovely note regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. We are happy you had a `Royal’ experience, the Royal Villa accommodation creates `a home away from home’ atmosphere, much to the delight of our valued guests like yourselves.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming the entire family back `home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a great time! Make sure you get the meal plan it is worth it. Hanging out on the beach was private and relaxing. The beach is not necessarily the best for swimming. The sand is course and not really that great between the toes. There is a rock line about 20 yards off shore almost lining the entire resort other than a swimming area by the main lobby. Our room was a villa and was very nice and clean. Transportation was fairly easy to get ahold of if we stayed longer we would have rented a golf cart. We went to a cool craft market but don't go there unless you are ready to be hassled and almost all of the booths have the same thing. There are some shops closer just down the road that have essentially the same items. The grounds are very beautiful and well kept. We felt safe at all time on the resort. If you want to ride horses book before you go. They book up fast. SWIMMING WITH THE DOLPHINS WAS THE BEST THING OF THE ENTIRE TRIP. It's onsite and a cool experience. I would go again for sure.

Room Tip: book on expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramathorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share such lovely comments regarding your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TirpAdvisor.

We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you enjoyed the Resort and its offerings; thank you for sharing your feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home-away- from-home.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location (15 minutes to Montego Bay Airport). Both the rooms and property are very well kept. The staff members always had a smile on their face, and were very courteous and professional. Nice variety of restaurants. The resort (beaches & lodging) stretches just about two miles. Everyday we were at the beach there were only a few people out snorkling, laying out etc. It never was crowded, which was great! I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share such lovely comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort; we are happy your experience was all you anticipated. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you ‘home’ soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing