We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The usual trinkets” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hip Strip

Hip Strip
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Montego Bay Sightseeing and Shopping Tour
Ranked #16 of 72 things to do in Montego Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Strip malls and hotels line this busy street.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The usual trinkets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is the usual small stores selling trinkets. You can find some hand made things here, but the Craft Market is better for that. Take some Blue Mountain coffee back home with you and grab a tee shirt. Get your liquor at the airport. We were asked several times if we needed some "pharmacuiticals or some smoke". Be careful, not worth a trip to jail.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    99
    212
    93
    53
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgina, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hassled”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

When you stay at the resorts in Montego Bay, the cabs that wait for you to get into town will way overcharge you, telling you they need to stay with you so that they can charge you $60 for a 10 min cab ride. My suggestion is tell them you only want a one way fare, you will find a cab in town for the ride back, no worries. All the cabbies have the referral scam going as well. They will take you to the place where they get the best kick back from the shop keeper, surprise, surprise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster england
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Tacky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Expected more from the title Hip Strip,was very disappointed.Area was tacky and very difficult to look around with the shop keepers wanting you to look around their wares.I was hoping that a cruise ship was in town to take some of the pressure off of me but there wasn't one.The shop keepers were friendly though.There was nothing much to see in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulineclifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dirty and super high pressure!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

After spending a couple of hours on Doctor's Cave Beach it started raining so we decided to do some shopping on the Hip Strip. It was very dirty and there were people every few feet trying to get you to take their taxi. It was loud, obnoxious and super high pressure. The stores had the usual touristy stuff - expensive! But we did buy a few things, it was fun bargaining with them. I wouldn't go here again, but I don't regret the experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThomasClan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Couldn't see the attraction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Im all for getting out and experiencing the real life when away, but the 'hip strip' did nothing for me! The bars/restaurants did not look inviting and the shops were all selling pretty much the same thing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolineWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hip Strip also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Hip Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing