We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ackee and Saltfish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican

Pelican
Gloucester Ave, Miranda Hill, Montego Bay, Jamaica
952 3171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 101 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jamaica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ackee and Saltfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Tasty food, clean environment, and courteous staff . Prompt service and affordable prices. The ambiance was excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WayneWebb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"Jerk Chicken" The Chef must have been tired!!! Waste of $$$!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

So my Fiancé and I stopped by to get some Jerk chicken to go… we both agreed that the chicken was not properly prepared, it just tasted burnt and we were unable to eat it. Total waste of money! We had to drive back out to get some real food. Never again!! The only time we will be going anywhere near this “PELICAN” place is when we drive by!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetnov24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Awesome food and great vibes. You are in the middle of all the action and the Pelican adds much to the fun of Montego Bay. The ambiance is kook mon, and the staff nice and irie!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mags G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced Diner Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Love Love Love their milkshakes. Probably one of the few places in MoBay you can get a chocolate milkshake. Their dishes are a overpriced and you can get better local jamaican food at some cookshops on the road. Mostly the elite and upper-class jamaicans dine here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MJLCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJBenn, Owner at Pelican, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
I am happy that you enjoyed our milkshakes but am most surprised that you feel “Overpriced Diner Food” would attract “mostly the elite and upper-class Jamaicans” Over the past fifty years our observation has been that we appeal to a wide cross-section of society and I am sure many of our customers will get a big kick out of how you have described them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant! From a chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

So glad I went here before reading the reviews so I will have my say too. I have been in Montego Bay for 15 days and eat breakfast here every day and dinner here every few days. The staff are lovely and professional...big up Dalton! The service is fantastic, the decor is great and appropriate for the age of this restaurant. Love the fabric wall hangings capturing the heart of Jamaica. This place in full of Jamaicans which is always a good sign. I cannot fault the service! Now the food...the best scrambled eggs in the world! And great coffee. I am a chef from Sydney, Australia and have nothing but praises for the whole team, floor staff and kitchen. Dinner is great, the jerk chicken salad is tasty and very filling and fresh ingredients! Service is efficient and overall great value for money. Love the tunes they play, great mix of reggae and international artists. Thank you Pelican! Great job...heading there tonight for dinner again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beerwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing