We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Resorts needs to put $ into this old gem!”
Review of Half Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Half Moon
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

went in January and poor old place is in serious need of money! someone tell Rock Resorts to put some money into this great old gem. came in the 70's and the beach is eroding, the food was mediocre to poor, most of the rooms are very, very tired. Not the employees fault, they do the best they can. we had to escape to Round Hill for dinner one night...just look, listen and take notes to how they do things. Nice staff- almost no music until 10pm...forgot i was in Jamaica. can be brought back- just needs $$!

Room Tip: just complain if your room is bad- we did and got a new one. 2 other people in front of me were chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank places2goConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,401 - 1,407 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Half Moon should be very proud of their resort and their staff. Truly a 5 Star place. I am not a fan of All inclusives and am very skeptical of large resorts; but My wife and I were very surprised. They have five places to eat, all served a wide range of food that was well prepared and presented. I would highly recommend purchasing the all inclusive plan. All bars were well stocked, and the drinks they served were not light, surprizingly very strong. Golf, Dolphins, Bikes, Water activities, towels.....all were top notch. The Spa , again I am not a big fan of resort spa's, but they have done it top notch right. We stayed on the Half Moon beach, mini pools everywhere, the ocean on this side or Jamaica has a reef, so the beaches are tight. The entire staff was spectacular! All very accommodating, willing to help, all had good attitudes and very happy to be there working, I can not say enough about how pleasant this was. Even though we did not have any issues. They're are always bumps, we witnessed the staff handling many things with accountability and swiftness.

Room Tip: There are many rooms and many beach spots, all very good for different reasons. We enjoyed being clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pizzaedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed in a 6 bedroom villa with my husband and four children aged 16, 14, 10, and 8 years this past weekend from Feb 14-18. We really enjoyed ourselves. The villa (#63) is quite dated. None of the oceanfront renovated villas (there are 3 that were updated last year) were available during our stay, but we did have an opportunity to tour them before they became occupied. They are stunning. Still very old Caribbean feeling but appropriately updated. For the prices charged by the resort, I really feel that all the villas need upgrading. We used the bedrooms on the second and third floor only and left the 2 main floor bedrooms unoccupied as they were very musty smelling. Luckily we were able to do this because of the size of our group, but it would have been a problem otherwise.

Other than that issue I have to say that our experience at Half Moon was amazing. The villa pool area is perfect, we had no reason to use any of the shared pools. The ocean was breathtaking. We used the spa and went on a snorkelling excursion and enjoyed both experiences. The gym is well equipped also. We ate all of our meals in our villa. The restaurants on property are extremely expensive and so are the drinks. 2 vodka soda drinks were $35 USD. I think the all inclusive option is the way to go if you are not staying in a villa. The beach bbq night was $48 pp without drinks plus 25% tax/service. As it turns out, we preferred to eat in our villa so it worked well for us. The groceries purchased by the staff including wine and alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, were $1200 USD for 4 nights. I thought that it was reasonable.

The best part of the resort is the staff. They are the friendliest of any resort I have ever experienced. Our cook, Evadney, was amazing. She knew how much my kids loved fruit and always made sure to bring out a tray of cut fruit several times each day. The meals she cooked were fantastic! Our butler, Lionel, was terrific as well. He was so accomodating and helpful and made our stay truly special. Winsome did a great job with housekeeping and laundry in the villa. The grounds and pool were kept spotless.

I will definitely return to Half Moon and book one of the renovated oceanfront villas. I love the low-rise Old Caribbean feeling of the resort. I have come home truly renewed and relaxed. Thank you Half Moon for a wonderful first experience in Jamaica.

Room Tip: Choose one of the renovated oceanfront villas if you can. The cottages looked so quaint as well if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meredithoakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 1 week golf vacation at Half Moon and loved every minute of it. We had a lovely cottage on the beach. When not golfing, swimming, or eating we sat on our porch and enjoyed the views of the beach. The golf was awesome. We played 5 rounds on 3 different courses, all excellent. A caddy is assigned for each round. We found Michael to be an excellent caddy at the Half Moon course. You can ask for him. Unlike most resort golf, there was no waiting between shots - a round took 3 1/2 hours maximum. The staff made the experience care free and convenient. The food was excellent with lots of restaurants to choose from. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. Alicia was particularly helpful with our accommodation and a few other extras. Thank you Alicia! We will make every attempt to return next year.

Room Tip: Hibiscus suites are all beautiful, new and with a guaranteed ocean view. The western cottages are mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyb423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks in paradise at the Half Moon. This was our second visit after three years and we were amazed at how many staff remembered us from our first stay. The resort is truly five star with five star customer service. The pools are beautiful as is the soft white sand beach. For the first week we stayed in a delightful cottage suite but as this had an interconnecting door we explained our concerns to Paula A. Lilly, Front of House Manager who immediately upgraded us to an Impereial Suite which can only be described as stunning. Elijah Duhaney, Bar Manager runs an exceptional bar on the beach. Carswell, Willis, Brent and the rest of Elijah's team were fabulous company and ensured we were satisfied at all times and made us feel very special. We received fantastic service in the Seagrape Restaurant each evening where nothing was too much trouble. It was a superb holiday and we look forward to visiting the Half Moon again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort on tripadvisor. It was a pleasure serving you again as our treasured guests.

We are happy our team created an experience of a lifetime for you; and you thoroughly enjoyed Half Moon and our five star hospitality and service.

We thank you for the complimentary comments towards our dedicated team particularly the team members mentioned; your comments were shared with them. Our goal is to exceed our valued guests' expectations at every opportunity.

Again thank you for choosing Half Moon, we look forward to welcoming your back 'home' in the not too distant future,

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is good- the villas are nice, the resort is big and nice. The restaurants are good, very outstanding property, The room service was very nice, the spas nice. Overall- nothing special, not too much to write about.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to share your recent Half Moon, A RockResort on tripadvisor.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon. We are delighted you enjoyed the resort and its offerings. We truly look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived to find the most gorgeous room overlooking the beach. Sadly there was an interconnecting door and next door was a young couple with a baby and small child who kept us awake much of the night. The following day Undia and her staff bent over backwards to sort out the problem. They upgraded us to an amazing cottage on the beach. Alfor and Ernest two of the Bell boys, treated us like royalty. The head chef, Stephen from Middlesbrough, produced fantastic food. Their Jamaican specialities were particularly good. Other notable staff were Ricardo, Christopher Golding, Andrew Jones and Renato (who had attitude and was very funny but efficient). There were two stars at the sugar mill. Dwain and Newton. Best of all were our two caddies for the two weeks, Weatburn and Desmond under the supervision of head golfer Stephen. Even if you potted the ball from twenty yards, Westburn was not satisfied. "Oh no, Man, should have been softer. Too hard, Man. You was lucky man." Having said this all the staff were helpful and often amusing. The old Rasta singers in the two restaurants were stars, as was the 93 year old pianist. Much better than the usual piped hotel music. When we lived in Jamaica in the 70's we were always on edge about security. I felt secure and happy the whole time. The holiday was made perfect by our wonderful friends, but even had we been alone we would still have had an amazing time. Great holiday. Expensive but worth every cent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golferoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share the lovely comments regarding your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort; it was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests.

We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughly enjoyed your accommodation and activities including your Golfing experience. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guest. A big thank you for the beautiful comments toward our dedicated team– the staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you “home” very soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,605 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
5.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: $290 - $1,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Half Moon 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination in itself, set on 400 acres of manicured grounds with two miles of beachfront. We have 197 individually-appointed rooms and suites and 31 villas, most of which have views of the Caribbean Sea. All of our guests can enjoy the extensive facilities of this destination, which include the largest award-winning spa oasis in Jamaica, an 18-hole par-72 championship golf course, our own equestrian centre with 28 horses and the Sugar Mill, awarded as Jamaica's best restaurant. As a discerning traveller, you will enjoy the luxury of space and tranquility we have to offer. Imagine your first morning taking in the panoramic view of the horizon, and watching the sunrise having just concluded yoga meditation in our overwater bungalow. Then, cycle to the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast before beginning a day of whatever you want. Whether you choose to lounge on the beach, play a round tennis or golf, visit a local art gallery, or go horse riding along the beach, your days at Half Moon are yours to spend in any way you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing