We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited Half Moon March 26-31st of this year. It was a quick ride from the airport and our Hibiscus Suite #4 was ready upon arrival. The location of our suite was good and bad. It was close to the lobby and bar areas, but we were two adults looking for quiet and there was a bit too much activity on that part of the beach. If you are set on a Hibiscus Suite I would opt for numbers 6 and higher. They are close to the activity, but a bit more isolated. The beach is well maintained, but the chairs could use some updating and more uniformity. Umbrellas are scarce, but there are plenty of trees that provide natural shade. Omar, our beach attendant, made sure that we were set up everyday and could not do enough for us. It was not a problem getting an area or chairs. Definitely a plus! While on the beach, stop by and see Joy the hair braiding lady. She was a wonderful addition to our stay.
The Cedar Bar was great for drinks/lunch and the staff was overall friendly. At times, I felt that they were overworked and frustrated with the amount of frozen drinks for kids. We ate at Sugar Mill which was very good and at Sea Grapes also good. Our favorite was Il Giardina (the italian restaurant). Leslie the host/manager, Latoya our server and Chavois made our dinners special. The food was delicious and the wine list was extensive. The one recommendation that I would say is go all inclusive. It is more palatable to pay these prices in advance and not to have to worry about it on the actual trip. The food is expensive! We also attended their beach barbecue-it was very family oriented, so not our thing-being on a couples get away. However, the food again was very good and it was extremely organized.
The room was well appointed-very clean and had a nice balcony where we ate breakfast every morning. There were two closets and plenty of drawer space for 5 nights. Room service was quick and efficient as well. The room had 2 tv's and a clock with an ipod docking station so bring yours if you want music in the room-wifi was decent and free. There were nice 2 robes in the room and a weak blowdryer. I would bring my own next time.
Overall, I would return. It was easy to get to. The staff were well trained and friendly. The food was the best I have had on an island in a long time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank japinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,359 - 1,365 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Resort is simply beautiful and we loved the ocean view in the West Cottages where we could leave our room and step right out to the beach. We could see and hear the waves.

The staff was welcoming, helpful, friendly and they made us feel like we were at home. Actually better than home.

Our grandchildren were with their parents in the suites on the other end. Very private and beautiful.
The kids Camp is also outstanding.
The Spa was one of the best and we have visited many in top resorts.

Room Tip: West Cottages are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Counselor2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review on tripadvisor. We have shared your compliments with the team, who truly are the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special.

Again, thank you for your lovely review and for choosing Half Moon, a RockResort. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Half moon is a great option for families but as noted at 1000/night it is not a value play. The hotel also adds on a $30/night resort fee, which is absurd for use of their wireless and watersports equipment. (btw they dont have paddle boards). The rooms are quite clean and spacious,but the water pressure is lacking, and maid service is sporadic. Overall there are plenty of activities ( tennis, golf, etc), but there is nothing organized for teen agers which is pathetic given the very well organized young kids program. The food is quite mixed. The sugar mill is very over priced, and inconsistent, and thier new "jerk" restaurant lacks any charm. Much btter idea is not go to scothes which is 4 min away from the hotel for authentic jerk. Also the "live "music after dinner is really sad. We stayed 9 nights and never once did the hotel provide a real reggae band. I just dont understand why at these prices the management could find a great band in the land of reggae. Bob marley would be rolling over in his grave if he heard what half moon provided for music. lastly the spa has so much potential but falls flat. At $3/minute the service should be great. yes they have 22 therapists, but both my wife and myself thought that the treatments lacked attention to detail and were rushed. Go to half moon for the property and relax, but dont expect 5 star treatment adn you will enjoy your stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor. We sincerely apologise that we did not exceed your expectations in some areas of your experience.

We are truly a first-class resort, and our vast number of return guests is evidence that we generally succeed in satisfying our most discerning clients; we sincerely regret that we did not do so in your case. We value candid feedback from our guests, be it positive or negative, as we are always striving to further refine our services.

Again, thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort and for your feedback which is appreciated.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I felt pampered from the moment we arrived at the airport! Beautiful location, the best staff ever, and something for everyone to do. I recommend taking advantage of the spa and any other activity you are interested in - they are worth the splurge. I can't wait to return, no reason to vacation anywhere else.

Room Tip: The villas are worth it if you can. Perfect for a group of friends, family, and everyone in between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandTetonsFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I love Half Moon. After years of trying to find a resort where we can go as a family and enjoy amazing dining, beach activities, tennis and just lazing around, we tried the Half Moon six years ago. We've just returned from our fourth visit and we've already booked in for next year. If you have children and want a lovely, quiet resort for everyone to enjoy, this is the place you must go.

Room Tip: For a family traveling with children 4+, go for a Royal suite, the child bed is in a separate room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrentO_NWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

As our valued returning guests, we are delighted that you continue to enjoy your stay with your Half Moon family. We thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor.

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and patronage over the years. As always, your Half Moon family looks forward to welcoming you home.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I went here in January. As we arrived our room wasnt ready - we waited 2 hours past checkin time and the hotel didnt offer us free drinks or a room to change etc. Tired looking resort and rooms. Good, friendly, professional service was few and far between. Beach chairs were cheap and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the newer section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. We sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations especially with your check-in experience and regret any inconvenience caused. Our welcome standard for all guests begins at the airport where all clients are greeted by our airport concierge; offered bottled water, cold towel and internet access before being escorted to their transportation, for the 10 minutes ride to the hotel. Upon arrival at the Resort each guest is greeted, welcomed to the resort and a fruit or rum punch is offered. We truly apologise if you did not received these standard courtesies.

Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity, hence we regret any shortcomings encountered. Again we thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is like a dream come true for a family with plenty of activities for teens, kids, and parents and a structure to allow them to all go off independently within the safe confines of the 400+ acre resort. Golf carts and bikes and extensive facilities further the feel of a safe town for all to explore and take advantage of with beautiful beaches, plentiful tennis courts, kids clubs, many restaurants, and water activities.

The issue is that the resort was created some time ago and is in strong need of a facelift. The rooms are dated and while comfortable annoying that you have to wait outside for room service or have hot air blow on your (from the air conditioning unit)out on the terrace while you enjoy breakfast. The safes are key run, the closet is large but has cracks in it, and the bathroom has a shower with handles that fall off or water mains that break down.

The food was okay, neither great nor terrible across the board. Tried four of the restaurants, and would say that was true across the board though Sugar Mill was a bit better.

Service was good with the standard "No problem man" recited endlessly throughout our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmanJunkieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for visiting Half Moon and for sharing your candid feedback. Your comments are valuable to us and are not taken lightly; we regret any inconvenience or discomfort encountered.

We are sorry your accommodation, although comfortable, did not exceed your expectations. Be assured, we take your review very seriously and will use it as a tool to effect the necessary adjustments. We continuously improve the facilities and services we provide our valued guests and are pleased to inform you that we are in the process of completing the upgrade of our safe boxes from ‘key lock’ to electronic. Notwithstanding, we thank you for your otherwise favourable comments.

Once again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and for sharing your experience, we look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,605 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $290 - $1,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing