We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband, two teenage sons and I, just got back from another week at the Half Moon. Last year we stayed in Villa 86 and this year in Villa 79. What another great vacation. I can't say enough about this place. We had the same cook and housekeeper this year that we had last year and a new butler. Linnette, Karen and Gary are the best team ever. They made our stay as comfortable as could be. The hotel manager, villa manager and all of the staff are amazing and very friendly. Can't wait to go back next year. There is no other place like this, you won't go wrong booking your vacation here.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which type of room you choose, you won't go wrong.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djraiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,079)
There are newer reviews for Half Moon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,350 - 1,356 of 2,079 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow -where do we start? We had an awesome getaway to Half Moon. It had been a few years since our last visit and we were welcomed back with open arms. Stayed in the Hibiscus Suites which were lovely. Great location and the rooms were large - bathrooms huge! Maybe 25 steps outside our patio to the beach. One of the things I love about Half Moon is you can choose to hang out on the larger "main" beaches or there are dozens of small little coves where you can relax all by yourself. Either way you never feel crowded. We did the all inclusive plan which I highly recommend. Had dinner at Seagrape which was very good and Sugar Mill which was just as wonderful as everyone says. Lots of fun nights in the seaside bar with Caswell and Wills mixing drinks and keeping everyone entertained.The Spa is absolutely totally relaxing - I had a wonderful facial - and the again the staff was incredibly helpful. Can't wait to get back here soon!

Room Tip: Hibiscus suites are centrally located to everything at this resort.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoBelle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just got back from Half Moon, March 2013. This was the most wonderful resort I have ever been to. The resort is beautiful, the staff is absolutely wonderful, friendly and amazing, and the food is wonderful.

I was warmly welcomed and made to feel relaxed and comfortable from my first step onto the grounds. We stayed in the Hibiscus Suites and it was absolutely wonderful.

I highly recommend the food plan as restaurants are pricey, but I must say the food is wonderful. We dined at the Seagrape, Il Giardino and the Sugarmill - all are wonderful!

I also highly recommend going to the bell desk and asking for a tour of the property. The bell staff is very knowledgable and it's a wonderful way to get a real sense of this 400-acre property, it's so beautiful!

We also enjoyed a swim with the dolphins. This is pricey, but being in the water with these amazing creatures is something you will not forget.

5 starts and I cannot wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Hibiscus Suites are close to the main swimming beach, bars and restaurants, but off the beaten path...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We rented villa 56 for a week in March and were so happy with what we received. Our butler was Rines (we would request him again), our cook was Evadny (yummy foods) and Patricia our attendent (so nice to have all our clothes cleaned and folded everyday). The villa was perfect for our large family of 11 people and gave us the option of eating at home rther than at the restaurants. The staff is so friendly and always accomodating.

The dolphin encounters and horseback riding were great experiences and made the trip a favourite for the whole family.

The down side is the cost of the restaurant food, way too expensive. Also, check your bill as they made numerous errors on our room bills that would have cost us thousands had we not checked it closely.

Room Tip: Villa 56 was nice because it was close to the beach, but not as pricey as the beachfront ones.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_delaney2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Half Moon for the first time in March,2012. We loved it so much we went back in March 2103 and will be going there every year hopefully for the rest of our lives. I would need a lot of space to write everything we love about Half Moon. Simply said it is the most romantic, best run, best location, best staff, best kept, best food and amenities of any island spot we have ever been to and there have been many. Take the meal plan and have the time of your life and save a lot of $$$$. The staff, in every capacity, is of the highest quality in manners, helpfullness and are pleasant beyond belief. It is our home away from home and will remain that forever. The golf courses nearby are spectacular as well. Take your friends and your stay will be further enhanced, if that's possible, in that they will keep coming back also as ours now will in 2014 and beyond. In 2 words....BEYOND FANTASTIC....H. Mercer, NY

Room Tip: Choose any Ocean Front location. No more than 75 Ft. to your beach.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our second year at Half Moon. We stayed in Villa 85 - I highly recommend it. Service is outstanding. Property is beautiful. The staff are incredibly warm, friendly & accommodating. Facilities were clean & sparkling. Food is delicious. I HIGHLY recommend for a great vacation.

Room Tip: Villa 85 or 86
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed 9 days at beachfront villa #50 at Half Moon in February 2013 with our kids and grandkids and it was magical!!! Our staff members, Susan, Kirk and Denise, were top notch and we would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation where your every need is anticipated! They were friendly, professional and welcoming and can Susan cook!!! At our request, Kirk went to local fish and fruit markets to buy fresh ingredients for our meals and the we had jerk every which way! Jerk chicken, jerk lobster, jerk fish to name a few! Yum! They were happily willing to honor any request! We have already booked for next year. That should tell you our level of satisfaction! Just be prepared to pay for such service. It doesn't come cheap!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,419 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
51.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,823 reviews
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
7.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $249 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing