We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good authentic Jerk Pork”
Review of Pork Pit

Pork Pit
Ranked #2 of 131 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good authentic Jerk Pork”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped here to have some real jerk pork and left satisfied. We ordered a 1/4 jerk pork and a piece of bread fruit to share between the two of us. The pork was grilled, and was served up just the way I expected. There were a few sauces to choose from and both of the ones we tried were delicious! It's nothing fancy, some picnic tables for you to sit at and they use all Styrofoam and plastic utensils, but we didn't expect much more. This is an order at the counter, pick your up grilled meat from the cook and sit at a table or take to go place. If you want some authentic jerk meats though definitely stop by!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atlbeachbum81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    304
    118
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Local Food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our cab driver recommended The Pork Pit for a quick lunch before hitting the beach. The restaurant is all open-air, and you order a a counter before getting your food and taking a seat at a picnic table. The restaurant serves mostly chicken grilled outside. We also ordered salads and fried plantains. It was all very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Was excited to visit the pork pit based upon reviews prior to traveling to MB. However, the jerk pork was very fatty and they were out of just about every side dish. The chicken was very good. Prices are very reasonable. Might give it one more chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilessiuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Red Stripe and Jerk.. that's JA”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped at the Pork Pit as part of a busted excursion attempt. We had our entire day pretty much rained out, and spent some quality time getting harassed on the Hip Strip. Having worked up a hunger our van driver suggested that we could stop by the Pork Pit as a consolation to not making our crusie that day. And.. YUM!!!
My favs were the Plantins (sweet ones), rice and peas, and steamed shrimp. I don't eat chicken or pork, but they had both fish and shrimp (and ice cold beers) which made them a-ok with me.
This food was so good that we made a stop on the way to the airport to have one more authentic taste of JA... was totally worth it. As is often the case on the islands, you order your food and stand around and wait for a bit... so don't get too impatient

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanniBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The jerk pork was really good! The chicken was a little dry, and the dumplings were pretty good too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovetheBeach93141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pork Pit also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Pork Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing