We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Paradise!”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I spent a week at the Half Moon resort as part of a works conference. We stayed in the Villa area of the resort. I was in a 5 bed villa and other colleagues were in some of the 6 bed ones. The Villas were brilliant for a group with a variety of rooms in different shapes and sizes. Some of them were down right incredible!The style is very much colonial with a shared pool and living area and separate bed rooms accessed with hotel type room keys. Each villa comes with a cook, housekeeper and butler. All the staff were super friendly and helpful and really couldn't do enough for you. We were on a breakfast food package so it was freshly prepared each morning. Also Jamaican coffee is incredible - try it and make sure to stock up at the airport on the way home!

Due to work commitments we didn't get to try too many of the facilities but did make it some of the on site restaurants - Robbie's (great, & reasonably cheap beer), Sea Grape (disappointing) main restaurant (very nice) and the main bar for lunch (tasty and fab setting). There is a mini supermarket type shop on site where you can buy food/alcohol but the staff will also get stuff for you on request. There is good wifi which covers the resort including the beach.

The golf cart method of transport was great fun and i believe bikes were available for hire. The scenery/beaches were incredible though beware the odd sea urchin! I've brought home some spikes in my heel. There is a dolphin cove experience and golf course, spa and water sports some of which were included.

I was lucky in that i wasn't paying and this is not a place for a cheap stay, however is is incredible. You really don't need to leave the resort. We did a day trip to the Black River, YS Falls and the Appleton Rum factory on the south coast. Fabulous trip - would definitely recommend. Allow a couple of hours at the falls as they are great for a swim.

More locally we visited Scotchies for some delicious local food and Margaretiville for some local night life. Both were excellent.

Only drawback (apart from the necessity to work) was the cricket noise at night - take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

If i win the lottery i will be back with a big group of family & friends!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettyboo1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The first step to any vacation is the making of reservations. It sets the whole tone for the experience to come. We have never found anyone anywhere who is as helpful, friendly, efficient and responsive as Nadia at the reservations department of Half Moon. She worked with us diligently to meet all our requests. Even without seeing our accomodations we knew we were in good hands. We have been back several times. My husband loves the Olympic-sized pool and we both loved our Hibiscus suite with water views. We've just called Nadia again-- because we are going back next month!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful trip with adult children and 15 month old grandchild. The room quality and the accessibility to the beach is superb; the activities are plentiful; the spa is terrific; and the feel is very private and uncrowded. Each staff person including gardeners; maintenance; housekeepers and waitstaff is friendly; professional; and easily accommodating to all requests. They made traveling with a young child particularly stress free. The entire setting is beautiful. Kudos and special mention to all the talented musicians playing at the hotel..the woman pianist in the lobby; the reggae duo at the bar; and especially the steel band at the barbecue.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

The lovely review regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort is highly appreciated. It is a pleasure receiving positive feedback on not only the resort and its offerings but our dedicated team. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” soon.

Best regards,



The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We got to tag along on my husbands business trip and I was worried what I would do with a 13 month old and a 3 and 1/2 year old. From the minute we arrived they were catered for. The entire resort is child friendly - you can even hire bikes with child seats to roam the two mile stretch as well as golf buggies.
The kids club was brilliant - my eldest boy went each morning and was kept busy with pony rides, craft time, glass bottom boat trips, swimming (buoyancy aids supplied) and free time in the playground. There is a separate area for the smaller toddlers/babies which has smaller swings/play house and so on. As our youngest was too little to attend the holiday club we hired a babysitter who escorted the 13 month old and they hung out at the club and also took him for walks along the beach and so on.
The professionalism of the kids club team was outstanding - they made all the kids feel included regardless of their abilities or social confidence.
We have travelled to many parts of the world but I have to say without question this is the best kids club we have ever experienced.
The rest of the resort can simply be described as effortlessly gorgeous.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmalucyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was a pleasure serving you; we are happy your experience exceeded your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed the Half Moon facility, amenities, the various activities and of course the hospitality and service from our dedicated team. The Anancy Children’s Centre is certainly a ‘gem’ for our very important little guests.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the "Parakeet" villa & it was fabulous! The villa provides a staff (cook, butler & cleaning service) and our staff, Denise, Edward & Carlene were fantastic! They became like family. Very helpful getting us information on all the fun things to do at & around the resort. The rooms were spacious, cool & clean. The villa was stunning. Our kids had a blast too. The resort itself is beautiful. We swam with the dolphins & loved it. We highly recommend this resort. And, if you get a villa, ask for Edward & Denise, you will love them!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCLoughery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Beautiful property with friendliest staff you will ever encounter. We were extremely relaxed. The guys on the beach Sean, Lincoln and Phillip were top notch and made sure our kids were safe and having a good time. The kids never wanted to leave the Kids' Camp and begged to go every morning. Terese, Yara, Tashae, Fern, Romeo and Ometa at the Kids' Camp made lasting memories for all three of our children - including horse rides on the beach, wood carving, scavenger hunts, snorkeling, swimming and lots of other activities.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a one week stay at the resort. What a great place! The setting, accommodations, food and service were wonderful. We opted for the all-inclusive package, which we would recommend given that everything is pricey. The resort has everything to offer: beach, water sports, golf, tennis, fitness center, children's camp, spa, swimming with dolphins, horseback riding.in the surf and more. Our only complaint - and a very minor one - is that our room could have benefited from room darkening shades. The staff were especially accommodating and friendly. Othe than one day stops from cruise ships this was our first time back to Jamaica to stay in almost 30 years. Sorry we waited so long to return.

Room Tip: The Hibiscus Suites were fabulous. Large living room, comfortable bed room, large master bath, large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,485 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
51.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,854 reviews
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
1.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $269 - $717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing