We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Welcome to Paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Welcome to Paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I spent a week at the Half Moon resort as part of a works conference. We stayed in the Villa area of the resort. I was in a 5 bed villa and other colleagues were in some of the 6 bed ones. The Villas were brilliant for a group with a variety of rooms in different shapes and sizes. Some of them were down right incredible!The style is very much colonial with a shared pool and living area and separate bed rooms accessed with hotel type room keys. Each villa comes with a cook, housekeeper and butler. All the staff were super friendly and helpful and really couldn't do enough for you. We were on a breakfast food package so it was freshly prepared each morning. Also Jamaican coffee is incredible - try it and make sure to stock up at the airport on the way home!

Due to work commitments we didn't get to try too many of the facilities but did make it some of the on site restaurants - Robbie's (great, & reasonably cheap beer), Sea Grape (disappointing) main restaurant (very nice) and the main bar for lunch (tasty and fab setting). There is a mini supermarket type shop on site where you can buy food/alcohol but the staff will also get stuff for you on request. There is good wifi which covers the resort including the beach.

The golf cart method of transport was great fun and i believe bikes were available for hire. The scenery/beaches were incredible though beware the odd sea urchin! I've brought home some spikes in my heel. There is a dolphin cove experience and golf course, spa and water sports some of which were included.

I was lucky in that i wasn't paying and this is not a place for a cheap stay, however is is incredible. You really don't need to leave the resort. We did a day trip to the Black River, YS Falls and the Appleton Rum factory on the south coast. Fabulous trip - would definitely recommend. Allow a couple of hours at the falls as they are great for a swim.

More locally we visited Scotchies for some delicious local food and Margaretiville for some local night life. Both were excellent.

Only drawback (apart from the necessity to work) was the cricket noise at night - take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

If i win the lottery i will be back with a big group of family & friends!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettyboo1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,370
    309
    91
    57
    28
See reviews for
661
530
39
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The first step to any vacation is the making of reservations. It sets the whole tone for the experience to come. We have never found anyone anywhere who is as helpful, friendly, efficient and responsive as Nadia at the reservations department of Half Moon. She worked with us diligently to meet all our requests. Even without seeing our accomodations we knew we were in good hands. We have been back several times. My husband loves the Olympic-sized pool and we both loved our Hibiscus suite with water views. We've just called Nadia again-- because we are going back next month!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful trip with adult children and 15 month old grandchild. The room quality and the accessibility to the beach is superb; the activities are plentiful; the spa is terrific; and the feel is very private and uncrowded. Each staff person including gardeners; maintenance; housekeepers and waitstaff is friendly; professional; and easily accommodating to all requests. They made traveling with a young child particularly stress free. The entire setting is beautiful. Kudos and special mention to all the talented musicians playing at the hotel..the woman pianist in the lobby; the reggae duo at the bar; and especially the steel band at the barbecue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

The lovely review regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort is highly appreciated. It is a pleasure receiving positive feedback on not only the resort and its offerings but our dedicated team. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” soon.

Best regards,



The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We got to tag along on my husbands business trip and I was worried what I would do with a 13 month old and a 3 and 1/2 year old. From the minute we arrived they were catered for. The entire resort is child friendly - you can even hire bikes with child seats to roam the two mile stretch as well as golf buggies.
The kids club was brilliant - my eldest boy went each morning and was kept busy with pony rides, craft time, glass bottom boat trips, swimming (buoyancy aids supplied) and free time in the playground. There is a separate area for the smaller toddlers/babies which has smaller swings/play house and so on. As our youngest was too little to attend the holiday club we hired a babysitter who escorted the 13 month old and they hung out at the club and also took him for walks along the beach and so on.
The professionalism of the kids club team was outstanding - they made all the kids feel included regardless of their abilities or social confidence.
We have travelled to many parts of the world but I have to say without question this is the best kids club we have ever experienced.
The rest of the resort can simply be described as effortlessly gorgeous.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmalucyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was a pleasure serving you; we are happy your experience exceeded your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed the Half Moon facility, amenities, the various activities and of course the hospitality and service from our dedicated team. The Anancy Children’s Centre is certainly a ‘gem’ for our very important little guests.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the "Parakeet" villa & it was fabulous! The villa provides a staff (cook, butler & cleaning service) and our staff, Denise, Edward & Carlene were fantastic! They became like family. Very helpful getting us information on all the fun things to do at & around the resort. The rooms were spacious, cool & clean. The villa was stunning. Our kids had a blast too. The resort itself is beautiful. We swam with the dolphins & loved it. We highly recommend this resort. And, if you get a villa, ask for Edward & Denise, you will love them!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCLoughery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Beautiful property with friendliest staff you will ever encounter. We were extremely relaxed. The guys on the beach Sean, Lincoln and Phillip were top notch and made sure our kids were safe and having a good time. The kids never wanted to leave the Kids' Camp and begged to go every morning. Terese, Yara, Tashae, Fern, Romeo and Ometa at the Kids' Camp made lasting memories for all three of our children - including horse rides on the beach, wood carving, scavenger hunts, snorkeling, swimming and lots of other activities.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a one week stay at the resort. What a great place! The setting, accommodations, food and service were wonderful. We opted for the all-inclusive package, which we would recommend given that everything is pricey. The resort has everything to offer: beach, water sports, golf, tennis, fitness center, children's camp, spa, swimming with dolphins, horseback riding.in the surf and more. Our only complaint - and a very minor one - is that our room could have benefited from room darkening shades. The staff were especially accommodating and friendly. Othe than one day stops from cruise ships this was our first time back to Jamaica to stay in almost 30 years. Sorry we waited so long to return.

Room Tip: The Hibiscus Suites were fabulous. Large living room, comfortable bed room, large master bath, large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
51.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 39 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
7.9 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Property: Half Moon
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Half Moon, A RockResort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond. Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing