We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa 55 and Devon Blair, Esmie Sinclair and Dezreen Omaragbon”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
1 review
“Villa 55 and Devon Blair, Esmie Sinclair and Dezreen Omaragbon”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent a wonderful week in Villa 55, right on the ocean, that we will most definitely return to. The folks who took care of us were incredibly kind and professional, letting 7 adults and 3 kids experience the villa and resort to the full. The team of Devon Blair, Esmie Sinclair and Dezreen Omaragbon are tremendous and we can't recommend them enough, they're the best - request them! We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    330
    105
    58
    32
See reviews for
727
594
47
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My friend and I spent 4 nights/5 days at Half Moon (3/2 - 3/6). We bought a deal on jetsetter. We had never been to Jamaica before and after reading bad reviews on the Ritz (and seeing reviews on TripAdvisor and the deal on jetsetter) we went with Half Moon. It is close to the airport (15 MINS cab ride). Staff was FANTASTIC! EVERYONE we encountered was super friendly and helpful and my hats off to management and everyone at the hotel. We got upgraded to a Hibicuis suite that was fabulous! We loved sitting out on the porch looking at the ocean. Our main point of the trip was to relax and that we did. We never left the resort. The spa was nice although the layout is rather labyrinth-like but the hot stone massage I had was great and relaxing. The food on the resort is nothing fantastic (but living in NYC we are spoiled for choice). And this is not the place to order wine - stick to cocktails. Dinner was good at the Sugar Mill restaurant (bring mosquito repellant - I was eaten alive whenever I was outside). We did the beach bbq one night which was fun and the food was good (lots of meat). When we were laying on the beach or on the lounge chairs on our patio we were at the Cedar Bar which is outside. The guys working there are a riot, so fun and friendly and we had a great time chatting with them while drinking our mango margs. We did not do any activities while there. The room was very spacious and the king bed was super comfortable and I LOVED that they provided a ton of extra pillows in the closet. Overall we were thrilled with our stay and plan to go back again same time next year. The only downside (if you can call it that) was that there were a lot of families there and not many singles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalinka-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently returned from spending a week at Half Moon with the extended family of 14 adults and kids. We rented a 7 bedroom villa that included a butler, housekeeper and cook. Here's the good and bad:

Good:
Beautiful beaches
Lots of activities (although some very expensive)
Ferntree Spa
Free tennis
Free use of workout room
Great staff in the house, in the restaurants, on the beach

Bad:
No power for 1 1/2 days (and no air conditioning during that time)
No hot water at the beginning and end of the week (some related to power outage, some for no apparent reason)
Very tired villa - This villa needs an update!
Light bulbs out all week right above the main seating area in the living room. Missing globes on overhead light in hallway
Christmas decorations left in a large box in the corner of the living room (in March).

The management was more than fair in compensating us for the inconveniences but I am still not sure we would go back. We paid a fortune to stay in the villa and although it was discounted in the end due to the power outage and the lack of air conditioning, it still didn't come close to being a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Villa 60 until it is updated. It's at the back of the resort with a wall and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILtraveler812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited Half Moon March 26-31st of this year. It was a quick ride from the airport and our Hibiscus Suite #4 was ready upon arrival. The location of our suite was good and bad. It was close to the lobby and bar areas, but we were two adults looking for quiet and there was a bit too much activity on that part of the beach. If you are set on a Hibiscus Suite I would opt for numbers 6 and higher. They are close to the activity, but a bit more isolated. The beach is well maintained, but the chairs could use some updating and more uniformity. Umbrellas are scarce, but there are plenty of trees that provide natural shade. Omar, our beach attendant, made sure that we were set up everyday and could not do enough for us. It was not a problem getting an area or chairs. Definitely a plus! While on the beach, stop by and see Joy the hair braiding lady. She was a wonderful addition to our stay.
The Cedar Bar was great for drinks/lunch and the staff was overall friendly. At times, I felt that they were overworked and frustrated with the amount of frozen drinks for kids. We ate at Sugar Mill which was very good and at Sea Grapes also good. Our favorite was Il Giardina (the italian restaurant). Leslie the host/manager, Latoya our server and Chavois made our dinners special. The food was delicious and the wine list was extensive. The one recommendation that I would say is go all inclusive. It is more palatable to pay these prices in advance and not to have to worry about it on the actual trip. The food is expensive! We also attended their beach barbecue-it was very family oriented, so not our thing-being on a couples get away. However, the food again was very good and it was extremely organized.
The room was well appointed-very clean and had a nice balcony where we ate breakfast every morning. There were two closets and plenty of drawer space for 5 nights. Room service was quick and efficient as well. The room had 2 tv's and a clock with an ipod docking station so bring yours if you want music in the room-wifi was decent and free. There were nice 2 robes in the room and a weak blowdryer. I would bring my own next time.
Overall, I would return. It was easy to get to. The staff were well trained and friendly. The food was the best I have had on an island in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank japinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Resort is simply beautiful and we loved the ocean view in the West Cottages where we could leave our room and step right out to the beach. We could see and hear the waves.

The staff was welcoming, helpful, friendly and they made us feel like we were at home. Actually better than home.

Our grandchildren were with their parents in the suites on the other end. Very private and beautiful.
The kids Camp is also outstanding.
The Spa was one of the best and we have visited many in top resorts.

Room Tip: West Cottages are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Counselor2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review on tripadvisor. We have shared your compliments with the team, who truly are the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special.

Again, thank you for your lovely review and for choosing Half Moon, a RockResort. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Half moon is a great option for families but as noted at 1000/night it is not a value play. The hotel also adds on a $30/night resort fee, which is absurd for use of their wireless and watersports equipment. (btw they dont have paddle boards). The rooms are quite clean and spacious,but the water pressure is lacking, and maid service is sporadic. Overall there are plenty of activities ( tennis, golf, etc), but there is nothing organized for teen agers which is pathetic given the very well organized young kids program. The food is quite mixed. The sugar mill is very over priced, and inconsistent, and thier new "jerk" restaurant lacks any charm. Much btter idea is not go to scothes which is 4 min away from the hotel for authentic jerk. Also the "live "music after dinner is really sad. We stayed 9 nights and never once did the hotel provide a real reggae band. I just dont understand why at these prices the management could find a great band in the land of reggae. Bob marley would be rolling over in his grave if he heard what half moon provided for music. lastly the spa has so much potential but falls flat. At $3/minute the service should be great. yes they have 22 therapists, but both my wife and myself thought that the treatments lacked attention to detail and were rushed. Go to half moon for the property and relax, but dont expect 5 star treatment adn you will enjoy your stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor. We sincerely apologise that we did not exceed your expectations in some areas of your experience.

We are truly a first-class resort, and our vast number of return guests is evidence that we generally succeed in satisfying our most discerning clients; we sincerely regret that we did not do so in your case. We value candid feedback from our guests, be it positive or negative, as we are always striving to further refine our services.

Again, thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort and for your feedback which is appreciated.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, WY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I felt pampered from the moment we arrived at the airport! Beautiful location, the best staff ever, and something for everyone to do. I recommend taking advantage of the spa and any other activity you are interested in - they are worth the splurge. I can't wait to return, no reason to vacation anywhere else.

Room Tip: The villas are worth it if you can. Perfect for a group of friends, family, and everyone in between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandTetonsFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,272 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
51.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
7.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing